Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th July 2012, 11:46 PM
ppyvabw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 36
linuxchrome
Installing an old Labtec Webcam

Hi,

I was hoping I could install a very old Labtec Webcam on Fedora 17. I am not even certain what model of cam I have.

Any step-by-step instructions would be appreciated because I am not very well versed with Linux yet - I just get by.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th July 2012, 05:51 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 55
Posts: 12,371
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing an old Labtec Webcam

Plug it in and the see what the output of

PHP Code:
# tail -f /var/messages

# lsusb -v

# cat /proc/bus/input/devices 
tells you, then use google to see if there are any solutions.
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th July 2012, 03:21 PM
jlpierce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pekin, Indiana
Posts: 85
linuxopera
Re: Installing an old Labtec Webcam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve View Post
Plug it in and the see what the output of

PHP Code:
# tail -f /var/messages

# lsusb -v

# cat /proc/bus/input/devices 
tells you, then use google to see if there are any solutions.
That first line should be tail -f /var/log/messages and not tail -f /var/messages
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th July 2012, 11:47 PM
ppyvabw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 36
linuxchrome
Re: Installing an old Labtec Webcam

Thanks,

A load of stuff comes up, but I think the thing I'm looking for is this little lot,

Code:
I: Bus=0003 Vendor=046d Product=0929 Version=0000
N: Name="spca561"
P: Phys=usb-0000:00:1d.0-1/input0
S: Sysfs=/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb2/2-1/input/input10
U: Uniq=
H: Handlers=kbd event10 
B: PROP=0
B: EV=3
B: KEY=100000 0 0 0 0 0 0
spca561 comes up on google, but I can't find anything useful to me that I understand.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th July 2012, 11:07 AM
johncena Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: coimbatore
Posts: 4
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Installing an old Labtec Webcam

For all those trying to debug problems with their original Labtec webcams (like the one above), I have a little hint. These webcams are admittedly a bit old. Some had 640×480 resolution, but most maxed out at 352×288. The original 0921 (ICM532 / 046d) chipset and hardware had very little low-light sensitivity and bad depth-of -field. Come to think of it, why the hell would you want to get this working in the first place ?!?

Anyway, Labtec’s new webcam drivers (10.X+) aren’t compatible with these old units. They’re not even mentioned on their site. If your heart is set on using these units, there is a trick to getting them to function. You must first unplug this old camera, and uninstall all labtec webcam drivers. Then, get an old copy of a Labtec webcam driver, and install that. Version 5.1 came with my camera originally, but I used version a 6 driver for this test. These are still floating around on the web. Hunt for them. Once installed, plug-in camera. You should get an image. Next, install the latest Labtec Webcam Drivers from their website (10.X+ at this time). DO NOT UNPLUG THE CAMERA. The new software will overwrite the old version, but keep the working driver. If you still have problems, update your DirectX version before installing your latest Labtec software.

Or, just go spend 40 bucks and get a new one. So much nicer. And this time, stay away from Labtec (if you actually find one) or Logitech (same stuff, actually) and goofy drivers won’t be a problem again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th July 2012, 02:29 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing an old Labtec Webcam

Quote:
Originally Posted by johncena View Post
For all those trying to debug problems with their original Labtec webcams (like the one above), I have a little hint. These webcams are admittedly a bit old. Some had 640×480 resolution, but most maxed out at 352×288. The original 0921 (ICM532 / 046d) chipset and hardware had very little low-light sensitivity and bad depth-of -field. Come to think of it, why the hell would you want to get this working in the first place ?!?

Anyway, Labtec’s new webcam drivers (10.X+) aren’t compatible with these old units. They’re not even mentioned on their site. If your heart is set on using these units, there is a trick to getting them to function. You must first unplug this old camera, and uninstall all labtec webcam drivers. Then, get an old copy of a Labtec webcam driver, and install that. Version 5.1 came with my camera originally, but I used version a 6 driver for this test. These are still floating around on the web. Hunt for them. Once installed, plug-in camera. You should get an image. Next, install the latest Labtec Webcam Drivers from their website (10.X+ at this time). DO NOT UNPLUG THE CAMERA. The new software will overwrite the old version, but keep the working driver. If you still have problems, update your DirectX version before installing your latest Labtec software.

Or, just go spend 40 bucks and get a new one. So much nicer. And this time, stay away from Labtec (if you actually find one) or Logitech (same stuff, actually) and goofy drivers won’t be a problem again.

I do believe you are a little confused.

They are not trying to get their webcam working on a Windows machine. They are trying to get it to work on a linux machine, which as far as I know was never supported by Labtec and they certainly didn't have linux drivers or software available.

Oh, and it's kinda hard to update DirectX on a linux box.. It's a Windows only thing. Has something to do with proprietary copyright stuff that Microsoft won't release so open source developers wrote better stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installing, labtec, webcam

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error 2 when trying to install Labtec Notebook webcam swashplate Hardware & Laptops 11 7th January 2009 10:27 PM
Labtec webcam driver help wanted Flosshatt Hardware & Laptops 1 13th January 2008 05:39 PM
FC4, &Lexmark P122, Labtec Webcam Pro CuCullin Hardware & Laptops 3 20th June 2005 06:48 PM
labtec webcam installation problems Exavior Hardware & Laptops 4 12th November 2004 07:23 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:22 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat