Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 9th May 2005, 02:57 PM
B1gtul34u2 Offline

incorrect screen resolution

Hello all,
Im a newbie to linux althought ive been running redhat 9 for sometime now. however, I have just installed fedora core 3 on dell laptop Dell (250N), the installation went superbly. The problem is the screen resoultion is showing 800x600 and that the monitor type is a Generic CRT. I know that the monitor type is a LCD but i cant figure out how to change the setitng to that of a LCD. When I change the screen resolution settings the screen looks all jumbled up. On previous installations ie windows, I had a resolution of about 1280x 1024. How can I resolve this issue?

Thanx in advance
Old 9th May 2005, 02:58 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds

in the terminal

system-config-display

choose LCD

Choose your Resolution

save and exit log out and log back in

That should do it!
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?

Last edited by fedorajim; 9th May 2005 at 03:06 PM.
Old 9th May 2005, 10:54 PM
B1gtul34u2 Offline

I tried that but it didn't work, I also tried to do it from the control centre but its the same result again. I did a check and the video card is ok. I mean it matches the one that came with the box. Basically when I followed the instructions to choose the LCD display, it cant be chosen because its not highlighted when i clicked on it. What else can i do to change this?

Thanx
Old 10th May 2005, 09:36 AM
roger Offline

if you go in system-config-display, there should be an option "generic lcd" display. use this option and set your resolution to whatever you have.

Roger
Old 10th May 2005, 10:04 PM
B1gtul34u2 Offline