Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th May 2010, 01:29 AM
Akanikoto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Age: 23
Posts: 52
linuxfedorafirefox
ISO files won't work

Ah, I feel like I've spent all day on here, haha. Anyway, I downloaded some .iso files recently, and don't really know what to do with them. Unless I'm mistaken, I should burn them onto a CD, and then be able to mount them and get the program to run, but that doesn't seem to be working. All it does when I put the disk in is open the folders showing all the files. Am I completely off base with what I'm doing, or is there just a step I'm missing or something?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th May 2010, 01:39 AM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ISO files won't work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akanikoto

Unless I'm mistaken, I should burn them onto a CD, and then be able to mount them and get the program to run, but that doesn't seem to be working.
Hello Akanikoto,

Fedora ISO files? What should happen after you burn the ISO to disk as an image project (or whatever your software calls it) is that it will boot the computer and launch the Fedora installer. One very common error is to burn the ISO file itself as a data file (you see only the ISO on the disk). Another one is to unpack the ISO file and copy the files over to a CD (it looks okay, but will not boot).

See if this helps any...
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/readme...sos/en-US.html

Last edited by stoat; 19th May 2010 at 01:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th May 2010, 01:44 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ISO files won't work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akanikoto View Post
Ah, I feel like I've spent all day on here, haha. Anyway, I downloaded some .iso files recently, and don't really know what to do with them. Unless I'm mistaken, I should burn them onto a CD, and then be able to mount them and get the program to run, but that doesn't seem to be working. All it does when I put the disk in is open the folders showing all the files. Am I completely off base with what I'm doing, or is there just a step I'm missing or something?
Hello:
In addition to or with Stoat's recommendations read through the official instructions, they may help you out.
https://fedoraproject.org/en/verify
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/readme...al_Environment

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th May 2010, 02:06 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,526
linuxopera
Re: ISO files won't work

One thing that is sometimes unclear to newcomers is that one doesn't just do a straight copy of an iso to a disk. You have to burn it, in Windows there are various tools, such as Nero, and you have to be sure choose something different than copy. (I forget what, I haven't used Windows burning tools in years.) In Linux, there are various graphic and CLI (command line interface) tools to do it as well. But don't do something like cp whatever.iso /dev/scd0. That will give you a CD with an unusable iso file.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th May 2010, 02:16 AM
Akanikoto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Age: 23
Posts: 52
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ISO files won't work

Probably should've specified that they aren't Fedora install ISOs; they're for Rosetta Stone's Japanese course.

And I did just copy them straight onto the disk. How would I properly burn them?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th May 2010, 02:18 AM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
linuxopera
Re: ISO files won't work

You have to "burn IMAGE" to disk. Look for "burn image" as an option in your CD/DVD burning software.
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th May 2010, 02:47 AM
Akanikoto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Age: 23
Posts: 52
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ISO files won't work

That just did the same thing. Put in the disk, and it just gives me a bunch of folders with unusable files. :/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th May 2010, 02:51 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,526
linuxopera
Re: ISO files won't work

Are you in Linux or Windows?

If Linux, which burning program do you use?
There is always the command line.

cdrecord dev=/dev/cdrom myfile.iso

(Substitute /dev/cdrom with whatever your cd burning device is and of course, myfile.iso with the name of the iso).

---------- Post added at 09:51 PM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 09:50 PM CDT ----------

Make sure the disk has what you want.

mount -o loop whatever.iso /mnt

ls /mnt

See what's in there.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th May 2010, 03:03 AM
Akanikoto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago
Age: 23
Posts: 52
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ISO files won't work

Linux, Brasero Disk Burner, and the command line mounting gave me this:

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th May 2010, 03:52 AM
jpollard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,865
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ISO files won't work

You almost had it right:

mount -o loop <pathto>/Japanese_1.iso /mnt

- you need the full path to the iso, and a space between the file and where to
mount it (/mnt).

But even so - I don't think Rosetta software will work on linux, though wine may
help.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19th May 2010, 04:00 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,526
linuxopera
Re: ISO files won't work

Makes me wonder if this is really an iso

Please run

file Japanese_1.iso (or whatever the name was)

Did you only have one rar file? Usually rars are in a collection of several. Did you run rar e whatever.rar and did it run without any error messages?

---------- Post added at 11:00 PM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 10:53 PM CDT ----------

Grr, I missed the fact that they weren't in the right directory again. You've really GOT to pay attention to that. If you get the message no such file or directory, it means you're in the wrong place.

Thanks jpollard, I'm too tired. Going to sleep now.

Oyasumiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Oh, one more thing--is this a an exe file? After doing the mount and the listing of it, we'll have a better idea. It may be a Windows or Windows/Apple only thing.

Not familiar with it, I learned Japanese the old fashioned way, before all this new fangled computer stuff. (Here in NY, where there is a very large Japanese population, some weekends, I only spoke English, ironically enough, at a karate doujou.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
files, iso, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How come some Tar GZ files work, and others don't? Omnicloud Using Fedora 12 28th December 2007 06:12 PM
Getting yum to work with local files in FC4. xode EOL (End Of Life) Versions 9 9th June 2006 12:03 AM
Migrated Files to New HD now rpm -qa does not work g8keepR Using Fedora 0 22nd August 2005 02:17 AM
Will FC3 repo files work on FC4 nandowong Using Fedora 2 12th June 2005 03:32 AM
getting midi files to work brainlesspinkey Hardware & Laptops 1 17th January 2005 12:36 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:56 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kodarma Travel Photos on Instagram - Ternitz - Jalalpur Pirwala Photos on Instagram