Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd March 2006, 03:03 PM
vrm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: India, Mangalore
Age: 33
Posts: 1
Unhappy FC5 "pirut" not using install CDs

I did a Harddisk Installation of FC5 using the downloaded CD-ISO images in the same hardisk.
I had chosen to do further customization later (install more packages later).

But, now when I open the "Add/Remove Software", ie "pirut",
  • If internet is not connected, a dialog "Unable to retrieve software information" is shown & it quits. (Maybe its a Bug)
  • If connected to internet, it starts downloading from the net & installs. ( I wanted KDE, I had selected only KDE.)

How to make it ask me the CDs for installing, or how to make it use the ISO images in my hardisk. ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2006, 03:31 PM
red_dungeon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 179
1st this

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...98&postcount=7

then insert your cd

and try it again...
__________________
LINUX - because booting is for adding hardware! :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd March 2006, 07:00 PM
sks Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
I don't know if what I'm saying is the best solution, but it works :
Step 1 :
Create a directory, say /repostiory. Lets say the cdrom is mounted on /media/disc

Step 2:
Copy /media/disc/Fedora to /repository : Do this for all the CDs
Copy the "repodata" from CD1 to /repository
cp -a /media/disc/Fedora /repository

Copy RELEASE-NOTES* and RPM-GPG-KEY* from CD1 to /repository (I think this unnecessary)

Step 3:
Run "yum clean metadata"

Step 4:
Go to /etc/yum.repos.d/ and create a Backup directory and move all files in the directory into Backup and move Backup somewhere like ~
cd /etc/yum.repos.d/
mkdir Backup
mv ./* Backup
mv Backup
~

Step 5:
cd to /etc/yum.repos.d and create a file , say, fedora-core-CD.repo nad put this in that file :
[base CD]
name=Fedora Base CD
baseurl=file:///repository/
enabled=1

Step 6:
Then start pirut. All will be well. Once you are done, restore those "Backup" files and run pirut to update the db.

Last edited by sks; 24th March 2006 at 01:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cds, fc5, install, pirut

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F9 & F8 freeze on "transferring install image..." AND F9 "insufficient disk space" fashionhat Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 1st July 2008 02:04 PM
pirut "Another application is running..." gld Using Fedora 19 12th November 2007 01:02 AM
Multiple Problems After Deleting "Evolution" via Package Manager (pirut?) riffin-rich Using Fedora 19 21st June 2007 09:59 PM
Fglrx driver install - "direct rendering: No", Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing Squeaks Hardware & Laptops 9 21st October 2006 12:10 PM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 04:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:46 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Sevenoaks - Shumerlya - Kirovohrad Travel Photos