Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st June 2012, 10:12 PM
LongTimeDabbler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 143
windows_7chrome
When they say no preupgrade for RAID don't they really mean software RAID?

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=500004

In the above bug it says that preupgrade is not supported if /boot is "on RAID".

But don't they really mean "Software RAID"? And if so shouldn't the wording be more specific?

I did preupgrade from FC14 to FC16 and my system has /boot on a Hardware RAID partition and things went fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st June 2012, 10:21 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxchrome
Re: When they say no preupgrade for RAID don't they really mean software RAID?

I suspect he meant software RAID. I would put your comment on the bug. With software RAID, you would be using the software to recover. With hardware RAID, the software should be irrelevant. (HOST RAID is a whole different thing, and I suppose dependent upon the manufacturer---many only have drivers for Windows and ARE reliant on the O/S).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st June 2012, 10:55 PM
LongTimeDabbler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 143
windows_7chrome
Re: When they say no preupgrade for RAID don't they really mean software RAID?

So basically anyone can add to a bugzilla report with questions or comments? Yes, I tend to agree with
your take on it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st June 2012, 11:46 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxchrome
Re: When they say no preupgrade for RAID don't they really mean software RAID?

Yes, you need to create a bugzilla account which is pretty straightforward. Once you have one, you can comment on any bug up there, and your information might quite possibly be useful to someone doing a google about booting from a RAID partition.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
preupgrade, raid, software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jmicron software raid 1 seen as raid during install, as 2 disk after xranix Using Fedora 0 9th March 2009 04:02 PM
Installing a software raid on an existing non-raid system jimispier Hardware & Laptops 8 4th March 2006 05:51 AM
Software RAID problem (RAID is gone after create process finishes) michal Using Fedora 4 16th November 2005 12:24 PM
Fake RAID and software RAID? hapaboy Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 4th April 2005 02:30 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:38 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat