Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th November 2011, 10:41 PM
Althernai Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
linuxfirefox
Help with Gnome version of Fedora 16

I am trying out the "default" (Gnome 3) version of Fedora 16 and I need some help. I've been using Gnome for 6 or 7 years now, but this is a very different version. My main problem is switching between applications. In Gnome 2, it was possible to do this in a single click by selecting the application on the taskbar. In Gnome 3, it seems I need to get to the application selection screen first by either clicking on Activities in the top left corner or pressing the Windows key. After that, I select the application which may or may not have changed its position depending on the applications I have opened after it.

The reason I ask is that when I'm working, I usually have at least 4 applications open (the terminal, Firefox, Thunderbird and Emacs) and 0-4 more depending on what I am working on. I switch between these applications literally hundreds of times per day so doubling the number of buttons that need to be pressed for a transition is a big deal to me. Is there some way to get the applications to line up in the taskbar-like space after Activities? The current application (i.e. Firefox) is there, but others I open replace it rather than joining it. Right-clicking it does nothing. Is there another way to edit it?

An unrelated question: is there some way to power off the machine without logging out first? The user name on the top right only gives me the options to Suspend and Log Out; only after the latter do I get a power symbol which lets me shut down.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th November 2011, 03:50 AM
kurtdriver Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,588
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Help with Gnome version of Fedora 16

Have a read through this, a bit of a read, but there's a wealth of stuff in that thread. In short, you can change almost anything.

Gnome 3 doesn't seem to want people to use their mice, but rather the keyboard. I say go them one step further and stick to runlevel 3. With jed, alpine, mplayer, links, iwconfig, budgie, and transmission what you're all set.

Oh yeah, powering off will be in that menu, if you, either install the correct extension, or click on your username while holding down a certain key, sorry I don't recall which, play around and you'll find it, I'm on F14 right now. On F14 or F15, I just open a terminal and type halt. Seems easier than clicking several times.

P.S. The key to hold down seems to be alt.

Last edited by kurtdriver; 18th November 2011 at 03:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th November 2011, 04:27 AM
simplon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 12
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Help with Gnome version of Fedora 16

Yes, holding down Alt when in the menu will show the Power Off option..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th March 2012, 03:20 PM
LinuxNerd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lawton, OK
Age: 21
Posts: 184
windows_vistaie
Re: Help with Gnome version of Fedora 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by Althernai View Post
I am trying out the "default" (Gnome 3) version of Fedora 16 and I need some help. I've been using Gnome for 6 or 7 years now, but this is a very different version. My main problem is switching between applications. In Gnome 2, it was possible to do this in a single click by selecting the application on the taskbar. In Gnome 3, it seems I need to get to the application selection screen first by either clicking on Activities in the top left corner or pressing the Windows key. After that, I select the application which may or may not have changed its position depending on the applications I have opened after it.

The reason I ask is that when I'm working, I usually have at least 4 applications open (the terminal, Firefox, Thunderbird and Emacs) and 0-4 more depending on what I am working on. I switch between these applications literally hundreds of times per day so doubling the number of buttons that need to be pressed for a transition is a big deal to me. Is there some way to get the applications to line up in the taskbar-like space after Activities? The current application (i.e. Firefox) is there, but others I open replace it rather than joining it. Right-clicking it does nothing. Is there another way to edit it?

An unrelated question: is there some way to power off the machine without logging out first? The user name on the top right only gives me the options to Suspend and Log Out; only after the latter do I get a power symbol which lets me shut down.
On the GNOME 3 subject, there is still hope if you're a hardcore GNOME 2 fan: Fallback Mode.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th March 2012, 04:18 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,857
linuxfirefox
Re: Help with Gnome version of Fedora 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxNerd View Post
On the GNOME 3 subject, there is still hope if you're a hardcore GNOME 2 fan: Fallback Mode.
Actually, there is something better! Did you take a look at MATE desktop? Or cinnamon?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th March 2012, 07:52 PM
kurtdriver Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,588
linuxfirefox
Re: Help with Gnome version of Fedora 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxNerd View Post
On the GNOME 3 subject, there is still hope if you're a hardcore GNOME 2 fan: Fallback Mode.
Each thing the OP asked for can be fixed from within gnome3 by extensions and programs, etc.

Last edited by kurtdriver; 12th March 2012 at 07:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th March 2012, 10:10 PM
LinuxNerd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lawton, OK
Age: 21
Posts: 184
windows_vistafirefox
Re: Help with Gnome version of Fedora 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonamedotc View Post
Actually, there is something better! Did you take a look at MATE desktop? Or cinnamon?
There's also Xfce.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, gnome, version

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the main distribution of Fedora, i.e. the non-"spin" version contain only Gnome? CelticBlues Using Fedora 1 13th October 2011 08:23 PM
Gnome Version agriz Using Fedora 2 12th May 2011 08:53 PM
kernel-devel package with version between the fedora and update repo version Cajga Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 13th September 2009 06:46 PM
I need gnome-vfs version 1 blahboybang Using Fedora 1 10th September 2006 12:22 AM
Is this GNOME 2.14 version? FireMac Using Fedora 2 15th March 2006 03:19 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:10 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ash Shamiyah Travel Photos on Instagram - Kpandu - Paniqui Photos on Instagram