Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th January 2008, 07:28 PM
Contradude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Ndiswrapper crash DWL-G510 Rev B., Fedora 8

I have gone through and installed ndiswrapper from livna's repositories and I have loaded the driver and configured it correctly. i'm using the driver I used when it was over on windows. I have a DLink DWL-G510 Rev. B and everytime I tried to modprobe it would lockup my system. I then manually added the alias to ndiswrapper in /etc/modprobe.conf but whenever I try to add it using gnome network manager, it crashes after recognizing ndiswrapper as a piece of hardware. I have run yum update and my machine is up to date. does anyone have any idea what could be causing this?

Edit: okay, from what I can understand from the ndiswrapper help pages that means my kernel crashed. does anyone know if the stack size in fedora 8 is still limited to 4kb?

Last edited by Contradude; 6th January 2008 at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th January 2008, 09:53 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contradude
Edit: okay, from what I can understand from the ndiswrapper help pages that means my kernel crashed. does anyone know if the stack size in fedora 8 is still limited to 4kb?
Yes it is, unfortunately. You just need to recompile the kernel, and de-select that in the kernel hacking section.

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/CustomKernel

BTW it's actually very easy to recompile the kernel, just follow the guide carefully.
Also you'll probably want to use the latest NDISwrapper which is 1.51 at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th January 2008, 11:41 PM
Contradude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
thank you for your time! I would love to be able to recompile the kernel on this machine but it's only got a 8.5 gig HD... guess that's out for now. madwifi refuses to play nice with me, so i'm feeling a bit out of luck. it doesn't help that F8 has rudimentary support for atheros chipsets, so it taunts me by showing it under gnome network panel but refuses to connect to anything.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th January 2008, 01:03 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contradude
thank you for your time! I would love to be able to recompile the kernel on this machine but it's only got a 8.5 gig HD... guess that's out for now. madwifi refuses to play nice with me, so i'm feeling a bit out of luck. it doesn't help that F8 has rudimentary support for atheros chipsets, so it taunts me by showing it under gnome network panel but refuses to connect to anything.
If it helps, I'll post an rpm with only the 4stack thing removed.

Let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th January 2008, 01:12 AM
Contradude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
that would be totally awesome. do you mean the latest kernel as a custom rpm? if so, please!

I'm on the i686 version!

Last edited by Contradude; 7th January 2008 at 01:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th January 2008, 01:59 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contradude
that would be totally awesome. do you mean the latest kernel as a custom rpm? if so, please!

I'm on the i686 version!
Yup, no problem. I'll post it in a little while, I'm running an update right now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th January 2008, 02:49 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Alright, here you go, you can grab it from this link

http://www.sendspace.com/file/y88mki

Only difference is the 4STACK setting, everything else is the same.

I haven't tried it but I don't think the kmods will work, not sure.
But my advice is to just remove the ndiswrapper kmod along with any drivers you've installed and grab the latest from here

http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...group_id=93482

su -
make uninstall
make
make install

pretty easy, from there it's just the normal install driver, modprobe, etc.

BTW if ath5k is being loaded you'll need to blacklist it.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Edit - I didn't change the name, so if you're feeling brave you can try kmods.

Also if you already have this kernel installed you will need to use

rpm -ivh --replacepkgs --replacefiles kernel*

Good Luck.

Last edited by Dies; 7th January 2008 at 02:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st January 2008, 02:16 AM
christianvl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: São Paulo
Age: 33
Posts: 31
Did anyone had luck with that? Sorry if this sounds dumb... but if i need to compile a knew kernel with the 4k disabled, how should a I do it? Will I have to install all my drivers again? How long can it take to recompile a kernel? Considering that i have a AMD x2 1.9, 2 gb ram and 30gb to spare in fedora's partition?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st January 2008, 02:22 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Should take you about 10 minutes give or take.

Not sure about your drivers since I'm not using any kmods.

But you can always give it a try and see what happens.

If you want to take the easy way out you should look at http://atrpms.net/

! - Just be warned that repo has caused problems for some in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st January 2008, 12:58 PM
christianvl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: São Paulo
Age: 33
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dies
Should take you about 10 minutes give or take.

Not sure about your drivers since I'm not using any kmods.

But you can always give it a try and see what happens.

If you want to take the easy way out you should look at http://atrpms.net/

! - Just be warned that repo has caused problems for some in the past.
I have the livna repos... I don't think it's a good idea to install another one (even more considering your warning).

So ok, i'll try to recompile the kernel... the only thing i didn't understand is how to do it... easy or hard way... Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st January 2008, 11:24 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by christianvl
I have the livna repos... I don't think it's a good idea to install another one (even more considering your warning).

So ok, i'll try to recompile the kernel... the only thing i didn't understand is how to do it... easy or hard way... Thanks!
Then just grab the kernel from the link I provided in post #7.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd January 2008, 12:32 AM
christianvl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: São Paulo
Age: 33
Posts: 31
Dies, thank you very much for the help.

I've downloaded the file and installed the kernel. However, now I can't use my nvidia driver (from livna). Everytime i try to use it I can't load the x sever and I'm forced to use the vesa driver (800x600) - ok, ok, you've told me so .

Is there any other way to install the nvidia driver? I'd like to get my display working properly before installing the wifi drivers... it won't do me no good anyway if i'll need to return to use fedora's 8 "regular" kernel and the 4k stack limit...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd January 2008, 01:17 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by christianvl
Dies, thank you very much for the help.

I've downloaded the file and installed the kernel. However, now I can't use my nvidia driver (from livna). Everytime i try to use it I can't load the x sever and I'm forced to use the vesa driver (800x600) - ok, ok, you've told me so .

Is there any other way to install the nvidia driver? I'd like to get my display working properly before installing the wifi drivers... it won't do me no good anyway if i'll need to return to use fedora's 8 "regular" kernel and the 4k stack limit...
Yup, you can either rebuild the rpms, which looks and sounds a lot harder than it actually is,

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=126183

or you can take the easy way out and just grab the driver right from the Nvidia site.

The downside to installing the driver with the Nvidia installer is that you have to re-install it manually if you update your kernel, but since updating your kernel would break more than just that I don't really see a downside.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash, dwlg510, fedora, ndiswrapper, rev

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem making driver for DLink DWL-G510 wireless card in Fedora 7 spark70au Servers & Networking 2 18th October 2007 11:14 AM
Crash Boom Bang, impressive crash by Fedora 7 Adesso Using Fedora 5 10th July 2007 11:04 AM
Fedora x86_64 and D-Link DWL-G510 odyssey xplod Hardware & Laptops 12 24th June 2007 06:06 PM
Ndiswrapper crash. sosullivan Servers & Networking 4 16th November 2006 01:08 AM
ndiswrapper DWL-G510 secshunayt Servers & Networking 0 19th July 2006 05:28 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:58 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat