Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Community Lounge > Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream The place for you to submit reviews of all those applications you use with Fedora. The Devs probably aren't listening, but some times you've just GOT to blow off steam or sing its praises.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 29th June 2012, 02:45 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,684
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
If you want lightweight, you could always install good ole TWM.
Even better, I use WIndow Maker.
I think smr54 commented elsewhere that he actually found twm to be slower than other lightweight window managers, and on my F17 systems I've noticed that too. If I wanted to use a twm-inspired window manager with virtual desktop support I'd go with fvwm; it does seem faster than twm.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 29th June 2012, 03:07 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Managers, managers - how many manager's does a man need?

It would be interesting to know the division of labor between gdm, gnome-session, xfwm4,xfdesktop,xfce4-panel. (All of these are present in the Fedora XFCE spin.)

I gather that a user needs 1) A display manager , 2) A window manager, 3) A desktop - or is there a "desktop manager" too? I understand that a user's desktop has "sessions". (Is there is a "session manager"?)

Do the window manager and display manager also need to have "sessions"? If I'm using the Xfce desktop, why does my /var/log/messages need to be spammed by debug output from gnome-session?
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 29th June 2012, 03:22 PM
mikee Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 525
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RupertPupkin View Post
Even better, I use WIndow Maker.
I think smr54 commented elsewhere that he actually found twm to be slower than other lightweight window managers, and on my F17 systems I've noticed that too. If I wanted to use a twm-inspired window manager with virtual desktop support I'd go with fvwm; it does seem faster than twm.
Wow, I used to use that too.
fvwm95, in fact!
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 29th June 2012, 03:38 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,483
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Does XFCE really work?

XFCE is based upon Gnome.
This means, you'll need ALOT of gnome things, hence so many gnome issues with xfce.

Thats the reason why many switch to either KDE (the bling bling ones), or LXDE (the minimalistic ones).

---------- Post added at 02:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:38 PM ----------

XFCE is based upon Gnome.
This means, you'll need ALOT of gnome things, hence so many gnome issues with xfce.

Thats the reason why many switch to either KDE (the bling bling ones), or LXDE (the minimalistic ones).
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 29th June 2012, 03:46 PM
BBQdave Offline
The Ubu-Grillmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Carolina
Age: 47
Posts: 1,994
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
XFCE is based upon Gnome.
This means, you'll need ALOT of gnome things, hence so many gnome issues with xfce.
Not sure I follow...

Fedora Xfce Spin is a blend of Gnome programs and Xfce 4.8. How is Xfce 4.8 based on Gnome? And if so, why is F16 Xfce Spin so smooth and stable, but F16 (and F17) Gnome 3 buggy?
__________________
On quest for blue smoke and red rings...
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 29th June 2012, 04:01 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,483
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Dont remember where i have read it.
Ok, so i have no proof for it, maybe i got blended by the many gnome-apps xfce is using.

I wouldnt think XFCE is based upon Gnome3, but gnome2.
However, i do think that gdm and polkit-gnome might be a good indicator?

Err... tried to google to but didnt find anything that proofs it.
Sorry for the misinfo, i was mislead due to wrong interpretions
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 29th June 2012, 04:48 PM
BBQdave Offline
The Ubu-Grillmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Carolina
Age: 47
Posts: 1,994
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
Sorry for the misinfo, i was mislead due to wrong interpretions
You may not be wrong. I was curious, because Xfce (4.0.0 on) uses the GTK+ 2 libraries, and Thunar is similar to Nautilus. Maybe Xfce is following some rough blueprint of Gnome.

Either way, what still puzzles me, is that F16 Xfce is more stable than Gnome 3. So either Xfce is a better implementation of the Gnome blueprint or Xfce is a better designed DE (stable).
__________________
On quest for blue smoke and red rings...
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 29th June 2012, 07:07 PM
secipolla Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 700
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Well, that was wrong, I suppose.
http://wiki.xfce.org/faq
Quote:
How to pronounce Xfce and what does it mean?

“Ecks Eff See Eee”. The name Xfce originally stood for XForms Common Environment, but since then, Xfce was rewritten twice and doesn't use XForms toolkit anymore. The name survived, but the F is nolonger capitalized (not “XFce”, but “Xfce”). Currently the acronym doesn't stand for anything (suggestion: X Freakin' Cool Environment).
So it later on moved to GTK but it's independent from GNOME.
As for the spin, F18 will probably use lightdm and then will have only the required GNOME components (not related to Xfce but the ones that Xfce doesn't provide).
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 30th June 2012, 12:34 AM
BBQdave Offline
The Ubu-Grillmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Carolina
Age: 47
Posts: 1,994
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by secipolla View Post
So it later on moved to GTK but it's independent from GNOME.
That was my take too, the modern Xfce uses GTK, but is it's own project separate from Gnome. And my take on spins, nice blends

as far as the modern name of Xfce...

Cholesterol Free Desktop Environment - Wikipedia
__________________
On quest for blue smoke and red rings...
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 30th June 2012, 01:15 AM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,684
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

I'll try to boot up an old version of Red Hat Linux that might have one of the old XForms-based XFCE 2.x versions running, back when it was a CDE clone that didn't use GTK+ at all.. It's really hard to find the pre-3.x versions now.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 30th June 2012, 03:03 AM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQdave View Post
And if so, why is F16 Xfce Spin so smooth and stable
Makes me think of a bowling ball sitting in a ditch.
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 30th June 2012, 05:55 AM
BBQdave Offline
The Ubu-Grillmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: North Carolina
Age: 47
Posts: 1,994
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tashirosgt View Post
By that I mean are the people who say they have switched to XFCE really using XFCE exclusively? Are they doing normal things with their computers? - no mental health issues or anything like that?
Yeah, I think I am fairly sane

I have the bowling ball (F16 Xfce) moving on two machines. An old dell inspiron (secondary machine), and on my new Toshiba Satellite C655. They are my main machines for work and play.

Easy transition from Gnome 2 to Xfce 4.8. F16 Xfce is the only OS loaded on those two machines. The other machine I have is an old legacy eMac that I use as a file server.

That's my happen'n home network
__________________
On quest for blue smoke and red rings...
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 10th July 2012, 02:22 AM
mrmylanman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

I cannot comment on XFCE under Fedora, but I used XFCE exclusively on Arch Linux for around a year, and have had no problems with it. It requires some tweaking, and I replaced Thunar with PCManFM, but I loved how light it was, and how quick it ran.

That said, I don't mind Gnome 3, so I stuck with that for Fedora 17.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 10th July 2012, 03:47 AM
k333y Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 1
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

I have been using the XFCE spin of Fedora 17, no issues here. However upon boot I get some error lines but once it loads no issues what so ever. I believe the issues have to do with me utilizing the default generic graphics driver and not the Nvidia specific ones. However I think, I will survive
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 11th July 2012, 10:26 PM
exiledangel420 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: watsontown
Posts: 47
linuxfirefox
Re: Does XFCE really work?

I also use the fedora 17 xfce spin and no problems here other then upon the splash if I make it go over to the text boot up with the right arrow key. It occasionally locks up. I don't do it for that reason. But other then that the only problem I have had was the xarxhiver. I had to resort to using it due the gnome shell issues with my nvidia driver. Thinking about trying F16 alongside it to see if I have the same problems with the gnome shell.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some programs in Xfce not work Breeze Using Fedora 0 4th December 2011 11:32 AM
After the installation of XFCE the audio does not work anymore Tetsuro Using Fedora 2 10th June 2011 12:55 PM
Media buttons don't work with XFCE markp88 Hardware & Laptops 0 7th July 2009 05:29 PM
Problem getting Xfce to work (font issue) MaxHavoc Using Fedora 4 22nd April 2009 05:43 AM
Fedora 8... Xfce doesn't work :( karlpiuemeno Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 12 18th November 2007 06:59 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:58 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Vacaria Travel Photos - Itupeva - Livingston