Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd June 2012, 08:15 PM
rwgast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tekkno Lab
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
Installing the Electronics Lab Packages on KDE Spin

Ok so I have been using the KDE Spin lately I just HATE Gnome and I needed a box up and running quick for embedded development so i decided to stray from gentoo and straight Debian is just well eck anything where the install wants to connect to wifi and doesnt support wpa2 well thats ridiculous

Anyways just making the point that I havent used a rh distro since mandrake 6 but Im really liking the FC'17 Kde Spin. The only issue Im having is I want all the compatibility and scripts that come in the electronics lab spin... Now I have looked into installing all the packages it seems a bit time consuming.... The only way I have figured out how to do this is to run YumeEx or Yum and install each one from this list http://chitlesh.fedorapeople.org/FEL/list.html Is there maybe an easyer way to get the whole group of packages at once? Maybe some sort of list I can import into a package manager or something like that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd June 2012, 11:30 PM
AndrewSerk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 889
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing the Electronics Lab Packages on KDE Spin

Hi rwgast,

You can install packages as groups. To get a list of groups:
Code:
yum grouplist
To get a list of packages in a specific group:
Code:
yum groupinfo "Electronic Lab"
To install the group Electronic Lab:
Code:
su -
yum groupinstall "Electronic Lab"

Since this is the spins & remixes forum:
To add a group to a kickstart for a spin or remix, add the group name with "@" in front of the name under the %packages.:
Snippet of a .ks:
Code:
%packages
@Electronic Lab
Hope this helps,

Last edited by AndrewSerk; 23rd June 2012 at 12:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd June 2012, 01:35 AM
rwgast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tekkno Lab
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
Re: Installing the Electronics Lab Packages on KDE Spin

Thanks alot Andrew that seemed to work, yum groupinstall "Electronic Lab". How can I browse all group names supported in yum? Id like to get some of the other spin packages.

Also does that command download every package that comes with the electronics lab? I have used electronics lab before and there was a program called tk gate which im not seeing in my KDE menus, and I thought KiCad came with the spin but I could be mistaken. I can download that stuff seperate if needed no biggie I just weant to make sure I have all the little scripts that make the export to import processes easier.

---------- Post added at 12:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:30 AM ----------

Ok im sorry tkgate and kicad are installed there just not showing up in the KDE menu. It seems as though there are only certain tools showing up in the Kmenu is there a way to fix this? Id really like to browse through everything installed and find usefull things I didnt know about!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd June 2012, 02:18 AM
AndrewSerk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 889
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing the Electronics Lab Packages on KDE Spin

Hi rwgast,

Looking through the electronic-lab spin kickstart, the spin has a few more things:
the group:
milkymist

and the packages:
dia
vym
graphviz
planner
make
gdb
valgrind
kdbg
qemu
perl-Test-pod
perl-Test-Pod-Coverage


I am not very familiar with KDE, but I would guess the package "alacarte" can help fix/edit your menu issues.

Quote:
How can I browse all group names supported in yum?
With the first line of code in post #2

Hope this helps,

Last edited by AndrewSerk; 23rd June 2012 at 02:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electronics, installing, kde, lab, packages, spin

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding EE packages to LXDE spin rwgast Fedora Spins & Remixes 3 26th May 2012 04:37 PM
Live upgrade F13 to F14 Spin to Spin tparker Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 11th February 2011 07:30 PM
Authorization Failed error while installing packages through add or remove packages neelakandan Using Fedora 0 27th June 2010 03:49 AM
Problem with installing fd8 Games Spin on USB sebnie Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 21st July 2008 03:28 PM
Car electronics glennzo Wibble 8 2nd July 2008 09:41 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:02 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Branca - Maritime Museum Ferry Terminal - Gusto Urban Cafe + Wine Bar - Cebu Business Park Photos on Instagram