Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th June 2012, 12:52 AM
Arran13 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isle of Arran, Scotland
Posts: 10
linuxubuntufirefox
Thumbs up Solved: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

Hello

I installed Kaffeine from the repos and put the firmware in /lib/firmware. I also copied the content of ~/.kde/share/apps/kaffeine/ from another (working) distro. I have all information about channels etc but can not see or hear anything.
Does that mean, I miss some codecs? If so, is anybody able to direct me at the right place or indicate what I have to install additionally?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Arran13; 6th June 2012 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th June 2012, 01:49 PM
Arran13 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isle of Arran, Scotland
Posts: 10
linuxfirefox
Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

Problem solved. Thanks to the Kaffeine forum

Here is the link to the solution in case anybody else needs it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th June 2012, 01:58 PM
Arran13 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isle of Arran, Scotland
Posts: 10
linuxfirefox
Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

I need to come back to this topic.

Is here somebody with good experience with Kaffeine?

After I managed to get Kaffeine running, I have problems with the Satellite TV module.

I have first copied all Kaffeine files over from my Mint 12 installation.

Now, I can see all TV and Radio programms from the Astra satellites, but none from the Hotbird satellites. In Mint both satellites work without problems.

This point has to be solved, as there are too many important stations for me.

What did I try: deleting a few existing Hotbird channels and rescan the whole lot. Reintegrating these deleted channels and a few ones I did not have up to now. Nothing helped, New Astra channels have immediately been recognised, new (and old) Hotbird ones not.

I continued the thread in the Kaffeine Forum too (link see above). But I think it must rather be a problem in Fedora, perhaps a missing codec?

Any good ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2012, 12:10 PM
Arran13 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isle of Arran, Scotland
Posts: 10
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

No chance of a solution?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2012, 04:20 PM
rdieter Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Age: 43
Posts: 452
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

install xine-lib-extras-freeworld from rpmfusion.org's 'free' repo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kaffeine, picture, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Lifecam vx3000 picture but no sound vhradice Hardware & Laptops 2 12th March 2010 04:52 PM
No sound in HD-channels with Kaffeine badday Using Fedora 6 22nd February 2010 03:58 PM
Vlc sound and picture works interupted lauwers Using Fedora 5 9th March 2009 08:39 AM
Sound Yes bu Picture No solomon Using Fedora 1 28th April 2007 06:20 PM
No sound Xine and Kaffeine wdjingga Hardware & Laptops 0 16th March 2005 01:08 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:29 (Friday, 29-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat