Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th January 2012, 02:12 PM
fmcgraw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 2
linuxubuntuchrome
Cannot start Fedora 16 after install

I am running Ubuntu 10.04 as my main operating system but I wanted to deepen my linux experience and decided to go with Fedora. Until recently this was a dual boot setup with Ubuntu 10.04 and Windows XP - however I have got rid of Windows so I can use the 80gb to install another OS to play around with.

Installation of Fedora isn't a problem but when I select Fedora from the grub menu it returns the following errors: VFS: Cannot open root device "sda1" or unknown block(0,0)
Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)
I have attached the grub config files from both Ubuntu and Fedora. During the installation I opted to install the bootloader on the first sector of /dev/sda1 which is where I am installing Fedora to instead of /dev/sda to prevent it from overwriting the Ubuntu grub loader.

This is how I have my partitions setup:
Code:
root@MACHINE:~# fdisk [options] -l /dev/sda

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1       10444    83886080   83  Linux
/dev/sda2           13055       13576     4192965   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3           13577       30401   135146812+  83  Linux
Having researched the issue I have found these two bug reports with the same error -
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=632412
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=698209

I'm not sure if it is a bug I am dealing with or a problem with the setup of grub.
Attached Files
File Type: txt ubuntu grub config.txt (4.3 KB, 56 views)
File Type: txt fedoras grub config.txt (4.3 KB, 47 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th January 2012, 03:56 PM
07CobaltGirl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
linuxfirefox
Re: Cannot start Fedora 16 after install

Where is the Ubuntu installed?

---------- Post added at 07:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:50 AM ----------

OK, I found it in your Fedora config file.

Ubuntu is booting from (0,3) and is located on /sda3, wouldn't that make Fedora installed on (0,1) and booting from /sda1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by From Ubuntu config
### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry "Fedora release 16 (Verne) (on /dev/sda1)" {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 134e729d-d469-498c-8867-4f45e84898d9
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 root=/dev/sda1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
Quote:
Originally Posted by From Fedora config
### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.i686' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
load_video
set gfxpayload=keep
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 134e729d-d469-498c-8867-4f45e84898d9
echo 'Loading Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 root=UUID=134e729d-d469-498c-8867-4f45e84898d9 ro nomodeset rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb KEYTABLE=uk rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initramfs-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.img
}
So this makes the question, why is grub looking at (0,0) at all? There apparently isn't a (0,0), or is there?

Last edited by 07CobaltGirl; 26th January 2012 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th January 2012, 10:38 PM
fmcgraw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 2
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: Cannot start Fedora 16 after install

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07CobaltGirl View Post

Ubuntu is booting from (0,3) and is located on /sda3, wouldn't that make Fedora installed on (0,1) and booting from /sda1?
Yes, I have tried changing it but it still returns the same error.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07CobaltGirl View Post
So this makes the question, why is grub looking at (0,0) at all? There apparently isn't a (0,0), or is there?
I can't see where it is getting (0,0) from at all. Although fdisk doesn't show it in my previous post the only other thing on the hard drive is 20gb of free space which sits between Fedora (sda1) and the Swap.

The only thing I can think to do is delete /dev/sda1 and install using the option "use free space" in the installer instead of "create custom layout".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, install, start

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 15 KDE Fresh Install Won't Start doppeldotganger Using Fedora 1 18th September 2011 11:19 PM
Can't start fedora install corepuncher Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 12th August 2008 02:45 AM
fedora 9 beta not start when install in jfs -DarkMind- Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 1 9th April 2008 08:04 PM
Fedora install / live cd start fails Nemros Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 24th February 2008 05:08 PM
Fedora 4 INstall seemed to go fine, now it just needs to start bowie101 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 15 31st October 2005 09:04 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:49 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat