Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th April 2012, 01:51 PM
settingsun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 150
windows_xp_2003firefox
How Do I connect a device, that has no screen, to my network?

I assume a production server has no screen (headless). I've been building a server with a laptop. I installed fedora on it, gave it a static ip address and an ifcfg-eth0 configuration file, etc, and did all my work using its screen.

I'm going to buy production hardware, and set up the headless production server locally, using my home network - then send it to the co location host.

I used the laptop's screen to configure the laptop to connect to the network. I assume I will use the laptop screen to contact the headless server and configure it.

How is this done? How do I connect ( assign static ip, etc, so the network can talk to it) a server to my network when the server has no screen?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th April 2012, 10:12 PM
Doug G Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
windows_7firefox
Re: How Do I connect a device, that has no screen, to my network?

If you configure the network properly for the co-location network before you send the server there, with luck it will be accessible when it's powered up. Make sure necessary ports are available at the new location. Otherwise you probably end up paying for some live support at the co-location site to get connected.

You can configure a local subnet to match the remote network settings for testing. I don't use co-location servers, but I often have client computers in my shop for work, and have to configure their network settings to match the client network before shipping them back which is a similar scenario to yours.
__________________
======
Doug G
======
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th April 2012, 11:08 PM
settingsun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 150
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: How Do I connect a device, that has no screen, to my network?

Could you give me an example of what settings need to be matched to those of the co location provider's network?

Do you mean things like find out what ip address apache will listen on, and put that ip in httpd.conf before the hardware is sent to them?

What happens if I want to use a port other than 22 for ssh connections - for enhanced security?

Do providers limit the ports I can use per daemon?


Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th April 2012, 06:33 AM
schotty Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 207
Headless units for me are added by using a serial console connection or by borrowing a display to quickly setup the network and SSH. From there on its all SSH for everything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connect, device, network, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi device detected but can't connect Ubermann Servers & Networking 4 28th January 2010 06:06 PM
Fed11: GNOME Network Configuration and Network Device Control screwed-up. bandersnoot Servers & Networking 1 27th June 2009 09:12 PM
Device shows up in Network configuration but not in Network Device Control bud.stentz Servers & Networking 1 13th January 2009 12:44 AM
Network Device Control keeps swithching device to inactive eppo#1 Servers & Networking 11 14th November 2008 10:19 AM
Hardware device to connect a TV to the network tornadof3 Hardware & Laptops 4 7th January 2008 05:24 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:43 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat