Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd July 2009, 02:43 PM
leftoflexo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 27
pulse audio proccess/gnome system monitor taskbar applet taking too much cpu resource

i have a 1 day old install of F11 and have always preferred the system monitor applet sitting in a taskbar giving me a feel of the cpu load, ram, swap and system load so i don't have too much running at once and crash or freeze. ive noticed that its been higher than it should be when i have nothing running. when i open the full system monitor window the system monitor applet runs at 17-35% which i think is a bit much.

another problem is the pulse audio process is never below 30%, right now its at 35% and its sleeping.
is there any way i can reduce the footprint of these processes, or if need be switch to another system monitor with a lower footprint?

i have a 1100 mhz amd athalon over clocked to 1500 mhz and havent had this problem with f10 or the install of ubuntu 9 which i just abandoned for the new fedora.

any recommendations would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd July 2009, 02:59 PM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,343
If you like a permanent monitor on your desktop, install conky or gkrellm.
For accurate info in a terminal run top.

I don't use the gnome applet, but there is info about it in this thread:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=225488

edit: and welcome to Fedora Forum!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
applet, audio, cpu, monitor, proccess or gnome, pulse, resource, taking, taskbar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I access Gnome System Taskbar using the keyboard? ianh1968 Using Fedora 5 30th May 2009 10:44 AM
F10 Bluetooth Audio + Pulse == pulse crashes. fwelland Hardware & Laptops 2 7th February 2009 01:07 PM
gnome-panel dying and taking system with it? Unparallelogram Using Fedora 2 1st July 2008 03:16 AM
Pulse Audio and GNOME jnylin Using Fedora 4 21st June 2008 09:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:28 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat