Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 22nd December 2011, 11:49 PM
hajime Offline

windows_xp_2003firefox
Question no save button showing in wireless connect

I just loaded Fedora 16 onto a Compac mini 110 netbook hardrive (from a usb stick). All updates are on it and everything runs fine. I am hard wired to a modem to receive all the updates and internet thru Firefox. The only problem is that I want to setup the wireles connection...I go to "network connections" then "DSL", then"add", then I fill in the info for the DSL connection but the "save" button on the bottom right of the window is not there and there is no way to scrool down to see it. I have hit the "enter" key to see if it would save the info, but it does not save. Fedora16 is the only OS on this netbook. 99% of the time this netbook will only be used to surf the internet wireless but I cannot save the info! I am a newbie at Linux and any help is appreciated.
Old 23rd December 2011, 12:07 AM
deanej Offline

linuxchrome
Re: no save button showing in wireless connect

If you go into the configure connection view their should be a save button next to cancel. Note that Fedora will automatically connect to any wireless connection it has ever connected to if its in range unless you tell it otherwise (manually, with each network connection). I don't know how it handles networks that don't broadcast an SSID.

I'm not sure what you mean by "network connections" then "DSL". Are you using an alternative network manager to the one in Gnome 3?
Old 23rd December 2011, 09:37 PM
hajime Offline

windows_xp_2003firefox
Angry Re: no save button showing in wireless connect

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanej View Post