Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd February 2011, 01:10 AM
Luke oX Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Age: 19
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
Question Sound does not work in Feodra 14

I've had this same problem in Ubuntu 10.10 and earlier and have never found a solution. I forgot how to change pulse audio and look at the MXSA because that was awhile ago and I haven't messed with Linux since.

What have I done to try to fix this? I turned the sound up lol. It was on mute after install.

One thing I would like to mention that I have never asked about before is, I do not have a sound card, I used on-board audio from my motherboard. Could this be a problem?

I have no idea what to do to fix this, as I am not a expereinced Linux user and any help is apprecaited.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd February 2011, 01:59 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,372
linuxchrome
Re: Sound does not work in Feodra 14

As well as checking for muted and low volume in the mixer also look at pavucontrol, you may need to install it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd February 2011, 11:46 AM
Luke oX Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Age: 19
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
Unhappy Re: Sound does not work in Feodra 14

I installed pavucontrol, but it was pretty much the same as sound preferences, so nothing changes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd February 2011, 01:36 PM
Cygn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris, FR
Posts: 156
linuxchrome
Re: Sound does not work in Feodra 14

try
alsamixer -c0
in a terminal. this will give you alsa hw mixer, not the PA layer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd February 2011, 10:08 PM
rowanp28 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: glasgow
Posts: 110
linuxchrome
Re: Sound does not work in Feodra 14

if i remember right if you google "comprehensive sound guide" one of the first up will be for ubuntu but the basis of it is alsa and getting it to function correctly. also using "qjackctl" will give you some good info on what device is being interpreted as the default. mine used to default to my usb midi keyboard so anythings possible
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd February 2011, 10:58 PM
dknation Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Age: 35
Posts: 197
windows_7chrome
Re: Sound does not work in Feodra 14

Also, take a look at this page: http://fedorasolved.org/Members/fenr...nd-workarounds
There you will find some possible problems and solutions.
Perhaps even the one you're looking for.
__________________
I'm completely operational, and all my circuits are functioning perfectly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora14_64, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feodra 13 installation DVD noorez Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 16th September 2010 01:07 AM
Broadcom / Feodra 11 HMSS013 Using Fedora 7 5th July 2009 11:22 AM
Opera on Feodra 7 Omnicloud Using Fedora 6 29th January 2008 05:11 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:56 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Horsham - Zhangjiagang Instagram Photos - Vicosa Instagram Photos