Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th August 2011, 09:07 PM
thecovester1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
windows_7chrome
[SOLVED] Speakers not working properly- I can't adjust volume

I've had this problem since I fresh installed Fedora on my laptop: I can play sounds fine, but I can't mute/make it louder or softer. I couple days ago (right after I installed) there was a notification saying there was an error with something in the sound and it was "falling back to default". Recently, the notification stopped popping up but the problem persists.

I'm not 100% positive as to what type of speakers my laptop has. I know they're made by JBL, but on Windows they're handled by "RealTek HD Audio Manager" and in Device Manager there's 2 different audio devices: Realtek High Definition Audio and ATI HDMI Audio. Neither of them say they're JBL brand. The most information I can get out of the specs of my laptop found on Newegg is that they're "JBL stereo speakers (1.5 watt x 2)".

What could be happening? Is it a driver problem? How can I fix it?

Thanks for any help you can give.

P.S- I'm running the KDE Spin of Fedora 15, so I have a different utility for controlling audio than GNOME users do.

Last edited by thecovester1; 9th August 2011 at 09:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th August 2011, 09:31 PM
oldcpu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 241
linuxfirefox
Re: Speakers not working properly- I can't adjust volume

Did you try controlling the volume with the pulse audio volume control app 'pavucontrol' ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th August 2011, 09:39 PM
thecovester1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
linuxfirefox
Re: Speakers not working properly- I can't adjust volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
Did you try controlling the volume with the pulse audio volume control app 'pavucontrol' ?
no- I dual-boot the KDE Spin of F15 so I use KMix instead of PulseAudio so I can't use pavucontrol.

EDIT: Wait a minute... I have pulseaudio installed... I'll see what happens when I download pavucontrol.

EDIT EDIT: Hm, this is interesting. KMix was adjusting the volume on "Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series] Digital Sterio (HDMI)". pavucontrol sensed 2 output devices: the one I just listed, and "Internal Audio Analog Stereo". It seems like the first choice would be the correct one, but the internal stereo is the correct one. idk why.

Anyways, it's working now. Thanks for suggesting "pavucontrol"; it made me realize I was using the wrong device.

Last edited by thecovester1; 9th August 2011 at 09:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th August 2011, 10:24 PM
oldcpu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 241
linuxfirefox
Re: Speakers not working properly- I can't adjust volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecovester1 View Post
EDIT EDIT: Hm, this is interesting. KMix was adjusting the volume on "Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series] Digital Sterio (HDMI)". pavucontrol sensed 2 output devices: the one I just listed, and "Internal Audio Analog Stereo". It seems like the first choice would be the correct one, but the internal stereo is the correct one. idk why.

Anyways, it's working now.
Great news ! Glad to read is now functioning.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adjust, properly, speakers, volume, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volume control not working properly volksvagen Using Fedora 3 2nd May 2010 02:19 AM
Volume keyboard shortcuts not working properly MuadNu Using Fedora 2 3rd August 2009 01:58 PM
SB Live! 5.1 - Can't Adjust Volume rookcifer Using Fedora 1 25th February 2009 11:29 PM
can not adjust the volume under FC6 chenpeib EOL (End Of Life) Versions 0 4th June 2007 08:28 AM
Can not adjust volume in FC4 rockmen1 Using Fedora 3 2nd July 2005 07:10 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:59 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat