Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th May 2009, 08:07 PM
mythcat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Exclamation blender 3D not working after update kmod kernel

I put kmod for nvidia driver on my Fedora 9 !
I update kernel and now when i try to start blender i have this errors :
Code:
 blender
Compiled with Python version 2.5.1.
Checking for installed Python... got it!
ERROR: Unable to open Blender window
[net@xphome ~]$ python
Python 2.5.1 (r251:54863, Jun 15 2008, 18:24:51) 
[GCC 4.3.0 20080428 (Red Hat 4.3.0-8)] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
I download blender 2.48 and 2.49 Rc static version ! ( see:http://www.blender.org/forum/viewtop...f9c7aafb714a51)
But is started old version 2.48a . If i try to start from gnome menu ( graphics ..) blender 2.48a but not working !!
Please help me !

Last edited by mythcat; 18th May 2009 at 08:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th December 2009, 04:49 PM
jseay Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
Blender

Mine crashed after trying to set the theme settings - gave me a denied folder response while saving - then refused to open again even after removing ... config files probably still there

Im too lazy to remove by hand...

try some of the following

try running as root - from root login - not just su - from terminal
download blender and run it from there - straight out of a folder

ps -u (username) - make sure its not still alive - as a process - zombied etc

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my bug report showed a problem with nvidia - as I had not rebooted after changing some settings

I dont have the swing of 3D acceleration - I know I need to reboot from this or fix some links, permissions?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the dump -

Thread 1 (Thread 6202):
#0 0x00007f56d9344210 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/nvidia/libGL.so.1
No symbol table info available.
#1 0x00007f56d932fcf5 in _fini () from /usr/lib64/nvidia/libGL.so.1
No symbol table info available.
#2 0x000000399b20e69c in _dl_fini () from /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2
No symbol table info available.
#3 0x000000399b635b72 in exit () from /lib64/libc.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#4 0x000000399ea469d6 in _XDefaultError () from /usr/lib64/libX11.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#5 0x000000399ea46ad4 in _XError () from /usr/lib64/libX11.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#6 0x000000399ea4ceec in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libX11.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#7 0x000000399ea4d580 in _XReply () from /usr/lib64/libX11.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#8 0x00007f56d933cc55 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/nvidia/libGL.so.1
No symbol table info available.
#9 0x000000399d634488 in glewInit () from /usr/lib64/libGLEW.so.1.5
No symbol table info available.
#10 0x00000000009ff098 in GPU_extensions_init ()
No symbol table info available.
#11 0x00000000006cc76b in BIF_init ()
No symbol table info available.
#12 0x00000000005541a6 in main ()
No symbol table info available.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th December 2009, 06:29 PM
mythcat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Thumbs up

I have F12 now .
First time when i try blender on F12 , crash again .
I update some files and driver 173 ( FX5200) and something happening.
Blender running very well.
Maybe is video drive or some libs ...
Now when i got errors i download blender with static libs from official site.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th December 2009, 11:58 PM
jseay Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
my fix

I am a little new to fedora or fedora 12 but....

blender is one of the few programs that has crashed my machine being locked up in a render
or some other action - none the less ---------- all of my errors came from not having the
video setup correctly - after finally tracking down a GOOD tutorial - even though the steps
are all over the place - you have to install then change the kernel setting in grub - so the new
default nvidia setup that makes it look pretty even on the live disc - is ignored after putting the
drivers in ...go back and use terminal and edit - read the link ..

I had to change the 3d acceleration on my machine

http://rpmfusion.org/Howto/nVidia

on reboot if you do it right you dont get a screen of doom and I did this before installing
the updates on a clean install ...fixed the video ..and it worked after a few attempts

if you upgraded to F12 without clean install - it would be easy for it not to work
and there were two versions of blender in the repo because its gone through a lot of
changes

I would try to remove all of the files blender installed - and wait until your system
settles down a little bit from using F12 - updates and fixing the video drivers

see if it does not install then - blender is also fairly dependant on a multitude of libraries
it may be hard to render certain image types without it being installed correctly

building it from SVN is also possible - in fact you can build it with different features from source but

- check here for alternative builds

http://www.graphicall.org/builds/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blender, error

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 07:06 (Monday, 21-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat