Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 22nd June 2008, 04:23 PM
EnglandA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 250
I store my wifes files on my f8 server which she accesses via samba. All she knows is that if my computer is on, she can get to her files. She never logins, and I never have to connect to the box to make anything work. This is the same for all those machines that google et al use. Do you think they need to login to each machine to make apache work? lol

Point 5.) Never used VNC in linux so cant comment, but this maybe just how vnc works within gnome.

The reason I asked about the firewall, was in case your running some kind of personal firewall which opens the samba ports when you login.

Interesting setup/problem you have here..... I'll have to have a think about it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22nd June 2008, 04:31 PM
EnglandA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 250
If you want to check that the services are started, reboot the samba server, connect via ssh and as root, run:

ps -ef|grep smb

then

netstat -tapn|grep smb

If you see nothing for either of these, that would indeed suggest that samba is not running before you login.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22nd June 2008, 05:51 PM
granade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
I understand your point exactly.

Thats what makes this so furstrating. I do run the firewall which fedora uses; not SELinix. I shouldnt have to log in to get anything working. I switched to FC from Win2003 AD which i was running at home. I never had to log in for our shares to work or any other service for that matter.

Some more investigation is in order.


Thanks for your time.

granade.

If i find an answer i will reply here so someone else can benefit.

Here is the output from the commands:
ps -ef|grep smb
root 2284 1 0 13:03 ? 00:00:00 smbd -D
root 2306 2284 0 13:03 ? 00:00:00 smbd -D
root 2581 2537 0 13:06 pts/0 00:00:00 grep smb

netstat -tapn|grep smb
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:139 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 2284/smbd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 2284/smbd

Im clueless, i dont know what they mean...
__________________
Home Server:
IBM e205 Server
P4 2.8 2Gigs RAM
80Gig OS HD SATAII
250Gig Storage SATAII
Quatum SDLT Tape Storage

Last edited by granade; 22nd June 2008 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22nd June 2008, 05:58 PM
EnglandA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 250
Well if you're running a firewall, try those commands over ssh as per my previous post. If this shows smb running and listening before you've logged in then something else is going on.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 22nd June 2008, 06:23 PM
granade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnglandA
Well if you're running a firewall, try those commands over ssh as per my previous post. If this shows smb running and listening before you've logged in then something else is going on.

Here is the output from the commands:
ps -ef|grep smb
root 2284 1 0 13:03 ? 00:00:00 smbd -D
root 2306 2284 0 13:03 ? 00:00:00 smbd -D
root 2581 2537 0 13:06 pts/0 00:00:00 grep smb

netstat -tapn|grep smb
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:139 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 2284/smbd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 2284/smbd

Im clueless, i dont know what they mean...
__________________
Home Server:
IBM e205 Server
P4 2.8 2Gigs RAM
80Gig OS HD SATAII
250Gig Storage SATAII
Quatum SDLT Tape Storage
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 22nd June 2008, 06:29 PM
EnglandA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 250
So that ps -ef result tells us that samba is running, and netstat -tapn tells us the samba process is listening on ports 139/445 to any IP address. Everything I would expect to see. Strange.....
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 22nd June 2008, 07:06 PM
EnglandA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 250
Something else we can try:

smbclient -L 192.168.1.5 -U andrew

run this on the samba server via ssh before you login. Obviously you have different ip and username, just replace those with your own. the out of this should be a list of all your samba shares.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 22nd June 2008, 08:07 PM
granade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
Domain=[TUXBOX] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.30-0.fc8]

Sharename Type Comment
--------- ---- -------
Data Store Disk
IPC$ IPC IPC Service ()
Domain=[TUXBOX] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.30-0.fc8]

Server Comment
--------- -------

Workgroup Master
--------- -------
TUXNET TUXBOX


Is this the correct output? This is odd, my workgroup is TUXNET and the server name is TUXBOX. Why would it say Domain=[TUXBOX]?
__________________
Home Server:
IBM e205 Server
P4 2.8 2Gigs RAM
80Gig OS HD SATAII
250Gig Storage SATAII
Quatum SDLT Tape Storage

Last edited by granade; 22nd June 2008 at 08:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 23rd June 2008, 04:21 PM
granade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
It seems that the services are not actually starting untill i login. I can ssh but not vnc to the box. Once i login i can vnc in. Can i have the services start at startup and not login? Is it possible to do it in the ninit.d file?
__________________
Home Server:
IBM e205 Server
P4 2.8 2Gigs RAM
80Gig OS HD SATAII
250Gig Storage SATAII
Quatum SDLT Tape Storage
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 23rd June 2008, 06:06 PM
EnglandA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 250
As the commands you ran earlier prove the services are running. Something else is going on. Can you post your samba config, maybe that will give some hints. Alternatively, try configuring your samba from scratch and see if it reacts in the same way.

Are you using vino or vncserver for your vnc access?

Last edited by EnglandA; 23rd June 2008 at 06:38 PM. Reason: Because i love editing
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 26th June 2008, 01:41 PM
granade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
Hey englanda,

I got it working!

Instead of trying to rummage thru to see what i did wrong, i wiped the config and users and started all over again. I noticed this time that i did not have the server listed in the lmhosts file. I used this source as a starting point to get me running. They mentioned the lmhosts and that was the issue as i hadn't set that up before.

I really like the speed of samba and my wife notices the improvement of file browsing too. Next up is to setup CUPS printing for us. This may not be possible since i have a Brother printer/fax. We'll see.

Vncserver is installed and i just need to get that working without loggin as well. But i dont think that will be a big deal.

http://us1.samba.org/samba/

Thanks you for your help!

granade
__________________
Home Server:
IBM e205 Server
P4 2.8 2Gigs RAM
80Gig OS HD SATAII
250Gig Storage SATAII
Quatum SDLT Tape Storage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
services, startup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 7 Nearly all services fail @ startup dac9 Using Fedora 15 22nd June 2007 05:44 AM
Apache (httpd) Services Startup Problem llbbl Servers & Networking 3 25th November 2005 01:52 PM
Enabling automatic startup for services LittleGreyCat Using Fedora 8 5th September 2004 10:20 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:38 (Friday, 22-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat