Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th August 2008, 05:33 PM
Phuein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 66
Trying to remove pulse audio?

I've been suffering from pulseaudio ever since Fedora 8. I want it removed and to live peacefully with working sound. My specs:

Fedora 9, latest, kde4.1
onboard intel soundcard (nothing special)

I want to remove Pulse Audio completely and use only Alsa. When I go ahead to remove it with YUM (anything that has "pulse" in it), mplayer & smplayer - which are very important to me, insist to have it (pulse lib) as a dependency :S Also, it wants to remove tons of other packages at the same time >|

How can I rid my computer of Pulse Audio, have Alsa working, and not lose functionality here? losing mplayer is ridiculous.

P.S. I have searched everywhere and underwhere for help with this, and just allowed myself to suffer from Pulse for many many months now on and off. Please bare with me.

Edit: Right now it seems I have Xine being able to play music, but Firefox3 not having sound in flash (i have flashlibsupport installed). Also in games, like Nexuiz, I dont have sound either - sound device not detected.
__________________
Linux Registered User #463962.
Old Crap PC, Fedora 10, KDE 4+!. Everything Kept Updated.

Chuck Norris can clap with one hand.
Chuck Norris can judge a book by its cover.
Chuck Norris can divide by zero.
When Chuck Norris does push-ups, he doesn’t push himself up. He pushes the Earth down.

....../\___/\......
...../---------\.....
..../--.\---/.--\....
....\\---|--|--//....
......\---(o)--/........
............U............. "Woof-Moo!"

Last edited by Phuein; 12th August 2008 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th August 2008, 11:06 PM
marcelkraan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Netherlands/Velsen (5km from amsterdam)
Posts: 230
in FC9 you have a nice setup priority tool and then you can move it downwards to not use it!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th August 2008, 11:43 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
Hi Phuein:

I wanted the same, and the same thing happened to me when I un-installed *pulse*: mplayer went "bye-bye" with it.

But I have mplayer now - I got it back immediately after purging PulseAudio:
Code:
~]$ rpm -qa|grep -i mplayer|sort
kmplayer-0.10.0c-2.fc8.i386
mplayer-1.0-0.91.20080531svn.lvn8.i386
mplayer-docs-1.0-0.42.rc2.fc8.i386
mplayer-gui-1.0-0.91.20080531svn.lvn8.i386
~]$ rpm -qa|grep -i pulse
pulseaudio-libs-0.9.8-5.fc8.i386
~]$
So try:
yum remove *pulse* --exclude=pulseaudio-libs

V

P.S. Same packages on my F9 box.... Sound/Audio working fine on both.

Last edited by Hlingler; 12th August 2008 at 11:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th August 2008, 11:52 PM
brebs Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phuein
I want to remove Pulse Audio completely and use only Alsa.
So recompile, as I did.
Code:
rpm -qa | grep -i pulse
<nowt>
See mplayer rpms on my FTP site.

For nexuiz, use nexuiz-sdl - yes that's the SDL version, rather than the OpenGL version. You might also need:
Code:
export SDL_AUDIODRIVER=alsa
From SDL environment vars.

Last edited by brebs; 12th August 2008 at 11:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th August 2008, 04:46 PM
M4rc0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brasil
Posts: 471
May i ask a question that's been buggin me for some time?

If anybody that is in a good mood could answer the following

What is pulseaudio for? I always read people having problem with it.

And why did Fedora adopted this on it's instalation?

Why having pulseaudio, alsa, oss, aren't all the same? Can't i have just one?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th August 2008, 06:24 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4rc0
May i ask a question that's been buggin me for some time?

If anybody that is in a good mood could answer the following

What is pulseaudio for? I always read people having problem with it.

And why did Fedora adopted this on it's instalation?
See: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Relea...turePulseaudio
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4rc0
Why having pulseaudio, alsa, oss, aren't all the same? Can't i have just one?
I don't really know all the details, but I do know that the many various programs use different audio interfaces. So, some may need SDL_mixer, some require OSS support, others require ALSA, etc. I do not know how all of the various audio systems interface/interact with each other.

V
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th August 2008, 09:39 PM
M4rc0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brasil
Posts: 471
So they work together?

The reason i'm posting this, it's because very often on terminal i keep getting this:

Quote:
*** PULSEAUDIO: Unable to connect: Connection refused
*** Is your sound server running?
*** See: http://www.pulseaudio.org/wiki/Troubleshooting
So how come i have sound at all then? I can listen to music, browse, etc.
The problematic thing is when i have a site with flash opened, then i open amarok and it will complain saying device is "busy", so i close firefox, play the music and open firefox again (and the flash video will be blank).

So if i choose either one or another and i'm fine. Wich is totally the opposite of the link you gave me:
Quote:
Usage cases/rationale

1. Karl logs into his system. He has desktop sound effects turned on, so it clicks and plings as he presses buttons and does other things. When he listens to music in rhythmbox, the clicks and plings do still happen over the background music.

2. Karl wants to quickly check out another song that he knows how to find in xmms, so he turns down the volume in rhythmbox and starts xmms. He hears the music from both players at the same time.
So either i try to fix this or i wipe pulseaudio out like you suggested.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th August 2008, 12:52 AM
brebs Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4rc0
So how come i have sound at all then?
If sound is working, then there's obviously a "path" to your soundcard. Probably the app is falling back to using ALSA or OSS.

Ideally, all apps would use ALSA, and ALSA (and its dmix) would work properly. Then 98% of people wouldn't be interested in pulseaudio.

My solution to the current, horrible state of sound in Linux is to use a hardware-mixing soundcard.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, pulse, remove

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulse Audio relayer Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 13th March 2009 08:40 PM
Dumping Pulse Audio seohonolulu Using Fedora 12 18th February 2009 10:11 PM
F10 Bluetooth Audio + Pulse == pulse crashes. fwelland Hardware & Laptops 2 7th February 2009 01:07 PM
pulse audio causes app freeze (f10) crolma4 Using Fedora 1 4th February 2009 04:57 AM
Fedora 8, Pulse Audio, 2 Audio Cards Alex Lang Using Fedora 5 24th January 2008 09:05 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:51 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat