Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th June 2011, 01:02 AM
directive4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 32
linuxfirefox
launch a terminal without it appearing in panel

so i want to have an embedded terminal on my desktop.

alltray --borderless --skip-taskbar --sticky Terminal --hide-menubar --hide-borders --geometry 60x600+10-10

seems to work, however,

its just on one desktop and it's appearing in the panel, despite my

--skip-taskbar --sticky

for alltray,

whats i'm a missing please.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th June 2011, 01:43 AM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,079
windows_7firefox
Re: launch a terminal without it appearing in panel

Quote:
--geometry 60x600+10-10
The first "+10" shifts the X starting location 10 pixels to the right.
The second "-10" shifts the Y starting location 10 pixels up.
Try a positive number for Y, shifting it down, and away from and below the upper panel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th June 2011, 03:01 AM
directive4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 32
linuxfirefox
Re: launch a terminal without it appearing in panel

yea, thinks you missed what i was saying, it's the tab that's appearing in the panel, not the terminal.
i don't want the tab there so it looks like its embedded and not 'launched', or whatever
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th June 2011, 12:48 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,079
linuxfirefox
Re: launch a terminal without it appearing in panel

Yes, you're right, I did miss what you were trying to say. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th June 2011, 12:50 PM
directive4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 32
linuxfirefox
Re: launch a terminal without it appearing in panel

no need to be sorry mate,
i miss lots everyday...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
appearing, launch, panel, terminal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KDE Panel Icons won't Launch Apps? vtpoet Using Fedora 0 26th January 2011 02:10 PM
Gnome-applet-sensors not appearing in applet list for panel kurtdriver F16 Development 3 12th September 2010 07:01 PM
Thunderbird fails to launch from KDE4 panel theedge981 Using Fedora 0 25th December 2008 07:32 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:24 (Thursday, 21-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat