Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 9th June 2009, 07:35 PM
Lafflin Offline

F10 15 minute startup time

I am just learning Linux, one of the issues I'm having is that this Machine (with respectable desktop specs) takes about fifteen to twenty minutes to restart. I'm wondering id that's normal because it's a server class OS and simply just has a lot of processes to start, or is there something wrong, if so than what?
Once it's up it doesn't seem to be slow at all.

Dell Optiplex 745
Intel Core 2 2.4 GHZ
2 Gb RAM

Thanks for any help in advance.
Old 9th June 2009, 07:50 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator

Fifteen to Twenty minutes from power-on to desktop is definitely not normal, nor acceptable. Try turning off unnecessary system services, and other tweaks: http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-services-f10.html

See if that helps. Post back with results, and we'll try more if not.

V

P.S. If necessary, bootchart will help isolate the cause of the delay(s):
yum install bootchart

Then you must add it to the kernel boot line(s) in grub.conf

Last edited by Hlingler; 9th June 2009 at 08:01 PM.
Old 9th June 2009, 08:54 PM
William Haller Online

The only time I've encountered situations like that on my boxes was when the networking wasn't configured properly and it was trying to access real world services (like ClamAV updates, ntpd, off-box ldap or other items) and couldn't. It eventually times out, but is really slow.

Oh for a Ctrl-C during the boot phase to tell it to give up on some service it's hung on.
Old 9th June 2009, 10:33 PM
Lafflin Offline

Not sure if this has anything to do with it, but every time I install something via YUM I get the error ".....you might try running yum install-complete-transaction"
Which of course I do and the message never goes away.

Also yum can't download the packages for bootchart, error ends with "no more mirrors to try"
Old 9th June 2009, 10:44 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator

Please post results of commands: