Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th May 2008, 09:47 PM
s0m31john Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Wired Network acting strange

My Problem all started last night, no google pages were loading. I figured it was a DNS problem so I fiddled around with some DNS network settings (sorry can't remember exactly what I did, wasn't anything major I don't think), then when I restarted I was no longer online. There was a little red icon on my network icon on the top task bar.

No problem I thought, I went back to the network settings and changed the settings back to what they were before, my ISP's DNS servers instead of OpenDNS, then restarted. No luck.

I went into the network settings again and saw my ethernet card was "inactive" so I "activated" it.

The internet started working.

Now I have to do that same thing every time I boot, and the network icon at the top still says I'm not connected, with a little red icon on it, when I know I am.

I'm not sure where to start, I was hoping there was a way I could reset all my network settings back to like they were after a fresh install because it worked flawlessly then.

If you could tell me how to do that, or help me troubleshoot it would be great.

Thanks, John.

Network Card: Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Wireless Card: Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-card
Fedora 9

I'll do some outputs from the terminal if you'd like, I'm on Windows now, so let me know so I can boot into Fedora.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th May 2008, 09:53 PM
hyperspace Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 56
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by s0m31john
My Problem all started last night, no google pages were loading. I figured it was a DNS problem so I fiddled around with some DNS network settings (sorry can't remember exactly what I did, wasn't anything major I don't think), then when I restarted I was no longer online. There was a little red icon on my network icon on the top task bar.

No problem I thought, I went back to the network settings and changed the settings back to what they were before, my ISP's DNS servers instead of OpenDNS, then restarted. No luck.

I went into the network settings again and saw my ethernet card was "inactive" so I "activated" it.

The internet started working.

Now I have to do that same thing every time I boot, and the network icon at the top still says I'm not connected, with a little red icon on it, when I know I am.

I'm not sure where to start, I was hoping there was a way I could reset all my network settings back to like they were after a fresh install because it worked flawlessly then.

If you could tell me how to do that, or help me troubleshoot it would be great.

Thanks, John.

Network Card: Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Wireless Card: Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-card
Fedora 9

I'll do some outputs from the terminal if you'd like, I'm on Windows now, so let me know so I can boot into Fedora.
Try the workaround in this thread:

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=188433
__________________
lost in hypertime...

Registered Linux User #329061
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th May 2008, 10:37 PM
s0m31john Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Problem,
When I try "system-config-services" as root I get the following and nothing opens.

Code:
No protocol specified
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/sbin/system-config-services", line 28, in <module>
    import gtk
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py", line 79, in <module>
    _init()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py", line 67, in _init
    _gtk.init_check()
RuntimeError: could not open display
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th May 2008, 12:48 AM
robatino Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 849
The way I fixed it is to leave NetworkManager enabled and running, but start system-config-network (System/Administration/Network), and for the ethernet interface, make sure both the boxes "Controlled by NetworkManager" and "Activate device when computer starts" are checked. The former is not checked by default which is what causes the problem.

Edit: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=446428

Last edited by robatino; 17th May 2008 at 12:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th May 2008, 01:11 AM
hyperspace Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 56
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by robatino
The way I fixed it is to leave NetworkManager enabled and running, but start system-config-network (System/Administration/Network), and for the ethernet interface, make sure both the boxes "Controlled by NetworkManager" and "Activate device when computer starts" are checked. The former is not checked by default which is what causes the problem.

Edit: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=446428
That is exactly what I did and it did not work. So, long story, short, I followed the information in the said thread and I am still postin' ! But, I did not use "system-config-services". I used System -> Administration -> Network after disabled the said services in the that thread.

Hmmm...

I was working stricly with wlan0. But, should that matter...
__________________
lost in hypertime...

Registered Linux User #329061
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th May 2008, 01:24 AM
s0m31john Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=446428
Quote:
Description of problem: No network running on a frest instaall

As I stated, my networking worked perfectly fine on a fresh install, it only messed up when I messed with some DNS and other settings.

I'm going to do some more tinkering.

I'll take any suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th May 2008, 02:57 AM
s0m31john Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Hey guys,

I got "system-config-services" to open, all I did was reboot and it worked, and disabled/started the stuff I needed to.

Looks like everything is working now. I was just confused before, I was thinking Network and Network Manager were the same thing, oops.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th May 2008, 08:09 AM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,460
Could you provide a step, please? Maybe your method might work on my x86_64 system.
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Toshiba Satellite C650D - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium Power output bust.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acting, network, strange, wired

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome GDM acting strange... DeCSS Using Fedora 1 27th June 2009 04:50 AM
wireless is acting strange blue_tacos Servers & Networking 4 12th September 2006 02:36 AM
Keyboard acting strange paraujo Using Fedora 9 18th October 2004 02:11 AM
up2date and yum acting strange as of late... Thetargos Using Fedora 7 21st September 2004 08:43 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:04 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat