Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd September 2008, 08:06 PM
quantumburnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pensacola, FL
Age: 30
Posts: 36
Question uniXM - phonon backend plugin could not be loaded

Hi, I'm trying to get the program uniXM working so I can listen to XM radio in FC9. It uses QT 4.4 and phonon. I noticed a package has been released for QT 4.4.1 so I installed:
Qt toolkit (qt-1:4.4.1-2.fc9)
The shared library for the Qt 3 GUI toolkit
Development files for the Qt toolkit
Qt GUI-related libraries

I also installed the following for phonon:
Multimedia framework api (phonon-4.2.0.4.fc9)
Gstreamer phone backend
Xine phonon backend
Developer files for phonon

I realize this is probably a lot more than I need installed but I installed more as I was trying to get it to work... Anyway, I was able to compile and install uniXM but I get the following when I try to listen to something.

Code:
WARNING: bool Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend() phonon backend plugin could not be loaded 
WARNING: bool Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend() phonon backend plugin could not be loaded 
WARNING: bool Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend() phonon backend plugin could not be loaded 
Phonon::createPath: Cannot connect Phonon::MediaObject(no objectName) to Phonon::AudioOutput(no objectName).
WARNING: bool Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend() phonon backend plugin could not be loaded 
WARNING: bool Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend() phonon backend plugin could not be loaded 
WARNING: bool Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend() phonon backend plugin could not be loaded
I found a bug report on the Arch Linux Bugs site that recommended creating a symbolic link to the phonon backend so I tried what it said but I still get the same warnings when trying to listen to a XM station. After creating symbolic links, I have the phonon backend located in the following three places:

Code:
/usr/lib/kde4/plugins/phonon_backend
/usr/lib/qt-3.3/plugins/phonon_backend
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/phonon_backend
Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th September 2008, 06:42 PM
quantumburnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pensacola, FL
Age: 30
Posts: 36
Well, it seems as though the symbolic links may have helped. I don't know if I had to reboot first or what, but now when I try to run the program, the only problem I'm having is the following output and I still have no sound...

Code:
virtual bool Phonon::Gstreamer::AudioOutput::setOutputDevice(const Phonon::AudioOutputDevice&) "default"
Any suggestions would still be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
backend, loaded, phonon, plugin, unixm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F11: /usr/lib/cups/backend/hp failed archimede Using Fedora 5 3rd September 2009 12:37 PM
Phonon and ALSA DMix doesn't work (F11) nils06 Using Fedora 1 2nd September 2009 08:10 PM
Problem with Phonon on Fedora 8 oda Using Fedora 1 20th April 2009 12:37 AM
fc6 : postfix with mysql backend olteanuc Servers & Networking 0 6th March 2007 06:21 PM
Xen PCI Frontend/Backend smay Using Fedora 0 1st January 2007 10:04 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:21 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Tultitlan Photos - Rano Travel Photos - Rinteln Photos