Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 3rd March 2006, 08:31 PM
tha_1_who_Trevs Offline

thinking of switching to Linux...

hey, i have to wipe my computer because Windows ME died or something, and i'm considering installing Fedora after. i'm very new to Linux, but i think i'm gonna try it out because i hate Microsoft as a company and i hate Macintosh as an operating system. my main question is: will i be able to install/run tha same programs? tha ones i use most are Cool Edit Pro, Adobe Photoshop, Alcohol 120%, GTA San Andreas, BitTorrent, and Creative MediaSource (for my Creative Zen Nomad mp3 player). when somebody like tha Participatory Culture Foundation puts out a program like tha Democracy Player, do i have to wait until they make a Linux version, or can i use a Windows or Mac version. this is probably a dumb question, but i don't know, and want to find out. also, i noticed that Fedora Core 5 is supposed to come out March 15th, so should i wait for that?
Old 3rd March 2006, 08:59 PM
neilloffhagen Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha_1_who_Trevs
hey, i have to wipe my computer because Windows ME died or something, and i'm considering installing Fedora after. i'm very new to Linux, but i think i'm gonna try it out because i hate Microsoft as a company and i hate Macintosh as an operating system. my main question is: will i be able to install/run tha same programs? tha ones i use most are Cool Edit Pro, Adobe Photoshop, Alcohol 120%, GTA San Andreas, BitTorrent, and Creative MediaSource (for my Creative Zen Nomad mp3 player).
Well, yes and no. You won't be able to run the exact same apps, but in most cases will be able to find Linux versions. Some windows apps you may get running with usimg WINE, which is a type of emulator, that allows you to run some Windows apps under Linux. I say type of emulator as the acronym WINE stands for Wine Is Not an Emulator.

Quote: