Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th April 2005, 01:09 AM
divorce3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 21
Install CD won't work

I'm changing from Red Hat 7 to Fedora.
With the Fedora Core 3 install CD 1, I press enter for graphic mode but it
starts in text mode, no problem. When I get to [what type of media] I click on
Local CDROM I get the message [The Fedora Core CD was not found in any of your CDROM drives] I checked the drive with an old Red Hat 7 it worked perfectly.

Samsung CD-ROM SC-140 40X

Any ideas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th April 2005, 03:27 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
Can you provide more specs of your box?
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2005, 04:04 AM
divorce3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 21
Thanks imdeemvp.
Intel celeron 433 MHz. 128 RAM 20Gig HD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th April 2005, 04:47 AM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
Is the cd rom the Master on the secondary IDE channel? if not that could be the problem--if it is--boot with the install CD and try at the first screen you see --the one with installation choices and F1 F2 F23 choices type in "linux mediacheck" and then hit enter--without the quote marks of course. Check each disk in turn and make sure all are ok--"PASS" showing for each disk. If all pass the install should go--ifit doesn't install again--reboot and try instead at the first screen typing in "linux text" and hit enter--again no quote marks.
Post again if needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard doesn't work on F11 install eoghain Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 24th September 2009 08:32 AM
new install somethings work some don't changedtothis Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 13th December 2008 03:17 PM
yum install vlc doesn't work :/ Lister Using Fedora 8 20th August 2008 07:40 PM
gDesklets install don't work mIK Using Fedora 2 4th August 2005 03:50 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:18 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Maihar - Ambatofinandrahana Instagram Photos - Khromtau Instagram Photos