Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th July 2012, 10:10 PM
dd_wizard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,481
linuxfirefox
Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Check koji if you want to try it out. It's working fine here.

dd_wizard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th July 2012, 02:08 AM
ryptyde Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,671
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Just installed it on laptop and working here also.

phil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st July 2012, 12:32 PM
dcharlespyle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 232
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

I installed it. Now I am seeing messages in abrt about a "tainted kernel." I have not installed any new drivers and I am not using proprietary drivers of any kind at the moment, either. I am on a fresh and updated re-install of Fedora 17 after an attempted installation of Rawhide gave me an unbootable system without networking.

That rawhide kernel also threw an error about a tainted kernel, so there is something in common between 3.5.0 and 3.6.0 that causes it.

I am wondering if it has something to do with the bluetooth module. I do not use bluetooth on my computer so I thought it was really odd to see drivers loading for bluetooth while the system was booting up and throwing errors up all over the place.

At least I am not getting kernel panics like I did with 3.6.0 when I installed and tried to run rawhide for a day or so.

Last edited by dcharlespyle; 31st July 2012 at 12:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st July 2012, 06:40 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Interesting. As far as the 3.5.0 kernel, running a pure vanilla Fedora 17 kernel gives me a Not tainted message.

Code:
[root@tower20 /]# dmesg | grep tainted
[46061.712093] Pid: 0, comm: swapper/1 Not tainted 3.5.0-1.fc17.x86_64 #1
You should be getting a message that specifically tells you what module taints the kernel. If a module has a non-GPL license or doesn't specify the license, you will get the kernel taint message.

Do a dmesg | grep taints and see if you can find what module is tainting the kernel.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st August 2012, 01:35 PM
dcharlespyle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 232
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Well, I am not getting that error now. Of course, I just noticed that I am now at 3.5.0-2 rather than at 3.5.0-1. I have no plans to go back to 3.5.0-1 after experiencing 3.5.0-2. This one is working wonderfully, so far as I can tell. I'm not even getting messages about things being "not tainted." Go figure. :-)

I had several failed attempts with Rawhide and decided to go back to Fedora 17 for now. After the network re-install was finished, I went to the 3.5.0-2 koji page by mistake and installed that kernel. It was not until I visited this page again that I noticed that I had installed the wrong kernel for the purposes of testing.

Sorry about that. With the one I am on now at least it does not throw any errors and I have no report from abrt about it either. Apologies for not being able to do as you asked.

Last edited by dcharlespyle; 1st August 2012 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd August 2012, 02:02 PM
Dutchy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,100
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

It has hit the updates repos!
Pretty quick again, kudos!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd August 2012, 01:11 PM
rich1974 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: romania
Posts: 28
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

unfortunatelly, today i update the kernel to 3.5 and my gnome-shell is broken. the screen is flickering or is all blank. when it is flickering, i can enter the tty and reboot, but in blank screen, i can do nothing, only hard shutdown.
using the kernel 3.4 the machine works fine.
my hardware is a dell inspirion 1521 with ATI mobility radeon X1270.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd August 2012, 01:13 PM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,271
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

My dell is working great. No issues with new kernel 3.5.
@rich1974
You can always boot into the older kernel.
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD

Last edited by hadrons123; 3rd August 2012 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd August 2012, 02:22 PM
lightman47 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central NY, USA
Posts: 692
linuxchrome
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

It just updated into my 32 bit FC17 pc and the subsequent boot into it produced a message about ICE not being able to get a listening socket, then presented me with a logout 'pop-up'. I click it and then Gnome came up. <???>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd August 2012, 02:26 PM
errorxp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 371
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightman47 View Post
It just updated into my 32 bit FC17 pc and the subsequent boot into it produced a message about ICE not being able to get a listening socket, then presented me with a logout 'pop-up'. I click it and then Gnome came up. <???>
I've had one of those as well very rarely, something to do with tmp lock files I believe.
__________________
these command lines are like casino slot machines, every time I input commands NOTHING HAPPENS
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd August 2012, 04:16 PM
zc456 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Just updated and about to restart!

Update
Working fine so far.
__________________
Stay frosty, Squeaks

Last edited by zc456; 3rd August 2012 at 04:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd August 2012, 11:37 PM
mikee Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 561
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Looks like it's been yanked from kernel.org.
There is no longer a 3.5.0 there, but there is a 3.6 RC1.

I found this link:

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTE1MTI

Funny.
I have been waiting for the 3,5 kernel for some fixed in the i915 driver for my home desktop!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th August 2012, 06:56 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightman47 View Post
It just updated into my 32 bit FC17 pc and the subsequent boot into it produced a message about ICE not being able to get a listening socket, then presented me with a logout 'pop-up'. I click it and then Gnome came up. <???>
I used to get that until I started deleting all files in my /tmp upon shutdown. Fedora used to do that, then with the switch to systemd, somehow they are no longer clearing /tmp on shutdown.

What happened is if by some chance, Gnome got the same PID as a previous boot, then it would spit out that error since the socket file would already exist.

to fix, I created a script that runs on shutdown and placed it in /usr/lib/systemd/system-shutdown/

(I called mine cleartmp.sh)

/usr/lib/systemd/system-shutdown/cleartmp.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
mount / -orw,remount
rm -Rf /tmp/*
rm -Rf /tmp/.*
mount / -oro,remount
Edit:
Make sure it's set to executable as well. chmod +x /usr/lib/systemd/system-shutdown/cleartmp.sh

Last edited by DBelton; 4th August 2012 at 07:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th August 2012, 07:40 AM
ferry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 55
linuxfirefox
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

After updating to kernel 3.5.0 booting stops after grub. The last output is: Loading initial ramdisk ...
There is only black screen after this. I do not see any action and I have to make hard restart.
Previous kernel 3.4.6 is working without any problem.

I have notebook HP Compaq 6820s (Intel Core Duo T2410, graphic card ATI Mobility Radeon X1350)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4th August 2012, 03:32 PM
wneumann Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 512
linuxchrome
Re: Kernel 3.5.0 Available for F17

Same problem as Ferry: Boot of kernel 3.5.0-2 stops after message "loading initial ramdisk" and screen goes blank with no hard disk action. Computer responds to ctl-alt-del to restart, and 3.4 kernels boot fine.

Dell Latitude D410
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f17, kernel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC6 Kernel >= kernel-2.6.20-1.2962.fc6 = kernel panic Hlingler Using Fedora 3 1st August 2007 09:02 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:17 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Theater Kehrwieder Travel Photos - Barrio Lastarria Travel Photos - Gohan Photos - Henry's Coffee House Travel Photos on Instagram