Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st August 2008, 07:09 PM
Peacepunk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambodia
Posts: 108
Odd Touchpad on ASUS F9

Hi Community

F9 on, guess what, an ASUS F9! Silly. The system is fully updated.

My Touchpad works: Points, clicks, split-clicks, slides up/down and left/right, but since I updated to F9 from F8 Tapping the touchpad doesn't click any more.

Quote:
[fa9@asus ~]$ cat /proc/bus/output/devices

[]
I: Bus=0011 Vendor=0002 Product=0007 Version=01b1
N: Name="SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad"
P: Phys=isa0060/serio4/input0
S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/i8042/serio4/input/input2
U: Uniq=
H: Handlers=mouse1 event2
B: EV=b
B: KEY=6420 0 70000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
B: ABS=11000003
[]
Quote:
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "TouchPad"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection
Most people I found looking around for info are willing to disable the Tap feature on their touchpads, gathering this "opposite" info made me install gsynaptics to no avail; I tried with and without the auto-starting applet that is to be found under System > Pref > Perso > Sessions.

I did my homework, now I am calling for support...

?? As a start, which module should I check ??

Quote:
[root@asus ~]# find /lib/modules/2.6.25.14-108.fc9.i686|grep mouse
/lib/modules/2.6.25.14-108.fc9.i686/kernel/drivers/input/mouse
/lib/modules/2.6.25.14-108.fc9.i686/kernel/drivers/input/mouse/vsxxxaa.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.25.14-108.fc9.i686/kernel/drivers/input/mouse/appletouch.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.25.14-108.fc9.i686/kernel/drivers/input/mouse/sermouse.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.25.14-108.fc9.i686/kernel/drivers/usb/misc/idmouse.ko
If it can be related, gpm stopped working too...
__________________
Hamlet - O, from this time forth, my thoughts be bloody, or be nothing worth !
Shakespeare "Halmet" Act IV, Scene 4
Registered Linux user number 418565
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st August 2008, 11:42 PM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,363
Hello Peacepunk

Oddly, tapping on the touchpad is disabled by default in the Xorg that comes with Fedora 9.

To get mine to work, I had to modify the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf

It was necessary to add one line to the existing "Server Layout section as highlighted below:

Quote:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection
and add a complete extra "Input Device" section as below:

Quote:
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents"
Option "TapButton1" "1"
Option "TapButton2" "2"
Option "TapButton3" "3"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection
Do beware when you do this, the simplest spelling mistake can stop the whole X server starting. Make sure you have a backup copy of the original 'xorg.conf' file and that you can restore it from the command line.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2008, 03:57 AM
Peacepunk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambodia
Posts: 108
[SOLVED] (re-) enable Synaptics TouchPad in Fedora 9

Hey bbfuller that was neat, and usefull.

A glitch tough:

it's actually
Quote:
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
but I got that from my previous xorg.conf. Well, i did ended up in the Consoles and had to VI things, but luckily I am able to do such things!

For the next interested reader, so:

In order to re-enable Tapping on your laptop's Touchpad,


1) check that it's Synaptic-enabled/compatible:

do as normal user
Quote:
cat /proc/bus/input/devices|grep TouchPad
it should return something like
Quote:
N: Name="SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad"
it means you are using a Synaptics TouchPad, and hence the following should work;


2) Insert in the ServerLayout section (usually the first one) an extra line for Synaptics:

Quote:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection
If there was already a TouchPad/CorePointer line, remove it! Do not edit your screen and keyboard line, just insert the Synaptic one!

and add a complete extra "Input Device" section as below:

Quote:
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "TapButton1" "1"
Option "TapButton2" "2"
Option "TapButton3" "3"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection
Same here, if there was already an InputDevice Section with anything TouchPad, remove the entire section.

There was none on my system.



WORDS OF WARNING:


as quoted by bbfuller, toying with xorg.conf can lead to trouble;

First, open up a Terminal and do as root;
Quote:
cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.back

Since the slightest mystypo can send the graphic server in havoc (remember: its all fully Case sensitive), write this down on the side of your machine just in case:


To revert to you previous xorg,
Login as root, then
Quote:
cp /etc/X11/xorg.back /etc/X11/xorg.conf
My full /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:
Quote:
# Xorg configuration created by pyxf86config, modded dy fa9 with help from
# http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=197408

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "TapButton1" "1"
Option "TapButton2" "2"
Option "TapButton3" "3"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
Option "SHMConfig" "off"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
The above is certified to work on my ASUS F9E running up-to-date F9
__________________
Hamlet - O, from this time forth, my thoughts be bloody, or be nothing worth !
Shakespeare "Halmet" Act IV, Scene 4
Registered Linux user number 418565

Last edited by Peacepunk; 22nd August 2008 at 04:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th September 2008, 04:22 PM
wvn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mir space station
Age: 36
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peacepunk
Hey bbfuller that was neat, and usefull.

A glitch tough:

it's actually

but I got that from my previous xorg.conf. Well, i did ended up in the Consoles and had to VI things, but luckily I am able to do such things!

For the next interested reader, so:

In order to re-enable Tapping on your laptop's Touchpad,


1) check that it's Synaptic-enabled/compatible:

do as normal user


it should return something like

it means you are using a Synaptics TouchPad, and hence the following should work;


2) Insert in the ServerLayout section (usually the first one) an extra line for Synaptics:



If there was already a TouchPad/CorePointer line, remove it! Do not edit your screen and keyboard line, just insert the Synaptic one!

and add a complete extra "Input Device" section as below:


Same here, if there was already an InputDevice Section with anything TouchPad, remove the entire section.

There was none on my system.



WORDS OF WARNING:


as quoted by bbfuller, toying with xorg.conf can lead to trouble;

First, open up a Terminal and do as root;


Since the slightest mystypo can send the graphic server in havoc (remember: its all fully Case sensitive), write this down on the side of your machine just in case:


To revert to you previous xorg,
Login as root, then


My full /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:


The above is certified to work on my ASUS F9E running up-to-date F9

Hi. Thanks for the excellent how to. Confirmed working on HP Pavilion dv6000 (dv6xxx) and Lenovo T61.

I also have gsynaptics configuration utility but gives out error:

Quote:
GSynaptics couldn't initialize.
You have to set 'SHMConfig' 'true' in xorg.conf or XF86Config to use GSynaptics
any thoughts on that.

thanx again and i recommend to make this a sticky
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd August 2008, 11:48 AM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,363
Hello Peacepunk

I think you'll find that the default status for:

Option "SendCoreEvents"

is "true", and that you only need to specify a value if you want it to be "false".

It certainly works like that on my machine.

I've no doubt though that specifying the option is more syntactically correct.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd August 2008, 12:14 PM
Peacepunk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambodia
Posts: 108
I definitely ended up in the console, using the first and second one to compare my backup with the hacked one... No need to start an argument here, I can't remember anything else that I would have VI'ed in the process, let's say THANKS AGAIN and that it may not be a so much a matter of Elegance in your syntax, but of Paranoia in my config

Cheers from Cambodia

Jean-Philippe
__________________
Hamlet - O, from this time forth, my thoughts be bloody, or be nothing worth !
Shakespeare "Halmet" Act IV, Scene 4
Registered Linux user number 418565
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th August 2008, 09:42 AM
Peacepunk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambodia
Posts: 108
Bouncing on that...

would you kindly mind explaining this part ?
Quote:
Option "TapButton1" "1"
Option "TapButton2" "2"
Option "TapButton3" "3"
And then... strangely, the right scroll area seems to be too much in the middle,
- is there a SAFE method to push it further right?
- Where is the 0,0? upper left?
- how to discover the current scrolling area?

??

Thanks.
__________________
Hamlet - O, from this time forth, my thoughts be bloody, or be nothing worth !
Shakespeare "Halmet" Act IV, Scene 4
Registered Linux user number 418565
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th August 2008, 10:30 AM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,363
Hello Peacepunk

I think you'll find that the three options refer to single, double and triple finger tapping.

Two finger tapping simulates right click and triple finger middle click on the mouse buttons - or the other way round. Personally, I can only get three fingers to register as the correct tap one time in 10.

I've added some of the options below that you have to make the Alps GlidePoint work with this xorg. You'll see that it has explanations for some of the options.

Don't slavishly follow any of those numbers on a Synaptics though.

You'll see the sections that define the edges of the pad for scrolling though.

As you say, numbers start 0,0 at top left and if the numbers that define where your scroll areas start are wrong, then you just increase or decrease them.

Quote:
I had to modify my xorg.conf file to include the following:

Quote:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents"
Option "TapButton1" "1"
Option "TapButton2" "2"
Option "TapButton3" "3"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"

Option "LeftEdge" "120"
Option "RightEdge" "920"
Option "TopEdge" "120"
Option "BottomEdge" "680"
Option "FingerLow" "14"
Option "FingerHigh" "15"
Option "MaxTapMove" "110"
Option "VertScrollDelta" "20"
Option "HorizScrollDelta" "20"
Option "MinSpeed" "0.4"
Option "MaxSpeed" "0.99"
Option "AccelFactor" "0.035"
Option "MinTapTime" "110"
Option "MaxTapTime" "350"
Option "ClickTime" "0"
EndSection


Some of the "Section "ServerLayout"" you will probably already have.

Quote:
Option "MinSpeed" "0.4"
Option "MaxSpeed" "0.99"
Option "AccelFactor" "0.035"
control pointer movement, and:

Quote:
Option "FingerLow" "14"
Option "FingerHigh" "15"
control tapping. This final section controls double tapping and by extension "tap to drag"

Quote:
Option "MinTapTime" "110"
Option "MaxTapTime" "350"
Option "ClickTime" "0"
One or two notes from experience of sharing these instructions.

Do make a backup of the 'xorg.conf' file before you start altering it and make sure that you can restore it from the command line if necessary. One spelling mistake in this and you graphical environment won't start.

You should already have a section in that file headed "Section "ServerLayout"". Just the one line in red needs adding to that.

The section "Section "InputDevice"" will need to be created in its entirety. There will already be an "InputDevice" section to do with the keyboard. This part is completely in addition to that.

On a Synaptics touchpad machine you would just need to add the part highlighted red and green.

The numbers for Right and Bottom edges may be wrong for your pad. They are based on one of what we may call standard size pads, not a widescreen pad. Zero starts in the top left corner for all dimensions and you may need to adjust those to suit your circumstances.

The parts in blue are just explanations of what some of the configuration options do.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th August 2008, 12:42 PM
Peacepunk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambodia
Posts: 108
Thanks for that, and for the speed! I kinda guessed about the multi-finger but it doesn't work here so....

Noticed another glitch: suspend kills tapping.

AAARGH
__________________
Hamlet - O, from this time forth, my thoughts be bloody, or be nothing worth !
Shakespeare "Halmet" Act IV, Scene 4
Registered Linux user number 418565

Last edited by Peacepunk; 28th August 2008 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th August 2008, 01:53 PM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,363
Hello Peacepunk

Suspend problems I can't help you with I'm afraid. Never use it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd September 2008, 03:20 PM
SomeDamFool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: On up the road a piece
Posts: 499
When I try to configure my touchpad from one menu item it tells me I have to add 'SHMConfig" "on"' to the touchpad section of xorg.conf, and the config dialog won't open. When I try to open it from the control center it tells me I have to add 'SHMConfig' 'True' to the touchpad section of xorg conf. Which is it?

I had that problem in F6 and it told me to add 'SHMConfig "true"' to the touchpad section of xorg.conf. I did, but made an error and the x server wouldn't start, but an interesting thing happened.

A warning said "There is a context error on line such and such of /etc/x11/xorg.conf. Do you want to fix it?" I clicked yes thinking it was going to allow me to edit xorg,conf, but after about 20 seconds it said "Fedora has restored xorg.conf. Please restart the x server." I rebooted and everthing was fine. I was impressed.

However, I'm not counting on that happening again, so I will follow the insturctions here, but I have a question:
Does this look right for the server layout and touchpad section?

Section "ServerLayout"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"

And:
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "TapButton1" "1"
Option "TapButton2" "2"
Option "TapButton3" "3"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
Option "SHMConfig" "on" <<< is 'on' correct or should it be 'true'?
EndSection

Thanks in advance,
Mike
__________________
I'm living in an age that screams my name at night
But when I get to the doorway there's no one in sight
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd September 2008, 05:03 PM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,363
Hello SomeDamFool

I think that in the case of these options, "on" and "true" are both valid responses and mean the same thing.

As to SHMConfig itself, I don't have it in my xorg.conf and the touchpad works without it. Where you will need it is if you plan to run one of the graphical configuring programs for the touchpad or what I believe is the command line equivalent, 'synclient'. These allow on the fly alteration of some of the touchpad parameters and require the SHMConfig line.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th September 2008, 11:40 PM
SomeDamFool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: On up the road a piece
Posts: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbfuller
These allow on the fly alteration of some of the touchpad parameters and require the SHMConfig line.
bbfuller,
I use a ps2 keyboard and wireless mouse at home, the touchpad on the go, so I like to be able to turn the touchpad on and off quickly. I backed up xorg.conf and added the touchpad section to it using "SHMConfig" "on", and it works fine.

Thank you and peacepunk for your posts.
Mike
__________________
I'm living in an age that screams my name at night
But when I get to the doorway there's no one in sight
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th September 2008, 05:55 AM
wvn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mir space station
Age: 36
Posts: 738
instructions above wont work in FC9 unfortunately
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th September 2008, 09:28 AM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,363
Hello wvn

The instructions were designed for Fedora 9. They are unnecessary in Fedora 8 as it doesn't have the problem.

They work for most people who have tried them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asus, odd, touchpad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't disable touchpad on Asus 1005HA netbook kdorf Hardware & Laptops 6 1st January 2010 11:58 PM
Touchpad on asus N50VC notebook not working jonathonp Hardware & Laptops 3 10th June 2009 04:52 PM
Touchpad help. projectxmatt Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 5 16th April 2009 08:59 PM
ASUS Motherboard P5GV - ASUS GEFORCE EN7600GS osakar Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 2nd September 2006 02:34 AM
Asus L3800C laptop plus Asus Wl-100g pcmcia wifi working (ndiswrapper with broadcom) andre@home Servers & Networking 1 26th June 2005 08:27 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:01 (Saturday, 20-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat