Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th September 2009, 01:16 AM
notme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 46
linuxfedorafirefox
No Sound on Amarok - Gnome

I know Amarok is meant for KDE, but is there any chance to make it run in Gnome?

I hit play but no sound is reproduce.
On the other hand I hit play for the same file in rhythmbox and it works fine.

Any hints?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th September 2009, 05:45 PM
notme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 46
linuxfedorafirefox
Found my answer searching other stuff

yum install xine-lib-extras-freeworld

It will go like this
Quote:

[root@]# yum install xine-lib-extras-freeworld
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
Setting up Install Process
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package xine-lib-extras-freeworld.i586 0:1.1.16.3-1.fc11 set to be updated
--> Processing Dependency: vcdimager >= 0.7.23 for package: xine-lib-extras-freeworld-1.1.16.3-1.fc11.i586
--> Processing Dependency: libvcdinfo.so.0(VCDINFO_0) for package: xine-lib-extras-freeworld-1.1.16.3-1.fc11.i586
--> Processing Dependency: libvcdinfo.so.0 for package: xine-lib-extras-freeworld-1.1.16.3-1.fc11.i586
--> Processing Dependency: libmad.so.0 for package: xine-lib-extras-freeworld-1.1.16.3-1.fc11.i586
--> Running transaction check
---> Package libmad.i586 0:0.15.1b-11.fc11 set to be updated
---> Package vcdimager.i586 0:0.7.23-10.fc11 set to be updated
---> Package vcdimager-libs.i586 0:0.7.23-10.fc11 set to be updated
--> Finished Dependency Resolution

Dependencies Resolved

================================================== ==============================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
================================================== ==============================
Installing:
xine-lib-extras-freeworld i586 1.1.16.3-1.fc11 rpmfusion-free 390 k
Installing for dependencies:
libmad i586 0.15.1b-11.fc11 rpmfusion-free 84 k
vcdimager i586 0.7.23-10.fc11 rpmfusion-free 581 k
vcdimager-libs i586 0.7.23-10.fc11 rpmfusion-free 101 k

Transaction Summary
================================================== ==============================
Install 4 Package(s)
Update 0 Package(s)
Remove 0 Package(s)

Total size: 1.1 M
Total download size: 766 k
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
(1/3): libmad-0.15.1b-11.fc11.i586.rpm | 84 kB 00:01
(2/3): vcdimager-0.7.23-10.fc11.i586.rpm | 581 kB 00:04
(3/3): vcdimager-libs-0.7.23-10.fc11.i586.rpm | 101 kB 00:02
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total 78 kB/s | 766 kB 00:09
Running rpm_check_debug
Running Transaction Test
Finished Transaction Test
Transaction Test Succeeded
Running Transaction
Installing : libmad-0.15.1b-11.fc11.i586 1/4
Installing : vcdimager-0.7.23-10.fc11.i586 2/4
Installing : vcdimager-libs-0.7.23-10.fc11.i586 3/4
Installing : xine-lib-extras-freeworld-1.1.16.3-1.fc11.i586 4/4

Installed:
xine-lib-extras-freeworld.i586 0:1.1.16.3-1.fc11

Dependency Installed:
libmad.i586 0:0.15.1b-11.fc11 vcdimager.i586 0:0.7.23-10.fc11
vcdimager-libs.i586 0:0.7.23-10.fc11

Complete!
Open Amarok and Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th November 2009, 04:38 PM
textux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
amarok mp3 fixed

This fixed my problem as well. I was using Amarok to play MP3 files and one of the updates broke it.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2009, 04:32 PM
rdieter Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Age: 43
Posts: 452
linuxfedorafirefox
See also,
http://amarok.kde.org/wiki/Download:Fedora

which suggests,
yum install @sound-and-video

which will auto-install all available codecs (especially if rpmfusion repos are setup)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st November 2009, 08:13 PM
dd_wizard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,409
linuxfedorafirefox
Another way to fix it without installing xine is to change the backend in Amarok preferences. It's been a while since I did that, so my memory is a little fuzzy. I use Exaile now. It's a LOT like Amarok, and built for gnome libs. No need to install all those KDE extras.

As I recall, if you poke around in Amarok's preferences, there's a tab for audio output. Xine is used by default, but there's another option, maybe Puleseaudio? Hope this helps.

dd_wizard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th November 2009, 10:08 PM
richardpu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 5
linuxfedorafirefox
notme- you are awesome!!!
I had been looking for this for a week.

[root@]# yum install xine-lib-extras-freeworld

fixed all my Amarok problems.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th December 2009, 06:06 PM
paulonogarol Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1
linuxfedorafirefox
Thank you guys
I am using Fedora 12 (KDE) and my Amarok wasn't working very well.. I couldn't listen to music from it.

The comand # yum install xine-lib-extras-freeworld fixed the problem
__________________
--
Paulo Nogarol
Fedora 12
www.nogarol.com.br
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th January 2010, 11:32 PM
pooanaji Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Thumbs up

Thanks a ton guys.
I've been using Fedora for a couple of years now and never tried using amarok.
This thread really helped me out.
Amarok is cool.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amarok, gnome, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
detect sound card .. but no sound (amarok/mplayer ...) on fc 8 ? 1stepkloser Using Fedora 4 7th September 2009 07:46 AM
Sound reacts very slowly in Amarok... sound card issue? SpectrumDT Hardware & Laptops 7 2nd February 2008 09:09 PM
Amarok in Gnome, is it possible rhka Using Fedora 11 10th July 2007 07:50 PM
No more sound since installed Amarok under Gnome t0bias Hardware & Laptops 0 9th April 2007 08:28 PM
amarok 1.3.3 no sound paidopoieo Using Fedora 6 31st October 2005 09:45 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:08 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat