Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:15 AM
TheMadIndian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
preupgrade f8 to f9

I ran the preupgrade on my laptop and it gave me an error message there wasnt enough room for stage2.img but would download later this was after it had downloaded all other packages over the wireless connection. I plugged into my lan so it could download stage2 and continue the installation after reboot and all appeared to go well. Upon rebooting after the installation completed my grub menu defaulted to my F8 install and had an entry for upgrade to f9 this being the third time I've done an upgrade to f9 this way I though it strange and reran the upgrade which didnt do anything this time and I was greeted with the same menu. I booted to runlevel 1 under the f8 option and was greated with the prompt and Fedora release 9 (Sulphur) rpm -qa | grep fc9 reveals many packages but there is not system.map or config or initrd or vmlinuz file for fc9 nor is there anything under /lib/modules for fc9

there is no kernel for f9 installed, if I do yum install kernel it does attempt to download the f9 kernel but says the current f8 one is newer

I have a tftp server with the f9 iso but that completes immediately and I am no better off. What can I do at this point without losing data or my configuration?
__________________
Sometimes there are just something you cant explain
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:30 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
your better off downloading the DvD Version an then making a clean install.. that PreUpgrade is Dodgy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:31 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Maybe try installing the F9 kernel with 'yum --allowdowngrade ...' switch?

V
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:36 AM
TheMadIndian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
Maybe try installing the F9 kernel with 'yum --allowdowngrade ...' switch?

V
so boot back in to the f8 option and try that? I keep two kernels so should I go back one kernel and try that since it will want to remove the kernel during install? this way preserving the most current f8 kernel just in case?
__________________
Sometimes there are just something you cant explain
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:44 AM
TheMadIndian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
doesnt matter still tries to remove the 2.6.26.5-28 kernel instead of the 3-14
__________________
Sometimes there are just something you cant explain
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:51 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Edit /etc/yum.conf and change installonly_limit from 2 to 3 (or 4 or 5).

V
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th October 2008, 05:04 AM
TheMadIndian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
Maybe try installing the F9 kernel with 'yum --allowdowngrade ...' switch?

V
Thanks that worked, only issue is I lost my desktop effects but thats a very small price to pay

thanks again
__________________
Sometimes there are just something you cant explain
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th October 2008, 05:10 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
I just installed preupgrade on my second box (F8) last night in preparation for an upgrade to F9, and was wondering how it would work out. Please let us know how everything turns out after you've had a chance to check it out thoroughly.

Regards,
V
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th October 2008, 05:53 AM
TheMadIndian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
I just installed preupgrade on my second box (F8) last night in preparation for an upgrade to F9, and was wondering how it would work out. Please let us know how everything turns out after you've had a chance to check it out thoroughly.

Regards,
V
This is the third time I've used it to upgrade from F8 to F9 and the first time I ran into issues, I've found it to be much cleaner than changing repos and using yum to upgrade as it doesnt leave packages behind that will eventually cause conflicts during updates

Only thing I had to do was uninstall the kriehn rpm for f8 and install the new repo for enlightenment after I got the kernel on with your assistance, because it wouldnt allow the installation of fedora-release but since this one was problematic I'll report back again tomorrow after some thorough use
__________________
Sometimes there are just something you cant explain
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th October 2008, 09:50 AM
LDC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
fresh install is the only choice
__________________
Money couldn't buy friends, but you get a better class of enemy.

Linux Registered User #476391
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:37 PM
TheMadIndian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
UPDATE

Booting this morning -
Cups was throwing errors on booting
fstab had changed and my ntfs and cifs mounts were gone, desktop-effects still not functioning properly, 311 updates waiting (after I had patched it fully last night). I ran the updates and after rebooting cups is working and desktop-effects were back.

One thing I noticed is the package manager is pup and not packageit 30 mins of running and working from the system it seems well and is actually performing noticeably faster than it did under F8

If anything changes I'll post an update
__________________
Sometimes there are just something you cant explain
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:46 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Thanks for the update. I'm guessing that PUP instead of PackageKit since it was an upgrade and not a fresh install. Probably for the best anyway....

So I think I'll try the preupgrade on my spare F8 OS soon.

Thanks and Regards,
V
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
preupgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
preupgrade from fc7 to fc9 Amrita Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 9th June 2009 10:16 AM
Using preupgrade to go from F 9 to F 10 sidebrnz Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 13 23rd February 2009 02:25 AM
Why preupgrade windsea Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 9th January 2009 05:53 PM
PreUpgrade Helker Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 24th June 2008 08:14 AM
F7 to F9 preupgrade -- What I had to do alake Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 26th May 2008 02:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:11 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat