Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th November 2011, 01:48 PM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 60
Posts: 1,341
linuxfirefox
Question /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=753780

I just entered this bug entry. It cropped up when I went to install the VirtualBox extension for USB support. It kept complaining about lacking the proper entry in /etc/shells, so I took a look and found that there were two entries for /bin/dash and none for /bin/bash. Once I changed one of those entries to /bin/bash, things started working properly again.

It is interesting that I can log on with that entry missing, but it definitely shows up when I use a command that requires /bin/bash.

This is the /etc/shells file from my desktop machine. as it was before I
modified it.

/sbin/nologin
/bin/dash
/bin/zsh
/bin/ksh
/bin/dash

This is the file after I modified it.

/sbin/nologin
/bin/bash
/bin/zsh
/bin/ksh
/bin/dash

How many others have this? Is it a problem with preupgrade or does a fresh install also have this problem?
__________________
StephenH

"We must understand the reality that just because our culture claims certain things are true it does not mean they are!" --M. Liederbach

http://pilgrim-wanderings.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th November 2011, 02:48 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,461
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

Good catch. I did an upgrade via DVD and got that same typo in /etc/shells, though it didn't affect any of my scripts that use #!/bin/bash or any bash command in a terminal.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th November 2011, 05:53 PM
openback Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NYC, NY, US
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

Awesome! Fixing this fixed an issue on my ThinkPad W510 where my brightness keys weren't working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2011, 08:04 PM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,553
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

bash.x86_64 0:4.2.10-5.fc16 seems the source of the problem, but you should ADD these lines to /etc/shells

Code:
su -
<passwd>
echo <<EOF >>/etc/shells
/bin/sh
/bin/bash
EOF
exit
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th November 2011, 08:20 PM
skorzen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 11
linuxfirefox
Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

I had the same problem.

Noticed it when trying to install VirtualBox Extensions Pack and it failed. Fortunately, the error message is good enough to understand what's wrong. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd January 2012, 08:48 PM
DHR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8
linuxfirefox
Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenH View Post
I experienced this problem too. Thanks for the heads-up.

From 753780's comment 16, you find that the simplest fix is simply to issue the following command as superuser:
Quote:
yum reinstall bash
This only works if you have previously applied the bash update, something that you would have done if you keep your system up to date.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th February 2012, 12:01 AM
drchrishobson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

I had exactly the same problem.
"yum reinstall bash" worked perfectly for me
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
entry, missing, or bin or bash, or etc or shells

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is exact purpose of login versus non-login bash shells? mendicant Using Fedora 4 26th March 2009 04:17 PM
Fedora 10: Missing Mobile Connect Entry in NetworkManager mswal2846 Servers & Networking 2 17th December 2008 04:15 AM
Missing menu entry Application -> System tools -> Bluetooth File Sharing eschi Using Fedora 2 11th June 2008 05:18 PM
/bin/bash missing Export command ubu Using Fedora 2 30th March 2007 04:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:25 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat