Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th March 2012, 07:54 PM
toddbailey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 146
linuxfirefox
Unhappy Can't browse Network

All,


Just finished installing F15 x64, and originally I was able to browse network shares,
After doing a yum update, and installing a few additional apps, none of which have any dealing with networking, I can't browse the network

In the popular file managers, I can see the machines, but can't see anything beyond that point.

I can't even open the local machine's shares.

when I do I see a unable to mount location , failed to retrieve share list from server


Both the FIREWALL and SELINUX are disabled, SMB/NMB are running, I can ping the machines and I can connect to the internet.

smb workgroup is set, security is set to user, smb has my user name/password added via the desktop app and I have a public share created /mnt/share with 777 permissions.

I've tried both fixed ip addresses and automatic.
I'm using the generic smb.conf file other that changing workgroup, netbios name and share

additionally, I can't mount a nfs share either,
mount 192.168.1.10:/areca3 /mnt/areca3 -t nfs
mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting 192.168.1.10:/areca3

other machines can mount this share so it mujst be central to the new install



There must be one crucial step I've missed, but what is it?


thanks

Last edited by toddbailey; 18th March 2012 at 07:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th March 2012, 12:34 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,779
linuxfirefox
Re: Can't browse Network

Have you looked at the samba log in /var/log/samba? Are these Windows shares?

Try
PHP Code:
mount.nfs 192.168.1.10:/areca3 /mnt/areca3 
Don't you need to setup /etc/exports for this to work?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th March 2012, 06:17 AM
toddbailey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 146
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Can't browse Network

I was able to fix the nfs issue, dhcp (automatic ip address) didn't get reset, so instead of 192.168.1.15, the machine got an ip of 192.168.1.154. Just a bit different. I eventually set exports to rw on 192.168.1. on the server machine so it should be ok

Still, can get samba to play nice, 2 fedora machines, a F14 server & F16 Client shares etc. folder protections set to 0777, security to share etc... no firewall or se linux enabled at this point
but I continue to get access refused messages from F16 to F14.

didn't try the reverse yet

which samba log file should I be looking at the svr or the client?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th March 2012, 08:36 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,779
linuxfirefox
Re: Can't browse Network

Server. Doesn't cost anything to look at both though.

I had a somewhat similar issue with ssh. Even with the firewall disabled it wasn't working. It seemed that just toggling ssh on and off and back on in the firewall triggered something that caused it to start working.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
browse, network

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F13 - Nautilus can't browse network TinCanFiru Using Fedora 14 7th October 2012 06:44 PM
Can't browse windows network KKJensen Servers & Networking 17 17th July 2008 03:07 AM
Cant Browse Windows Network freenux Servers & Networking 0 10th September 2007 01:40 PM
Can't Browse Network[FC4] joshtech Servers & Networking 0 18th June 2005 01:39 AM
Can't browse network through Nautilus senderap Servers & Networking 3 14th December 2004 02:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:01 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Sadiqabad - Cleckheaton Travel Photos on Instagram - Velbert Travel Photos on Instagram