Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd August 2007, 07:51 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
GIMP animation missing from GIMP in F7?

Is it me or the latest GIMP in F7 is missing the GIMP Animation Plugins (GAP)? I need to be able to use those for the project I'm working on for the 3D Visualization lab I work at. Didn't miss the feature until I actually wanted use it....

[rant]

F7 seems to have a grudge against me

[/rant]

Ok, the tool I ned to use is the Split Video Into Frames, which is normally found at the right click menu > Video > Split Video Into Frames > Extract Video Range... Problem is, I don't have a Video menu in my GIMP (x86_64)... Any input and comments are very welcome!
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.

Last edited by Thetargos; 2nd August 2007 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th August 2007, 08:23 AM
Cue Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 164
You could uninstall the gimp package and install the new version yourself from www.gimp.org

I'm running the development version 2.3 as it is. Says on their news it's getting close to 2.4.
__________________
leaf!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th August 2007, 09:00 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
Actually got gimp-gap from the FC4 Extras repo which works just fine... After trying (in vain) to build GAP on my own (even with their provided ffmpeg) I finally set out to find an earlier package, and praying to all pagan gods that it might work... it did.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th October 2007, 01:52 PM
gadgetwiz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetargos
Actually got gimp-gap from the FC4 Extras repo which works just fine... After trying (in vain) to build GAP on my own (even with their provided ffmpeg) I finally set out to find an earlier package, and praying to all pagan gods that it might work... it did.
I tried this and had no luck. Many things did work but one of the most important options "Duplicate Frames" doesn't.

I get this message..

Quote:
Plug-In crashed: "gap_plugins"
(/usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/gap_plugins)
The dying Plug-In may have messed up GIMP's internal state. You may want to save your images and restart GIMP to be on the safe side.
Same as here.

Does it work for you?
__________________
Gimp Chat | Gimp Scripts | Gimp Tutorials

The Linux philosophy is 'Laugh in the face of danger'.
Oops. Wrong One.
'Do it yourself'. Yeah, that's it. - Linus Torvalds
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th September 2007, 09:51 PM
FNHi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Cue, Can you post your HowTo install development version GIMP 2.3 in Fedora 7?
__________________
Fedora7 = Laptop Samsung NP28 -/CeleronM 1500/ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 IGP/ My second monitor Philips 109B6/ My external device: (FireWire) Hard Drive Seagate; Tablet USB Wacom Intuos 3 A4(9x12).
I'm freelancer. My digital art work at those web pages:
http://www.fnhi.deviantart.com/gallery/
http://demiart.ru/forum/index.php?act=Fav&todo=t&mID=21100
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th September 2007, 02:07 AM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,647
I'm testing F8T2 and it has GIMP 2.4.0-rc2 and here's a screenie with Cue's animated avatar layered. Didn't see "split video into frames in the menus though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GIMP2.4.0rc2.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	116.3 KB
ID:	13471  
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th September 2007, 02:11 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,267
Hmmm.

Seems to me when you open an animated GIF in the GIMP, it automatically pulls it into layers for you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th September 2007, 02:26 AM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by TangledWeb
Hmmm.

Seems to me when you open an animated GIF in the GIMP, it automatically pulls it into layers for you.
Yes in my attached image you can see it opened Cue's avatar in 35 layers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th September 2007, 02:42 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,267
Ayup! Sure did! That's what I get for using multiple tabs! <....>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th September 2007, 06:27 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
GIMP will open many animation formats (gif, mng, etc) as multilayered files, however GAP not only serves for that purpose, but it effectively allows you to load up a movie clip (mpg format most prominently) and edit it frame by frame and then simply export your changes either as series of frames or as another movie file, effectively converting GIMP into a (rudimentary) video editor. GAP also supports sound and (I believe) muxing/demuxing
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26th September 2007, 06:29 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,267
Hmmm. OK. Never tried that. Learned something new. Thank you, Thetargos!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28th September 2007, 07:37 AM
gadgetwiz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 517
That's for the info on the older GAP rpm working. I'll have to give that a try.

If anyone is interested, there are some very good Gimp Tutorials for the beginner and advanced user alike on my boards.
__________________
Gimp Chat | Gimp Scripts | Gimp Tutorials

The Linux philosophy is 'Laugh in the face of danger'.
Oops. Wrong One.
'Do it yourself'. Yeah, that's it. - Linus Torvalds
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd October 2007, 08:11 AM
tw2113 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Dakota
Age: 31
Posts: 505
anyone have a gimp 2.4 test release rpm for Fedora 7?
__________________
If you're not questioning my sanity, I'm not trying hard enough
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd October 2007, 10:58 AM
Lukast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Slovak Republic
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by tw2113
anyone have a gimp 2.4 test release rpm for Fedora 7?
I would like to be able to test it too. Anyone?

I have tried to use fedora development repositary (f8test) and install gimp 2.4rc but it didn't work at my fedora 7.
http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=165741
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th October 2007, 12:55 PM
FNHi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Quote:
anyone have a gimp 2.4 test release rpm for Fedora 7?
Don't follow my steps

Before install update gimp from development repo
1) Run:
# yum install gimp
After you mast update gtk2 pango atk glib2 from development repositary.
2) Run:
# yum install gtk2 pango atk glib2

I was doing like this and got my gimp 2.4.0-RC3 runing

But when I try drawing GPU usage 100% RAM 50% And when I was starting paint quickly, Desktop was completely freezing.
Also Nautilus have crash when I try open any folder.
And Yumex
And ..... )))

Don't follow my steps
__________________
Fedora7 = Laptop Samsung NP28 -/CeleronM 1500/ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 IGP/ My second monitor Philips 109B6/ My external device: (FireWire) Hard Drive Seagate; Tablet USB Wacom Intuos 3 A4(9x12).
I'm freelancer. My digital art work at those web pages:
http://www.fnhi.deviantart.com/gallery/
http://demiart.ru/forum/index.php?act=Fav&todo=t&mID=21100

Last edited by FNHi; 5th October 2007 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
animation, gimp, missing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIMP GAP (Gimp Animation Program) GammaPoint Using Fedora 23 18th April 2013 06:07 PM
"missing dependency" message when installing gimp 2.6 vitasoy Using Fedora 1 18th November 2008 05:47 PM
I Can't Believe Gimp! p3dro Using Fedora 8 17th April 2005 02:10 AM
Gimp 2, font missing civ247 Using Fedora 1 30th November 2004 02:53 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:04 (Wednesday, 03-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat