Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th August 2011, 01:53 AM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 29
Posts: 3,104
linuxchrome
Question Can not connect Acer Iconia Tab (Android) to F15 powered PC

Hello everybody.

Recently I got an Acer Iconia Tab A500, the Android "Honeycomb" version, and have been consistently unsuccessful with F15 recognizing the device using the microUSB port. That same method allows a Windows-powered PC to "see" the device as an external drive, but Fedora only realizes there is "something attached" (likewise, the Tablet recognizes it is plugged to something).

Is there any method to make Fedora 15 use the Acer Iconia Tab as an external drive? Is this problem Android or Iconia specific?

Thanks,
Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th August 2011, 02:30 AM
Wayne Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: In a cardboard box
Posts: 1,942
linuxfirefox
Re: Can not connect Acer Iconia Tab (Android) to F15 powered PC

Does this help?

http://www.acertabletforum.com/forum...ux-ubuntu.html

As an aside, I was thinking about getting an Android tablet and was worried about connection problems since you mentioned it in another thread so I went out and got a cheap USB Bluetooth adaptor for my PC, which was recognised straight away
__________________
I used to miss my wife but then my aim improved.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th August 2011, 04:33 AM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 29
Posts: 3,104
linuxchrome
Re: Can not connect Acer Iconia Tab (Android) to F15 powered PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
Does this help?

http://www.acertabletforum.com/forum...ux-ubuntu.html

As an aside, I was thinking about getting an Android tablet and was worried about connection problems since you mentioned it in another thread so I went out and got a cheap USB Bluetooth adaptor for my PC, which was recognised straight away
Nice work around Wayne, with the Iconia it's very simple to remove the extra microSD card (I added 8GB this way) and deal with it on any PC; and thanks for the article, I'll check it tomorrow though because I am going now to bed.

Thanks,
Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th August 2011, 12:58 AM
Wayne Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: In a cardboard box
Posts: 1,942
linuxfirefox
Re: Can not connect Acer Iconia Tab (Android) to F15 powered PC

Any update on this? I'm still undecided about laying out cash I don't have on a tablet.
__________________
I used to miss my wife but then my aim improved.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th August 2011, 08:20 AM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 29
Posts: 3,104
linuxchrome
Re: Can not connect Acer Iconia Tab (Android) to F15 powered PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
Any update on this? I'm still undecided about laying out cash I don't have on a tablet.
Sorry, I was busy and couldn't do it, but I hope to within the next 24 hours.

Thanks,
Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st August 2011, 04:32 AM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 29
Posts: 3,104
linuxchrome
Re: Can not connect Acer Iconia Tab (Android) to F15 powered PC

Today I went through the instructions given in the Ubuntu forums for the Iconia problem, and I think I am close.

For starters there are a couple differences in the procedure for F15 because the mtpfs package is not available in the repositories, so dependencies must be chased one by one for it to install from source.

Also the fuse group did not exist and I had to create it according to a sample "group" file I found in an Ubuntu machine. I am wondering if there are some modifications to do at this point for the procedure to work.

Additionally I had to take the "old school" approach of mounting the device manually as instructed in the README of mtpfs, because the suggestion of putting the mount point in /media/a500 proved problematic and fruitless. So after some effort I finally got the machine to recognize the device (df notices it):
Code:
[root@tizoc a500]# df -h .
S.ficheros          Tamaño Usado  Disp Uso% Montado en
mtpfs                  13G   11G  2.1G  84% /mnt/a500
I was only able to enter the directory as root, and even though I manage to see the available space, the only item in the directory (after a ls that took too much time to complete) was a lousy directory called "Playlist" which was empty. With the purpose of doing more research online I unmounted the device and called it a day, but I will continue tomorrow because I have the feeling that I am nearly there.

Here is a question, where are the udev rules collected or processed? I ask that because I also suspect the step involving the udev rule has something to do here.

Thanks,
Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acer, android, connect, f15, iconia, powered, tab

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
acer iconia w500 tablet allix Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 20 17th April 2012 07:58 PM
How to connect to Wireless on my Acer Aspire 2000 wiggywag Servers & Networking 2 12th January 2006 05:35 PM
Can I keep a backup drive powered off until use? linuxted Hardware & Laptops 3 25th July 2005 04:56 AM
Powered down w/o shutdown... bobino Using Fedora 2 4th October 2004 08:50 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:50 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat