Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th February 2012, 08:17 PM
ubersoft Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

I'm coming over from (K)ubuntu, and over there we need to edit a number of files in /etc and then run grub-update (or update-grub, I can't remember which) which in turn updates the grub.cfg file in the /boot directory.

I'm reading that over here on the Fedora side of things that's not necessary, that you can directly edit the /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file. But most of the howtos and grub configuration articles I've seen out there still recommend you edit /etc/default/grub, then run grub2-mkconfig.

The problem is that grub2-mkconfig doesn't seem to be writing all the changes to /boot/grub2/grub.cfg.

I wanted to a) increase the resolution on the grub2 screen, b) maintain that resolution in the terminal view, and c) add the verne bootsplash. So I added these entries in /etc/default/grub:

Code:
GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1080x16
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep
GRUB_BACKGROUND=/home/wrightc/Pictures/vernesplash.png
I then ran

Code:
sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
And upon reboot I saw that none of these changes were actually made. However, the set timeout=-1 change I made to grub WAS accepted.

So I wandered over to /boot/grub2/grub.cfg and took a look at what was in there. set timeout=-1 was there, and set gfxpayload=keep was in each boot entry, but there was no entry for my desired resolution, and no entry for the background.

Unfortunately, the layout of the grub.cfg file in /boot/grub2 was also... very different from the configuration file, so I had no idea where to put those entries on my own.

Any guidance? Is grub2-mkconfig broken in some way, and is editing the /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file the recommended way of doing it? If so, is there a howto or readme somewhere that documents where everything needs to go?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th February 2012, 08:35 PM
SteveGYBE Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lytham St Annes, Lancashire, UK
Posts: 338
linuxfirefox
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

Try enclosing your non-numeric entries in quotes
Code:
GRUB_GFXMODE="1920x1080x16"
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX="keep"
GRUB_BACKGROUND="/home/wrightc/Pictures/vernesplash.png"
The following is numeric so quotes are not needed and Grub2 accepted the value
Code:
GRUB_TIMEOUT=-1
Grub2 will be nice when it's finished ...

... maybe ...

Last edited by SteveGYBE; 18th February 2012 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th February 2012, 09:50 PM
ubersoft Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

Just tried to quotes. Unfortunately, no dice.

It's very odd. It's as if the update tool is just skipping over those entries entirely...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th February 2012, 10:12 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
linuxopera
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

Here are some entries in my /etc/default/grub file from arch linux.

Code:
# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
GRUB_GFXMODE=auto

# Uncomment to allow the kernel use the same resolution used by grub
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

# Uncomment one of them for the gfx desired, a image background or a gfxtheme
#GRUB_BACKGROUND="/path/to/wallpaper"
#GRUB_THEME="/path/to/gfxtheme"
See also...
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...fer_resolution

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...d_bitmap_fonts
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th February 2012, 12:00 AM
ubersoft Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

Argh, so frustrating. I know the resolution and bootsplash commands work on my computer because I was able to configure them under Kubuntu, but I guess there's a difference between the Kubuntu and Fedora 16 implementation that keeps the "pretty commands" from working. Maybe in a future update...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th February 2012, 12:24 AM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
linuxopera
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

This any help?

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=722363
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th February 2012, 12:51 AM
ubersoft Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

I'm not sure. The patch is only for F14 and F15, I'm running F16 at the moment. And the comments list all the commands I've already tried, except for building the fonts file (since I'm not trying to use custom fonts).

Also looking at the patch, I see it's for Grub 1.98, and I'm running 1.99. Would that make a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th February 2012, 03:09 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

I believe there was an issue and to change some of the video modes, etc, you have to create a grub2 font file with grub2-mkfont.

I forget the specifics of it, but changing the video modes or setting a background wouldn't work until you had a font file generated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th February 2012, 03:33 AM
ubersoft Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Re: Configuring grub2 -- there's a missing link somewhere

Interesting. Well, I'll creat a font file and see what happens. It wouldn't be the first time I had to do something I didn't understand in order to accomplish something else I only semi-understand. :-)

---------- Post added at 10:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 PM ----------

Yep, that did the trick. I fell for the classic "that looks like a procedure for a feature I don't care about so I'll just skip it and assume there will be no consequences" mistake. Resolution and bootsplash fixed.

Thanks to you both!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configuring, grub2, link, missing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some tips on configuring grub2 (Fedora 16) marriedto51 Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 0 12th January 2012 01:15 PM
Configuring Grub2 duke11235 Using Fedora 4 4th December 2009 01:17 AM
help on configuring ADSL USB modem(D-Link) jerry8310 Hardware & Laptops 2 11th January 2005 03:01 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:12 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Sarkikaraagac Instagram Photos - Kreuzlingen Travel Photos on Instagram - Sindgi Travel Photos on Instagram