Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th May 2012, 09:53 AM
pedenski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: manila
Posts: 29
linuxchrome
VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Im getting this error in virtualbox

Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908)

The virtualbox linux kernel driver (vboxdrv) is either not laoded or there is a permission problem with /dev/vboxdrv. please reinstall the kernel module by executing

/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

-----------------
Quote:
[root@zym zild]# /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
Stopping VirtualBox kernel modules [ OK ]
Uninstalling old VirtualBox DKMS kernel modules [ OK ]
Trying to register the VirtualBox kernel modules using DKMSError! echo
Your kernel headers for kernel 3.3.4-3.fc16.i686 cannot be found at
/lib/modules/3.3.4-3.fc16.i686/build or /lib/modules/3.3.4-3.fc16.i686/source.
[FAILED]
(Failed, trying without DKMS)
Recompiling VirtualBox kernel modules [FAILED]
(Look at /var/log/vbox-install.log to find out what went wrong)

[root@zym zild]#

can someone help me resolve this?

Last edited by pedenski; 7th May 2012 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th May 2012, 10:07 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

If you've just installed VirtualBox you will need to install kernel headers and gcc at the very least.
PHP Code:
su
<password>
yum install kernel-headers gcc
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup 
That should get VirtualBox working. If not, intstall kernel-devel and try again.

Oh, what did the log tell you?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th May 2012, 10:49 AM
pedenski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: manila
Posts: 29
linuxchrome
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Hi sir, this is not a fresh install, VBOX was working fine since yesterday. im not sure if my recent upgrade of fedora caused VBOX not to work.

I have to install kernel-devel too
and run
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

thanks for your help, its now working.

i looked over into the /var/log/ there were no vbox-install.log; how strange, really.

also may i just ask, since im new to linux; what do you think caused it not to work. looking at the errors it tells
Your kernel headers for kernel 3.3.4-3.fc16.i686, why suddenly my kernel headers disappeared?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th November 2014, 11:44 AM
arifur Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 15
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedenski View Post
Hi sir, this is not a fresh install, VBOX was working fine since yesterday. im not sure if my recent upgrade of fedora caused VBOX not to work.

I have to install kernel-devel too
and run
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

thanks for your help, its now working.

i looked over into the /var/log/ there were no vbox-install.log; how strange, really.

also may i just ask, since im new to linux; what do you think caused it not to work. looking at the errors it tells
Your kernel headers for kernel 3.3.4-3.fc16.i686, why suddenly my kernel headers disappeared?
It happens after a kernel update. Just wait for couple of days and then run a yum update and hopefully you will receive the needed update. Or you can always do that yourself.

Another solution can be to install VirtualBox directly from the VirtualBox website, you will not face this problem after kernel update.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th May 2012, 10:53 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Was there a kernel update? If so, that is the cause of the issue and VirtualBox will need to be rebuilt as stated above. If you install DKMS then theoretically the rebuilding will take place automatically when the system boots into the new kernel and you will need to do nothing.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th May 2012, 02:10 AM
pedenski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: manila
Posts: 29
linuxchrome
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

lazy as this sound, but i never paid attention on the release notes of the recent kernel patch, heck didnt even know there's such thing. I installed my VBOX using yum and thought every module/plugin or whatever is already included on the package. I had no idea that DKMS is needed.

grazias sir.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th May 2012, 09:06 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

DKMS is needed only if you want the modules automatically rebuilt. You can always manually rebuild after a kernel update.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th May 2012, 09:08 AM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,696
linuxchrome
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Uhm let me jump in for a single question..
So i can remove dkms, if i rebuilt the kernel modules with /etc/initd/vboxdrv setup manualy after a kernel update?
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Guide: Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Repo (sea-devel) :: Text User Interface (TUI), Video Handler Script (VHS), efi-helper, grub2-circled-nasa-themes, Essentials (blame, p, rmtf, rnd, siggen, screenshot...), (BETA) Dev-Scripts, (BETA) Fedora Account Scripts (FAS)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th May 2012, 09:20 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
Uhm let me jump in for a single question..
So i can remove dkms, if i rebuilt the kernel modules with /etc/initd/vboxdrv setup manualy after a kernel update?
As long as nothing else depends on it. I, for whatever reason, don't install DKMS when I install VirtualBox. I guess I prefer the pain and suffering when I run VirtualBox for the first time after a kernel update and it tells me that there are errors with modules. Then I close VirtualBox, open a terminal and run /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup, allow it to complete and run VirtualBox again.

If DKMS rebuilds the modules upon reboot it slows the overall boot time. Maybe that's why I don't bother with it.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th May 2012, 09:50 AM
Adunaic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, UK
Posts: 922
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

I am having teh same problem. Virtual Box was fine and has now stopped working.

I have ran the command VBox suggested and made sure headers etc. are installed.

Code:
[root@localhost user]# yum list kernel*
Installed Packages
kernel.i686                          3.3.0-4.fc16           @updates/$releasever
kernel.i686                          3.3.4-1.fc16           @updates            
kernel.i686                          3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-PAE.i686                      3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-PAE-devel.i686                3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-devel.i686                    3.3.4-1.fc16           @updates            
kernel-devel.i686                    3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-headers.i686                  3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
Available Packages
kernel-PAEdebug.i686                 3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-PAEdebug-devel.i686           3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-debug.i686                    3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-debug-devel.i686              3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-doc.noarch                    3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-tools.i686                    3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-tools-devel.i686              3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
[root@localhost user]# uname -r
3.3.4-3.fc16.i686.PAE
I installed Virtual Box using Autoplus. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 8th May 2012, 10:00 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adunaic View Post
I am having teh same problem. Virtual Box was fine and has now stopped working.

I have ran the command VBox suggested and made sure headers etc. are installed.

Code:
[root@localhost user]# yum list kernel*
Installed Packages
kernel.i686                          3.3.0-4.fc16           @updates/$releasever
kernel.i686                          3.3.4-1.fc16           @updates            
kernel.i686                          3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-PAE.i686                      3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-PAE-devel.i686                3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-devel.i686                    3.3.4-1.fc16           @updates            
kernel-devel.i686                    3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
kernel-headers.i686                  3.3.4-3.fc16           @updates            
Available Packages
kernel-PAEdebug.i686                 3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-PAEdebug-devel.i686           3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-debug.i686                    3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-debug-devel.i686              3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-doc.noarch                    3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-tools.i686                    3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
kernel-tools-devel.i686              3.3.4-3.fc16           updates             
[root@localhost user]# uname -r
3.3.4-3.fc16.i686.PAE
I installed Virtual Box using Autoplus. Any suggestions?
What are the errors you see when running /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 8th May 2012, 10:02 AM
Adunaic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, UK
Posts: 922
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

I will put this error down to jet lag.

I finally found the log file (which I had just not seen before) and it turned out that I needed to install "make".

Thanks for the quick reply though.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 8th May 2012, 10:16 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfirefox
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

No problem. I just tried to run VirtualBox on my Fedora 17 install and it failed in the same manner that it did for everyone in this thread. Running vnoxdrv setup fixed it.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd May 2012, 01:48 PM
lagcMoro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Morocco
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

hello

this is my first participation

i had the same problem, that I have now solved:

in 32 bit:

tape this command in terminal:

yum install dkms binutils gcc make patch libgomp glibc-headers glibc-devel kernel-headers kernel-pae-devel


and:

/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

in 64 bit:

yum install dkms binutils gcc make patch libgomp glibc-headers glibc-devel kernel-headers kernel-devel

/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

restart the system and it works!

Last edited by lagcMoro; 22nd May 2012 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23rd November 2013, 08:08 PM
Roberson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1
linuxfirefox
Smile Re: VIrtualBox (vboxdrv) is either not loaded

Quote:
Originally Posted by lagcMoro View Post
hello

this is my first participation

i had the same problem, that I have now solved:

in 32 bit:

tape this command in terminal:

yum install dkms binutils gcc make patch libgomp glibc-headers glibc-devel kernel-headers kernel-pae-devel


and:

/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

in 64 bit:

yum install dkms binutils gcc make patch libgomp glibc-headers glibc-devel kernel-headers kernel-devel

/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

restart the system and it works!
Thank you dude. I was with this problem in my virtualBox on fedora 19 so then I solved with your post here on forum. Thank you very much.

Sorry for my english, is bad. I am brazilian.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loaded, vboxdrv, virtualbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
irtualBox Linux kernel driver (vboxdrv) is probably not loaded sfystone Using Fedora 0 5th September 2011 05:15 AM
t is loaded into X? leonardevens Using Fedora 0 24th July 2010 05:28 PM
Vboxdrv gets deleted after restart anantg Using Fedora 2 4th April 2010 05:25 PM
VirtualBox: cannot 'modprobe vboxdrv' jeanluca Using Fedora 2 24th December 2009 11:19 PM
V4L Loaded or not? svenkatesan Using Fedora 25 6th December 2005 02:39 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:45 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Pendik Marina Travel Photos on Instagram - Tipsy Pig Gastropub Photos on Instagram - Patong Merlin Hotel Travel Photos - Stanley Beach - Kota Ba'a Pulau Rote