Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th September 2005, 08:34 PM
blurwi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Catharines, ON Canada
Age: 74
Posts: 37
Exclamation error in boot sequence

When fedora 4 is in its bootup sequence I see a line that says that line 8 in fstab is bad. here is my fstab file can any one tell me what I am looking for and how to fix it?

# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
/dev/shm /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/sys /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=@Wr #<94>^H(Tȶ<91><93> swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
/dev/hdd /media/cdrecorder auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrecorder1 auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th September 2005, 08:37 PM
LocutusOfBorg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 684
Quote:
LABEL=@Wr #<94>^H(Tȶ<91><93> swap swap defaults 0 0
substitute that garbage using the real device name instead of

LABEL=@Wr #<94>^H(Tȶ<91><93>

It's a bug in anaconda.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th September 2005, 08:45 PM
blurwi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Catharines, ON Canada
Age: 74
Posts: 37
I am afraid as fairly new user I haven't a clue what device this would be or do I just edit that line out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2005, 08:58 PM
LocutusOfBorg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 684
Open a terminal and, as root, run
Code:
sfdisk -l
You'll see something like
Code:
Device Boot Start     End   #cyls    #blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1          0+   2610    2611-  20972826   83  Linux
/dev/hda2       2611    2741     131    1052257+  83  Linux
/dev/hda3       2742    7475    4734   38025855    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda4          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
/dev/hda5       2742+   2872     131-   1052226   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda6       2873+   4177    1305-  10482381   83  Linux
/dev/hda7       4178+   7475    3298-  26491153+  83  Linux
The line you're interested in is that which has "Linux swap" in it: so, in the example above, you can tell that your swap partition is /dev/hda5.
So, fix you fstab file from
Code:
 LABEL=@Wr #<94>^H(Tȶ<91><93> swap swap defaults 0 0
to
Code:
/dev/hda5               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th September 2005, 12:36 AM
blurwi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Catharines, ON Canada
Age: 74
Posts: 37
Thank you LocutosOfBorg that did the trick but I did notice something that was strange in fsdisk file I copied it for you to look at. It is what is says about the partition table.

Disk /dev/hda: 155061 cylinders, 16 heads, 63 sectors/track
Warning: The partition table looks like it was made
for C/H/S=*/255/63 (instead of 155061/16/63).
For this listing I'll assume that geometry.
Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 0+ 9727 9728- 78140128+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/hda3 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/hda4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty

Disk /dev/hdb: 59554 cylinders, 16 heads, 63 sectors/track
Warning: The partition table looks like it was made
for C/H/S=*/255/63 (instead of 59554/16/63).
For this listing I'll assume that geometry.
Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 0+ 24 25- 200781 83 Linux
/dev/hdb2 25 155 131 1052257+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hdb3 156 3735 3580 28756350 83 Linux
/dev/hdb4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty

Have I installed a program that has altered it -- like the one for repositories in yum. I can't give you the site because I am in the root desktop and I didn't realize that Firefox doesn't carry over the bookmarks. Sorry to be a nuisance but I figure if I don't ask I will never learn
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th September 2005, 07:24 AM
daneel971 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,108
Sometimes sfdisk complaints about the layout of hard disk formatted with different tools than itself; if your system boot correctly, you hard disks are reconized, the size of the partitions is reported right, I wouldn't worry.
You can re-check (as root) your disk with
Code:
parted /dev/hd# p
and see if even this report some strange layout warnings (# stand for the letter of your disk, use hda or hdb)
Quote:
Have I installed a program that has altered it -- like the one for repositories in yum.
That's not the case; no program that you might install will alter your partition table
Quote:
I can't give you the site because I am in the root desktop and I didn't realize that Firefox doesn't carry over the bookmarks.
DO NOT ENTER A GRAPHICAL ENVIRONMENT AS ROOT. NEVER.
You can perform all operations you need as root being logged as your regular user. Just open a terminal and type
su
Then, if you need to run a graphical apps as root, you can launch it from the terminal typing its name.
Quote:
Sorry to be a nuisance but I figure if I don't ask I will never learn.
You're not nuisance at all. A little suggestion: when someone like me or Locutus tells you to run a command, first of all ask yourself what does that command do, and type in terminal - for instance -
Code:
man parted
__________________
- Captain...
- Yes, Spock?
- I can't believe my ears...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th September 2005, 12:52 PM
blurwi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Catharines, ON Canada
Age: 74
Posts: 37
Thank you for your help it is greatly appreciated. Nice to know there is help when you need and yes, my computer is booting into fedora ok now - not showing any errors. Again thx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, error, sequence

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First boot sequence freezes. John_Z Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 18th July 2006 03:19 AM
Boot sequence aepic Using Fedora 3 12th September 2005 01:06 AM
Dual boot sequence Andy53981 Using Fedora 2 5th September 2005 01:17 AM
Boot Sequence Paladine Using Fedora 3 21st October 2004 06:26 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:46 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin Copyright 2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Mantampay Photos on Instagram - Bang Krathum - Bankura Photos on Instagram