Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th April 2012, 01:32 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,220
linuxfirefox
Question One problem swapped for another ...

... is pretty much the norm around this little corner of Dan's realm.

Here's the most recent example. Ever since I phat-phingered this little adventure into my life, I've been getting this error/failure in the startup/dmesg.

Code:
[   27.792117] swapon[879]: swapon: /dev/sda2: swapon failed: Invalid argument
[   27.792526] systemd[1]: dev-sda2.swap swap process exited, code=exited status=255
[   27.801215] systemd[1]: Unit dev-sda2.swap entered failed state.
That partition (along with the rest of them) has been recovered, (or so I thought) but the error persists.

Howz come? <....>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:04 AM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

What does free show?


It's possible that you might have to run the mkswap command on the space.

Last edited by RHamel; 29th April 2012 at 02:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:25 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,220
linuxfirefox
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

As below ...

Quote:
[dan@****** Desktop]$ free
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 8178148 1924332 6253816 0 79080 736416
-/+ buffers/cache: 1108836 7069312
Swap: 6691036 0 6691036
[dan@****** Desktop]$
Here's the beast in question (wait a few seconds and it will cycle through all three partitions.)

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:34 AM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

What happens if you?
Code:
swapon /dev/sda2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:36 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,480
linuxchrome
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

What about fstab? What I've often seen, though in Ubuntu, is that for some reason or another a UUID will get changed and suddenly swap isn't working. If that doesn't seem a factor, I might try deleting the partition and recreating, then run partprobe, as Fedora's UUID hasn't seemed especially robust to me either--from time to time, after either an update or installing something else, the UUID won't match and it won't boot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:36 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,220
linuxfirefox
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

Quote:
swapon: /dev/sda2: open failed: Permission denied
<....>

Let me try that again as root. <....>

EDIT: Well ... that wasn't a whole lot better results.

Quote:
swapon: /dev/sda2: swapon failed: Invalid argument
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:43 AM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

How about
Code:
swapon -s
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:51 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,220
linuxfirefox
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

Dunno. After Scott reminded me, <....> the lights came on, I checked /etc/fstab, and found this ...

Quote:
#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Sun Jul 31 15:48:34 2011
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
UUID=9cc93dd7-dc60-4a7a-a2c9-f208b4a9cb91 / ext4 defaults 1 1
UUID=adf93159-34c1-4f32-b8b1-a71e56283e49 /boot ext2 defaults 1 2
# /dev/sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
UUID=cced7f5e-34ac-40e1-b361-13d8a45165fc swap swap defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
I remarked out the line and the problem went away. I really didn't want that drive getting a whole lot of traffic anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th April 2012, 02:58 AM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: One problem swapped for another ...

Well good, I'm glad we didn't shoot the other foot off.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual head monitors permanently swapped? Transawakening Hardware & Laptops 0 27th January 2009 12:57 AM
swapped mobo - now fc4 mkrootdev: label / not found zenob Using Fedora 3 12th March 2006 05:40 PM
primary monitor swapped dhufstader Using Fedora 1 17th December 2005 03:39 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:03 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat