Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th September 2011, 02:38 AM
nywst Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
windows_7chrome
doesn't recognize 2GB memory?

Fedora 14 with 2GB RAM install, it only recognizes 1.6GB?
CPU is AMD E-350, with PAE kernel.

# uname -a
Linux xxxxx 2.6.35.14-96.fc14.i686.PAE #1 SMP Thu Sep 1 12:31:46 UTC 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

# free
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 1670856 1634804 36052 0 134420 1304496
-/+ buffers/cache: 195888 1474968
Swap: 2097148 0 2097148

# cat meminfo |grep MemT
MemTotal: 1670856 kB

why is that? thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th September 2011, 02:40 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: doesn't recognize 2GB memory?

I have an HP laptop that uses shared memory for the video card that behaves similarly. If you are using shared video memory then that is the expected behavior. Look through /var/log/Xorg.0.log there might be some information there about video memory usage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th September 2011, 05:46 AM
nywst Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
windows_7chrome
Re: doesn't recognize 2GB memory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEO View Post
I have an HP laptop that uses shared memory for the video card that behaves similarly. If you are using shared video memory then that is the expected behavior. Look through /var/log/Xorg.0.log there might be some information there about video memory usage.
yeah, that's probably the case, though I am not sure.

I only find the following in /var/log/Xorg.0.log:

[ 21.871] (II) VESA(0): Total Memory: 256 64KB banks (16384kB)

thanks,

---------- Post added 20th September 2011 at 12:46 AM ---------- Previous post was 19th September 2011 at 09:54 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nywst View Post
yeah, that's probably the case, though I am not sure.

I only find the following in /var/log/Xorg.0.log:

[ 21.871] (II) VESA(0): Total Memory: 256 64KB banks (16384kB)

thanks,
I got it.

# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1510
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 9802
00:01.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Device 1314
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1512
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 40)
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller (rev 40)
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:15.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Device 43a0
00:16.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:16.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1700 (rev 43)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1701
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1702
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1703
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1704
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1718
00:18.6 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1716
00:18.7 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1719
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)


# lspci -v -s 00:01.0
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 9802 (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. Device 7698
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
Memory at c0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
I/O ports at f000 [size=256]
Memory at feb00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [58] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>

Here it shows video card uses 256M, still doesn't add up.

256M + 1631M(free 'free') = 1887M << 2GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2gb, memory, recognize

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fedora does not recognize sd memory/card DeusLucifer Hardware & Laptops 1 6th June 2011 04:23 AM
F11 unable to recognize 24GB memory on Dell PowerEdge R610 m68 Using Fedora 10 15th October 2009 07:42 AM
firefox - memory problems related to browser.cache.memory.capacity? slade17 Using Fedora 0 23rd September 2008 03:22 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:34 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Lathi Travel Photos - Kanoya - Kaleke Mandi