Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th June 2010, 09:32 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
linuxfedorafirefox
Added a second disk, problems arise.

Hello. I've just added a second disk to one of my computers. It is a 500GB SATA. It is the second drive according to the BIOS. Fedora calls it /dev/sdb. So far so good. This box is running Fedora 13 final. Never any problems until the addition of the new disk. Palimpsest says that this disk has a LOT of bad sectors. This disk is a storage drive. I want to address the problem but don't know what to do first. My thought is to rsync all the data to my external 250GB disk bedore I do anything else but I'm mot sure if I should just yet. Maybe I should run some diagnostics on the drive? If so, what? How about the tools Disk Utility offers? Should I use the Smart Utilities? What other Linux tools are available and are they reliable? Maybe I should install XP on the main disk and use Windows' disk tools? If I should lose all data it wouldn't be the end of the world but I'm not sure how "in sync" the 2 storage drives actually are. Any and all thoughts and advice gratefully accepted.

Edit: Forgot to add the screenshot!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-Disk Utility.png
Views:	91
Size:	154.8 KB
ID:	19714   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-SMART Data2.png
Views:	87
Size:	159.8 KB
ID:	19715  
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB

Last edited by glennzo; 19th June 2010 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th June 2010, 02:08 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

You need to replace it. No sense playing around with diagnostic utilities at this point. If you want the data that's on it, grab it while you still can.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th June 2010, 04:40 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

I see 56 bad sectors? That's not a lot for a 500GB drive. Sectors are small. If the number isn't increasing over time I wouldn't worry about it. Palimpsest is annoying. I usually disable it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th June 2010, 08:00 AM
BugRocks1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 894
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

It may not be bad sectors at all.

I had a drive showing up bad sectors and all, once you formatted it looked good but at reboot it couldn't mount it, but the drive was good, proof of that is that in F13 it is working again and it shows no bad sectors and no problems.

Image the disk or save the data you want somewhere and try formatting it if it is ok then that probably is a bug in some core system, your drive is ok the OS is not. I don't know what it was but it got corrected for me in Fedora 13, there is a bug report somewhere I just don't have the link anymore.

---------- Post added at 10:36 PM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 10:23 PM CDT ----------

ps: If the problem is a bug it is a low level one well into the kernel realm and magic fairies LoL

Meaning that you need to capture all comunication between your driver and the OS driver and start tracing it, not fun when you are not familiar with all those standards.

One thing I remembered SATA conectors are not shielded so they can interfere with each other you could try connecting only that drive and see if it works.

Good reading specially the part "What not to do with a SATA drive"(or something to that effect)
http://www.ata-atapi.com/sata.html

The SATA specification has to be purchased so that will be a problem
http://www.serialata.org/developers/...al_library.asp

If I think of anything else I will post that.

---------- Post added at 10:46 PM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 10:36 PM CDT ----------

By the way the SMART data is not reliable, do not take those warnings as the holy gospel they are not, they are more like a compass that point you in one direction but can't tell you where you are exactly.

---------- Post added at 11:00 PM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 10:46 PM CDT ----------

If it is the hardware you probably will hear some loud clicks coming from it that is hardware failing.

Quote:
If the drive is making strange rattling or clicking noises, turn off the computer immediately.
If the diagnostic tool doesn't make the drive make sounds is probably software but don't take my word for it.
http://www.wikihow.com/Diagnose-a-Co...ard-Disk-Drive.

Testing that I thought of now:

- Take the drive and test it on another computer.
- Test it with another cable.
- Test other connector on the board.
- Try an enclosure.
- Try a non linux OS.

If it works on another computer or other OS the you can rule out hardware failure and start bugging the developers on bugzilla

Last edited by BugRocks1; 20th June 2010 at 07:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th June 2010, 08:57 AM
hmmsjan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alkmaar The Netherlands
Posts: 237
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

Dear Glennzo,

As far I know, every new disk should have this value on zero. You are looking into data collected
by the disk firmware.
So if this disk is new, I would suggest to download a standalone test utility from the manufacturer's site and if this amount of bad sectors is confirmed, try to claim warranty.
If it is not a new disk, keep a close look to this value and if it increases, consider the disk as
unreliable and replace it. Having backed up your important data already before of course....


Good luck and kind regards,
__________________
H.Janssen
Alkmaar
The Netherlands
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th June 2010, 09:04 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

The data has been backed up, after starting this thread. Wonder if Western Digital (figures) has Linux tools.

By the way, this disk was fine in the computer that it came out of, a Fedora 12 system.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB

Last edited by glennzo; 20th June 2010 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th June 2010, 11:01 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

Palimpsest is a ******* liar, I wouldn't take any notice of the crap it spews out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th June 2010, 11:04 AM
hmmsjan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alkmaar The Netherlands
Posts: 237
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

Dear Glennzo,

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
The data has been backed up, after starting this thread. Wonder if Western Digital (figures) has Linux tools.

By the way, this disk was fine in the computer that it came out of, a Fedora 12 system.
Where these smart attributes monitored in the Fedora 12 system?

Western Digital has tools which start from a CD ISO image, so OS independent.
I have two WD SATA drives in my system, the display in Palimpsest is what I expect.

Good luck,
__________________
H.Janssen
Alkmaar
The Netherlands
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th June 2010, 11:10 AM
errorxp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 371
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

If you have Windows installed you could run "chkdsk /F" and see what happens. I had previously some problems with F13 crashing all the time, so I couldn't delete some files on my ext WD hdd. I think it was free space marked as cache or something. Anyway this sorted it out for me.

Quote:
If it is the hardware you probably will hear some loud clicks coming from it that is hardware failing.
My 160GB Hitachi Sata drive has been "clicking" from day one and still running
__________________
these command lines are like casino slot machines, every time I input commands NOTHING HAPPENS

Last edited by errorxp; 20th June 2010 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th June 2010, 11:24 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123linux View Post
Palimpsest is a ******* liar, I wouldn't take any notice of the crap it spews out.
Truth be told, I'm with you Leigh. I believe I've posted previously (in other threads) about my distaste for Palimpsest.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th June 2010, 11:25 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Added a second disk, problems arise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmsjan View Post
Where these smart attributes monitored in the Fedora 12 system?
No, the disk was fine in the Fedora 12 system.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
added, arise, disk, problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
added 2nd hard disk stanch Using Fedora 11 29th December 2004 02:24 PM
FC3: added hard-disk and system hangs now goll Using Fedora 6 27th December 2004 02:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:02 (Monday, 15-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat