Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 29th May 2012, 08:07 PM
nikolakis Offline

linuxfirefox
cannot install anything

hello.this is my first post.i am new to fedora.i am trying to install a media player that plays all video files.i have downloaded vlc and realplayer but when i double click the rpm file,a message pop up telling me that an error has occured and it pops up in anything i am trying to install.any ideas?
Old 29th May 2012, 08:24 PM
meine Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: cannot install anything

try installing software with Add/Remove Software on the System Tools menu. type VLC in the search box, hit enter and select the suggested version of VLC. if VLC is not avaliable (on older versions of Fedora) go to http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-fedora.html and type (copy/paste) the code given in terminal. you'll need root access.

Code:

$ su -
# rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm
# yum install vlc
# yum install mozilla-vlc
for playing vids Fedora needs some extra work described here http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/ choose the Fedora version you installed on your computer.
you'd look especially at the codec sections. these are needed for playing video and MP3 but are not included in Fedora.

Last edited by meine; 29th May 2012 at 08:28 PM.
Old 30th May 2012, 08:03 AM
nikolakis Offline

windows_xp_2003firefox

thank u all for your help.sorry for the questions that i do but i am so new to this.meine...,when u say root access you mean,type the password in terminal and press enter?
Old 30th May 2012, 08:08 AM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'

linuxfirefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikolakis View Post
thank u all for your help.sorry for the questions that i do but i am so new to this.meine...,when u say root access you mean,type the password in terminal and press enter?
type 'su -' or 'su ', without the quotes in terminal and type the root password when it asks.