Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 27th March 2012, 07:01 PM
soljaris Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Huge problem trying to use K9copy

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting to this forum, though I have lurking a lot before.
I have to ask help directly because searching with the various appropriate keywords all the suggestions I could find didn't solve my problem, not surprisingly since none of those described exactly the situation I am facing.

I had to install K9copy since as far as I know that's the only software that is able to shrink a DVD9 into a DVD5 while allowing to choose which titles to keep and which to discard.

I did install K9copy using yum install. The procedure apparently installed to most up to date version of the program given my system.
My OS is Kernel Linux 2.6.35.14.-106.fc14.i686 installed on an AMD Athlon 64 processor 3500+
KDE - Platform Version 4.6.5 (4.6.5)
The K9copy package installed by yum is k9copy-2.3.6-1.fc14.i686

The problem is that k9copy doesn't open any DVD. It's not a peripheral problem since it doesn't work even with .iso files copied on the system hard disc.

If I try to open an .iso image, when I select the 'DVD Author' action from the menu, I get the following message: 'Cannot open then library libavcodec Cannot open then library libavformat Cannot open then library libswscale' though I have all those libraries installed.

If I try to use the 'wizard' assistant, i get the message 'can't open disc' if I choose an .iso image, but I get a program crash if I choose a DVD on a peripheral unit. After the crash, the program displays the following error detail: 'Executable: k9copy PID: 30990 Signal: Segmentation fault (11)' before closing.

Does anyone have an idea about what's happening and how could I get K9copy to work in my system?

Thanks in advance.
Old 20th April 2012, 08:34 PM
w00tlarz Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: Huge problem trying to use K9copy