Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th August 2008, 06:40 AM
Scott_fakename Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Audio channels missing.

I'm not sure if i'm using the correct jargon for this, but I have been using fedora for a while now after switching from ubuntu.

My laptop has several sets of speakers. The main speakers (2 of them), the "subwoofer" (1) and the headphones for output. Windows agrees, ubuntu agreed. I can set the volume on any of those chanels / devices whatever in windows or ubuntu.

In fedora, I can ONLY set the volume for the main speakers on the front. If I tell the system to mute, it will still have volume coming out of the "subwoofer" at a fairly high percentage of full blast (about 75 - 80% if that's important) and the headphones as well.

In alsamixer, there is only one column.

You can still mute and change the volume if you go into the actual program generating the sound, like totem and change the volume there, but it's still a major thorn in my side.

Does anybody know how to fix this?

I have alsa-utils and all that jazz. I just need to find a way to get fedora to recognize my outputs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th August 2008, 06:52 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Try

gnome-volume-control

/Edit
/Preferences

And see if there any useful un-checked options.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th August 2008, 12:54 AM
Scott_fakename Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Thank you. You gave me a lead. Apparently, alsamixer was opening the wrong "card" even though to the best of my limited knowledge, I only have one card.

Apparently I just have to open alsamixer and state explicitly which card to use. PITA, but at least it works now.

Thanks again!

--Scott
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, channels, missing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
missing Audio in Fedora 10 parsifa Hardware & Laptops 12 14th March 2009 11:36 PM
F9 rt61pci missing channels 12 and 13 drfreak Servers & Networking 0 1st November 2008 11:39 AM
Pulseaudio update - missing audio device geoffc Using Fedora 10 31st January 2008 04:50 PM
MythTV found only 13 channels from my 300+ channels, !!??? leon85 Using Fedora 11 6th November 2006 02:40 PM
AUDIO - /sound/pci missing steinhartm Hardware & Laptops 1 26th February 2006 08:13 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:41 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat