Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st August 2009, 12:28 PM
marinestu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK Northampton
Age: 39
Posts: 56
linuxfedorafirefox
Rename Folders in Rhythmbox

Hello, please could one of you answer my question below.

I would like to import folders into my wife's ipod and keep the wav files in the named folders (albums) that she has created.

Here is the steps that I have followed.

1. cp the wav file from the cd to /home/user/Music (using cli)

2. Open Rhythmbox and point it to the directory where the albums are held
edit > preferences > music tab

3. In the Album pain of the main window rhythmbox can see all the wav files from the directory selected in step 1 (/home/user/Music ) but rather then seeing each album ie album1, album2 and so on it only displays 1 album (230) and below that Unknow 230 . Again this is in the Album section of the main page.

4. I can drag the Unknown (230) album to the ipod but it is named Unknown on the ipdod and all of the separate directories that my wife created inside the /home/user/Music containing the wav files are all in one large directory on the ipdod.

I know (now) that I can use the extract option to cp the cd and that works fine but would still like to be able to cp files from the hard drive to the ipod.

Thanks for your help

Stu

Linux user for for 6 years / Solaris Admin for 5. Rhythmbox user for 0 days ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st August 2009, 01:39 PM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfedorafirefox
Normally I use rhythmbox with .mp3 files, which are the .wav files compressed down in size and have an id tag embedded in each file. One such program that can create .mp3 files from an audio cd is "grip". Rhythmbox scans these files for id tags and that is how it gets the artist/album information. That same information is also obtained when you insert a music cd, rhythmbox connects to a cddb database server out on the internet and downloads the album and list of tracks automatically.
So when you skip the step of saving the artist/album information by just having plain old .wav files in a directory structure, it is then not available to the automatic methods that rhythmbox uses.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd August 2009, 10:08 AM
marinestu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK Northampton
Age: 39
Posts: 56
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks JEO

Just what we needed, have yourself a good weekend. (The sun is out her in the uk....can you believe it ;-)

All the best

Stuart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
folders, rename, rhythmbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rename root? joegumbo Security and Privacy 2 13th November 2007 05:32 AM
Terminal Line Creating Folders/Locked Folders 3th0s Using Fedora 2 5th May 2007 01:08 AM
How do I rename my CDROM drive folders? jhsu Using Fedora 1 5th March 2007 12:43 PM
Rename a dir? carlwill Using Fedora 3 6th April 2005 11:40 PM
rename cdrecorder1 to dvd drac Using Fedora 3 6th April 2005 11:14 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:04 (Thursday, 24-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat