Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20/21 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

View Poll Results: What Graphics Card Do you have?
ATI 3 60.00%
Nvidia 1 20.00%
Other 1 20.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th December 2010, 10:24 AM
realate Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
ATI drivers installed successfully but KDE won't run desktop effects

Hi All,

I didn't post this thread in the hardware section because I got my ATI propitiatory drivers installed successfully and my problem seems to be with KDE. I'm trying to enable Desktop Effects for KDE.

The story is that ATI drivers installed correctly but when I go to "Application Launcher" => "System Settings" => "Desktop Effects" I can't enable Desktop effects and it has the following message:

"Desktop effects are not available on this system due to the following technical issues:
Required X extensions (XComposite and XDamage) are not available."

First of all I don't really know what this means. I have done some Googling around and have found a few places suggesting that I should enable the "Damage" and "Composite" extensions in my xorg.conf. I have done that, as you can see in the attached Xorg.conf file. It still doesn't work.

Can anyone give me any suggestions? Cheers...
Attached Files
File Type: conf xorg.conf (1.4 KB, 104 views)
  #2  
Old 8th December 2010, 10:48 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,864
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ATI drivers installed successfully but KDE won't run desktop effects

Well. There are the threads by Leigh on NVidia and ATI. Both threads explain quite a bit about the drivers and xorg.conf.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
  #3  
Old 9th December 2010, 11:11 AM
realate Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: ATI drivers installed successfully but KDE won't run desktop effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
Well. There are the threads by Leigh on NVidia and ATI.
I assume that the threads you are refereing to are:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=230205
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=228648

but these just refer to installing Nvidia drivers using RPMFusion. Firstly I have already installed the binary drivers successfully and secondly there are no RPMFusion drivers for ATI on F14

My problem is just a configuration problem (I assume) and all I want to do is to be able to enable KDE Desktop effects.
  #4  
Old 9th December 2010, 06:06 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,864
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: ATI drivers installed successfully but KDE won't run desktop effects

I'd bet if you search Leigh's ATI thread on the term "xcomposite" or "xdamage" you'd get some returns. Even though the guide doesn't support F14 some of the info may be relevant to your situation. There are posts in that thread dated as late as yesterday.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
  #5  
Old 10th December 2010, 10:33 AM
realate Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: ATI drivers installed successfully but KDE won't run desktop effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
I'd bet if you search Leigh's ATI thread
oh! I really got the wrong end of the stick there! the reason I was so confused was because i looked for posts from a username "leigh" and didn't know what you were refering to... what you meant to say was leigh123linux's ati thread. That makes more sense. Link posted below in case anyone stumbles across this at a later date:

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=155503
  #6  
Old 10th December 2010, 01:27 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,864
unknownunknown
Re: ATI drivers installed successfully but KDE won't run desktop effects

Yup. I just hate it when the free help is so vague. It makes me work too hard to find answers. I so wish it was easier.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
  #7  
Old 10th December 2010, 03:28 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: ATI drivers installed successfully but KDE won't run desktop effects

Thread closed.

In the future, realate, please refrain from misusing the reported post system. If you have an issue with a staff member, take to a private message and work it out there.
Closed Thread

Tags
ati, desktop, drivers, effects, installed, kde, run, successfully

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I installed nvidia drivers on f12 and now I can not Enable desktop effects zhelo Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 18 1st February 2010 06:41 PM
No Geforce GTX 260 desktop effects - proprietary drivers installed trumansnare Hardware & Laptops 2 29th July 2009 09:33 AM
No desktop effects after fglrx installed with Fedora 8 (Lenovo T60) sweetrain Hardware & Laptops 67 25th January 2009 04:16 PM
Drivers and Desktop Effects Musick Man Using Fedora 3 3rd January 2009 05:40 PM
desktop-effects will not load successfully! spacelobsters Using Fedora 2 1st November 2006 01:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:40 (Friday, 19-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin Copyright 2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram