Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th April 2006, 06:49 PM
kha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
add 3rd hard drive changes device names in fdisk

I have 2 HD's right now: sda(linux installation, mbr) and sdb(storage): linux only, no MS windows.

I'm trying to add a 3rd HD just for storage, but doing fdisk -l, the new HD is now sda. the HD with linux installatin becomes sdb, and the storage HD is sdc.

bios is set to boot the linux installation HD first. what, if anything, am i doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th April 2006, 07:59 PM
Finalzone Online
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,469
How did you plug the third HD? I think you need to properly set the HD to either secondary master/slave. Read the manual provided by HD manufacturer.
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Toshiba Satellite C650D - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium Power output bust.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th April 2006, 08:03 PM
steve1961 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finalzone
How did you plug the third HD? I think you need to properly set the HD to either secondary master/slave. Read the manual provided by HD manufacturer.

Looks like they're sata disks if they're named sda, sdb and so on. In which case no master/slave settings are necessary. Is the first hard drive plugged into the first sata port, the second in the second and the extra in the third? If not this might explain why this is happening.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th April 2006, 08:15 PM
kha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
they are indeed serial ATA, and do not require jumpers. it is an intel d101ggc motherboard with 4 SATA ports, labeled 0 through 3, and the three HD's are attached and set to boot in that order.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th April 2006, 08:24 PM
steve1961 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha
they are indeed serial ATA, and do not require jumpers. it is an intel d101ggc motherboard with 4 SATA ports, labeled 0 through 3, and the three HD's are attached and set to boot in that order.

Weird! In that case I'm afraid I have no idea what's going on. When I added my third drive it just showed up as sdc. Anybody else have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3rd, add, device, drive, fdisk, hard, names

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB device names? thesun Using Fedora 3 17th December 2006 01:59 AM
Hard Drive Partition Names Stealth Using Fedora 4 29th December 2005 02:16 PM
No Hard drive device found (Fedora Core 3) doudou1229 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 2nd February 2005 03:43 PM
Added Second Hard Drive / No fdisk command-- Now What? llanitedave Hardware & Laptops 2 15th January 2005 06:42 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:19 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat