Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th June 2012, 11:17 AM
itsjoy2u Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 44
windows_xp_2003chrome
Exclamation Samba Problem in fedora 16

Hi Friends
I am using fedora 16 with Gnome shell, and I am try to create samba shared folder, so that other computers(KDE linux or windows pc) can access the folder. But after configuring the samba share, other computers can see the share folder but not able not get the content of that folder . While clicking the share folder its say authentication failure, I have selected "give access to every body" and "share" type in the setting.

Please assists, I am new to this samba sharing.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th June 2012, 11:54 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Samba Problem in fedora 16

What exactly does your smb.conf file look like? Is the folder "browseable"?

Make sure your firewall isn't blocking the connection.

Do you get any selinux errors?

What exactly is the error message?

Also check /var/log/messages for additional information.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th June 2012, 01:46 PM
itsjoy2u Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 44
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: Samba Problem in fedora 16

I will paste the smb.conf shortly..but firewall is not blocking the samba share, because that folder is visible from other computers, but not accessible, mean I am not able to see the contents of it from thouse PC.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th June 2012, 02:00 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Samba Problem in fedora 16

Did you follow the directions in your /etc/samba/smb.conf file and set selinux up properly?

Clip from /etc/samba/smb.conf just in case.

Code:
# Note: Run the "testparm" command after modifying this file to check for basic
# syntax errors.
#
#---------------
# Security-Enhanced Linux (SELinux) Notes:
#
# Turn the samba_domain_controller Boolean on to allow Samba to use the useradd
# and groupadd family of binaries. Run the following command as the root user to
# turn this Boolean on:
# setsebool -P samba_domain_controller on
#
# Turn the samba_enable_home_dirs Boolean on if you want to share home
# directories via Samba. Run the following command as the root user to turn this
# Boolean on:
# setsebool -P samba_enable_home_dirs on
#
# If you create a new directory, such as a new top-level directory, label it
# with samba_share_t so that SELinux allows Samba to read and write to it. Do
# not label system directories, such as /etc/ and /home/, with samba_share_t, as
# such directories should already have an SELinux label.
#
# Run the "ls -ldZ /path/to/directory" command to view the current SELinux
# label for a given directory.
#
# Set SELinux labels only on files and directories you have created. Use the
# chcon command to temporarily change a label:
# chcon -t samba_share_t /path/to/directory
#
# Changes made via chcon are lost when the file system is relabeled or commands
# such as restorecon are run.
#
# Use the samba_export_all_ro or samba_export_all_rw Boolean to share system
# directories. To share such directories and only allow read-only permissions:
# setsebool -P samba_export_all_ro on
# To share such directories and allow read and write permissions:
# setsebool -P samba_export_all_rw on
#
# To run scripts (preexec/root prexec/print command/...), copy them to the
# /var/lib/samba/scripts/ directory so that SELinux will allow smbd to run them.
# Note that if you move the scripts to /var/lib/samba/scripts/, they retain
# their existing SELinux labels, which may be labels that SELinux does not allow
# smbd to run. Copying the scripts will result in the correct SELinux labels.
# Run the "restorecon -R -v /var/lib/samba/scripts" command as the root user to
# apply the correct SELinux labels to these files.
#
#--------------
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th June 2012, 02:11 PM
itsjoy2u Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 44
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: Samba Problem in fedora 16

I have done that using the GUI(Samba Server) provided by fedora 16 Gnome shell, I haven't got any error regarding SELinux.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th June 2012, 05:47 PM
beaker_ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,343
windows_7firefox
Re: Samba Problem in fedora 16

O. So how did you check?

So paste the output of:
Code:
$ sestatus
$ getsebool |grep samba
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, problem, samba

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Samba under Fedora 15 abhi_69 Using Fedora 29 6th February 2012 01:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:20 (Tuesday, 22-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat