Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th November 2010, 07:49 AM
surdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
MTP device doesn't show up on amarok

I have a Sansa Clip + , it works just fine in MSC mode. I wanted to give a try to the MTP mode. But it does not show up in Amarok. I have libmtp installed and mtp-detect does show up the device information. Even Gnomad2 shows the tracks and device information but not amarok. is
I am on Fedora 14,
libmtp-1.0.3-5
libusb-0.1.12-23
amarok-2.3.2-4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th November 2010, 05:33 PM
TheBigRed Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 257
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: MTP device doesn't show up on amarok

the following side describes how to handle with MTP Devices on amarok.
http://amarok.kde.org/wiki/Media_Device:MTP

be sure that libmtp-examples and libmtp are installed and the file 60-libmtp.rules
from the package libmtp is copied to /etc/udev/rules.d
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th November 2010, 07:15 PM
surdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: MTP device doesn't show up on amarok

I went through the link and tried it already, but it did not help.
The rules file does not have my player listed there.

---------- Post added at 02:15 PM GMT ---------- Previous post was at 01:45 PM GMT ----------

I even added my device(Sansa Clip Plus) information in the rules file. It still does not help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2010, 06:39 PM
TheBigRed Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 257
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: MTP device doesn't show up on amarok

sorry, but at the moment i can give you only this hint from ubuntu forum.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1364317
Is your sansa Clip+ setup in MPT mode ?

mtp-detect should output this line:

mtp-detect
libmtp version: 1.0...

Last edited by TheBigRed; 15th November 2010 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th November 2010, 07:14 PM
surdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: MTP device doesn't show up on amarok

Yes i did connect it in the MTP mode and mtp-detect does show all the device info.
Infact Gnomad is successfully working with the mtp mode for the same device, but could not find an easy say to transfer playlists using Gnomad.

Also a follow up question when I added my player information in the libmtp.rules file I put the product id which is listed in the mtp mode. I noticed that product id is 74d0 in mtp mode and 74d1 in msc mode. I wanted to make sure that I put the correct (mtp) product id in the rules file.

Thanks for your effort !!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th November 2010, 05:34 PM
surdy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
windows_vistafirefox
Re: MTP device doesn't show up on amarok

So I did a bit more digging into this. I started amarok from command line in debug mode to see what is happening. I got the following error messages when I connect my device to the computer :
Code:
    amarok: BEGIN: void MediaDeviceCache::slotAddSolidDevice(const QString&)
    amarok:   [MediaDeviceCache] Found new Solid device with udi =  "/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_781_74d0_CD13F40A9992B6A80000000000000000"
    amarok:   [MediaDeviceCache] Device name is =  "Sansa Clip+ (mtp)"  and was made by  "SanDisk Corp."
    amarok:   [MediaDeviceCache] udi  "/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_781_74d0_CD13F40A9992B6A80000000000000000"  does not describe a portable media player or storage volume
    amarok: END__: void MediaDeviceCache::slotAddSolidDevice(const QString&) - Took 0.12s
    amarok: BEGIN: void MediaDeviceCache::slotAddSolidDevice(const QString&)
    amarok:   [MediaDeviceCache] Found new Solid device with udi =  "/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_781_74d0_CD13F40A9992B6A80000000000000000_if0"
    amarok:   [MediaDeviceCache] Device name is =  "USB Vendor Specific Interface"  and was made by  ""
    amarok:   [MediaDeviceCache] device is a PMP
    amarok:   BEGIN: void MountPointManager::deviceAdded(const QString&)
    amarok:     [MountPointManager] looking for udi  "/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_781_74d0_CD13F40A9992B6A80000000000000000_if0"
    amarok:     [MountPointManager] Did not find device from Solid for udi  "/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_781_74d0_CD13F40A9992B6A80000000000000000_if0"
    amarok:   END__: void MountPointManager::deviceAdded(const QString&) - Took 0.01s
    amarok:   BEGIN: void MediaDeviceMonitor::deviceAdded(const QString&)
    amarok:     BEGIN: void MediaDeviceMonitor::checkDevice(const QString&)
    amarok:       BEGIN: virtual bool MtpConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&)
    amarok:          Supported Protocols:  ()
    amarok:       END__: virtual bool MtpConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&) - Took 9.1e-05s
    amarok:       BEGIN: virtual bool AudioCdConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&)
    amarok:       END__: virtual bool AudioCdConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&) - Took 5.2e-05s
    amarok:       BEGIN: virtual bool IpodConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&)
    amarok:          Device udi:  "/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_781_74d0_CD13F40A9992B6A80000000000000000_if0"
    amarok:          Device name:  " - USB Vendor Specific Interface"
    amarok:         BEGIN: const QString MediaDeviceCache::volumeMountPoint(const QString&) const
    amarok:           [MediaDeviceCache] Not able to convert to StorageAccess or not accessible, returning empty
    amarok:         END__: const QString MediaDeviceCache::volumeMountPoint(const QString&) const - Took 8.1e-05s
    amarok:          Mount point:  ""
    amarok:          vendor:  "SanDisk Corp." , product:  "Sansa Clip+ (mtp)"
    amarok:       END__: virtual bool IpodConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&) - Took 0.0003s
    amarok:       BEGIN: virtual bool UmsConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&)
    amarok:          Device udi:  "/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_781_74d0_CD13F40A9992B6A80000000000000000_if0"
    amarok:          Device name:  " - USB Vendor Specific Interface"
    amarok:         BEGIN: const QString MediaDeviceCache::volumeMountPoint(const QString&) const
    amarok:           [MediaDeviceCache] Not able to convert to StorageAccess or not accessible, returning empty
    amarok:         END__: const QString MediaDeviceCache::volumeMountPoint(const QString&) const - Took 9.3e-05s
    amarok:          Mount point:  ""
    amarok:          vendor:  "" , product:  "USB Vendor Specific Interface"
    amarok:         BEGIN: const QString MediaDeviceCache::volumeMountPoint(const QString&) const
    amarok:           [MediaDeviceCache] Not able to convert to StorageAccess or not accessible, returning empty
    amarok:         END__: const QString MediaDeviceCache::volumeMountPoint(const QString&) const - Took 7.6e-05s
    amarok:       END__: virtual bool UmsConnectionAssistant::identify(const QString&) - Took 0.00041s
    amarok:     END__: void MediaDeviceMonitor::checkDevice(const QString&) - Took 0.0011s
    amarok:   END__: void MediaDeviceMonitor::deviceAdded(const QString&) - Took 0.0011s
    amarok: END__: void MediaDeviceCache::slotAddSolidDevice(const QString&) - Took 0.08s
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st January 2011, 07:04 PM
nicofo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: MTP device doesn't show up on amarok

Hi,

you need to install "libmtp-hal" package.
I have opened a bug for that problem: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=666173
Should be resolved with the next update of amarok.
__________________
Install XGL on Fedora, easily: Automatic Installation of XGL
NEW - propose to install compiz-fusion as well !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amarok, device, mtp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bluetooth device on thinkpad x60 does not show/enable spacelobsters Hardware & Laptops 5 11th August 2008 06:47 PM
I'll show you mine if you show me yours... schwim Wibble 3 16th July 2007 03:41 AM
amarok-xone & amarok-extras-nonfree error -- no mp3 playback D= spfdz Using Fedora 1 23rd January 2007 02:07 AM
Help[AO OSS] audio_setup: Can't open audio device /dev/dsp: Device or resource busy. technol Hardware & Laptops 0 18th October 2005 11:21 PM
Cannot open master raw device '/dev/rawctl' (No such device or address) v8625 Using Fedora 1 25th July 2004 06:47 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:03 (Friday, 25-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat