Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th November 2011, 09:51 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
windows_7opera
Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Hello all

I am trying to upgrade from F15 to F16 via preupgrade.
The first part goes fine, with all the right files getting downloaded.

When i hit the reboot button, it reboots just fine, bypasses grub, and enters the installer dialogue just fine.

But when it's examining the filesystem (the small progress bar going back and forth really fast), it stops and opens a window, that says an unexpected error has occurred. It tells me it's probably a bug (with the possibility to see a lot of details), and asks me to report it to bugzilla.
After doing so succesfully, my only option is to close the bug-window, which then terminates the entire upgrade screen, and takes me to a blue screen with some text at the buttom. Bummer.

Then i can ctrl+alt+F2 and type 'anaconda' to restart the upgrade, but then it gives me the same install wizard, as it would if i were installing from live media - with only options to reinstall, not upgrade.

What to do??

Any help much aprreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th November 2011, 10:38 PM
thom12 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DK
Posts: 17
linuxfirefox
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Hej

Did you read "How to use PreUpgrade" (http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/PreUpgrade) before you started?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th November 2011, 10:40 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
windows_7opera
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas nalbach View Post
Hej

Did you read "How to use PreUpgrade" (http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/PreUpgrade) before you started?
Yes, that's the procedure i used.
After my first two failed attempts, i tried to clean orphans before rebooting, but the result was the same.

I have a slight feeling it has to do with my hard drive, since the error occurs when the setup is examining filesystem?

Oh, and thanks for the quick reply
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th November 2011, 10:50 PM
liderbug Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 186
linuxchrome
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

I had problems too - new computer - burned a fc16_64 iso - it loaded and ran with a large fubar. So I took an old fc14(64)-live dvd, booted live, install to disk and had fc14 running just fine - then tip-toeing on thin ice reloaded my fc16 dvd and did an upgrade. - ran fine - 3.1.1-1.fc16.x86_64 running just great. But like I said a new virgin install of fc16_64 on clean disks ... did not go well. Hope this helps.

hardinfo blowfish = 2.07

c
__________________
1 hexa core amd 1090T, 4 GB RAM, 3.1.1-1.fc16.x86_64
hardinfo blowfish = 2.07
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th November 2011, 10:55 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
windows_7opera
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Quote:
Originally Posted by liderbug View Post
I had problems too - new computer - burned a fc16_64 iso - it loaded and ran with a large fubar. So I took an old fc14(64)-live dvd, booted live, install to disk and had fc14 running just fine - then tip-toeing on thin ice reloaded my fc16 dvd and did an upgrade. - ran fine - 3.1.1-1.fc16.x86_64 running just great. But like I said a new virgin install of fc16_64 on clean disks ... did not go well. Hope this helps.

hardinfo blowfish = 2.07

c
Interestingly strange ...
So maybe i should just grab the F16 live-dvd and upgrade from that?
Will that also remove the 'upgrade to F16 (Verne)" entry in my grub?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th November 2011, 08:37 AM
Mariusz W Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Berkeley, California
Posts: 690
macosmidori
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Quote:
Originally Posted by esbennn View Post
After my first two failed attempts, i tried to clean orphans before rebooting, but the result was the same.
How did you do that? By booting from a Live CD?

So you tried to reboot a couple of times now and the anaconda installer each time behaves the same way?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th November 2011, 08:51 AM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
linuxopera
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mariusz W View Post
How did you do that? By booting from a Live CD?

So you tried to reboot a couple of times now and the anaconda installer each time behaves the same way?
Well i just did
Code:
package-cleanup --orphans
which you are actually supposed to do after the upgrade has finished.

I didn't boot from a live cd, but using the "Upgrade to F16" entry, that preupgrade puts in grub
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th November 2011, 12:42 PM
nyjetshead Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 633
linuxchrome
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

The live CD is not an upgrade path
Did you try the DVD, that can be used to upgrade a system.

Preupgrade has issues when it finishes but (I had a mess to fix when I used it)
The DVD is supposed work better.

Can you boot your system with the F15 kernel still?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th November 2011, 05:22 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
linuxopera
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyjetshead View Post
The live CD is not an upgrade path
Did you try the DVD, that can be used to upgrade a system.

Preupgrade has issues when it finishes but (I had a mess to fix when I used it)
The DVD is supposed work better.

Can you boot your system with the F15 kernel still?
I'm downloading the dvd media right now - hopefully it will do the trick.
But yes, i am still able to boot into all the F15 kernels. They're listed in grub below the upgrade-entry.

I will let you know when i get to try the dvd

---------- Post added at 06:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:38 PM ----------

Okay, tried the dvd upgrade. No luck.

When booting into dvd, checking install media goes fine.
Then i select language, keyboard layout, and it examines filesystem.
Then i get to choose between upgrading current fedora and install fedora.
And when i choose 'upgrade', the exact same thing happens, as when trying to upgrade with preupgrade. A very long error message, that i can either close or file as a bug.
Either way, it eventually shuts down the installer.

Unfortunately i'm unable to copy-paste the error report, and i cant seem to find it at bugzilla.redhat, though i filed it.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th November 2011, 05:47 PM
nyjetshead Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 633
linuxchrome
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Too bad it didn't work for you.
We we need to know more information about the error to help you though.
Did you start out with F15 or did you upgrade to F15 from a previous release?

Last edited by nyjetshead; 17th November 2011 at 10:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th November 2011, 07:32 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
linuxopera
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

This is a fresh install of F15.
Ill try an see if i can somehow get the data from the error message, and ill post it here.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th November 2011, 10:03 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,205
linuxfirefox
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

you say you filed the bug as requested, right? Can you like to the bug report? It should contain some of the information we need.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17th November 2011, 10:55 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
linuxopera
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

I did file the report, twice now. But when i log in at bugzilla.redhat.com, it doesn't show up under 'my bugs'

But it's like a long list, that mentions all my hardware a couple of times ..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18th November 2011, 02:07 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 100
linuxopera
Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

Okay, so i decided to simply do a fresh install to solve this.
So i put in my brand new f16 dvd, and proceeded to the install section.
And after customizing my partition layout and clicking 'write changes to disk', guess what ...?
Same error shows up!

Fortunately, i have been able to locate the bug: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=693095

Is this an anaconda problem, or do i have some incompatible hardware??

Please help
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th November 2011, 07:09 PM
smellslikefries Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
windows_xp_2003chrome
Exclamation Re: Upgrade to F16 using preupgrade fails..

I am seeing this problem as well

FC15 doing preupgrade, rebooting and getting "this is probably a bug".

Any workarounds discovered?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f16, fails, preupgrade, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preupgrade fails (F15 -> F16) carterpants Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 14th November 2011 10:49 PM
Preupgrade fails to install libregeek F15 Development 10 17th March 2011 07:56 PM
Upgrade F12 to F14 fails using preupgrade holdea Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 27th November 2010 12:32 AM
preupgrade F11->F12 fails? mps2006 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 2nd April 2010 09:20 AM
Preupgrade to F12 fails Shielder Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 19th November 2009 08:29 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:57 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Gendringen - San Marcos - Battaramulla South Photos on Instagram