Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th July 2012, 12:41 PM
GrayFox Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 434
linuxfirefox
Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Handbrake was recently updated to 0.9.8.

There does not appear to be a fedora version at the Handbrake site.

Does anyone know of a rpm that is Fedora 17 compatible?

Thanks

Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th July 2012, 04:49 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,076
linuxfirefox
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Handbrake 0.9.8 compiles with Fedora 16 out of the box after you install these packages:

Code:
yum install fribidi-devel gstreamer-devel gstreamer-plugins-base-devel libnotify-devel libgudev1-devel webkitgtk-devel webkitgtk3-devel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th July 2012, 09:52 PM
wangmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 145
linuxchrome
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Add yasm to the list as the build script will attempt to use it if it exists.

Otherwise, in there's a ghb.spec file in the gtk directory that is an rpm spec file.
i tweaked the following three values:

Name: HandBrake
Version: 0.9.8
Release: 1.fc17

and was able to use rpmbuild -ba against it to build my own rpm. Pretty straight forward once all the dependencies are installed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th July 2012, 01:32 PM
Dutchy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 928
linuxfirefox
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

They still build nightlies. You can get one of those.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th July 2012, 04:12 PM
gatlin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 76
unknownfirefox
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

I confirm that building the ghb.spec worked for me on F17. It requires a long download and installation of specific versions of dependencies upon which it patches. The non-nightly nightly build hasn't been built since the corresponding SVN as 0.9.8.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd August 2012, 03:34 AM
geobarrod Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Smile Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

This link help you

http://sourceforge.net/projects/fedo...ges/HandBrake/

enjoy !!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd August 2012, 04:34 AM
GrayFox Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 434
macossafari
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geobarrod View Post
Sob... I am running a 32 bit system ( the PAE kernels )...

Any chance you could build a 32 bit rpm?


Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd August 2012, 02:39 PM
Dutchy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 928
linuxfirefox
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrayFox View Post
Sob... I am running a 32 bit system ( the PAE kernels )...

Any chance you could build a 32 bit rpm?


Jerry
Have you looked here https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/job/Fedora/ ?
These are essentially the same as the latest stable release.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd August 2012, 03:12 PM
GrayFox Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 434
macossafari
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchy View Post
Have you looked here https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/job/Fedora/ ?
These are essentially the same as the latest stable release.
Thanks!

I will give it a try

Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th August 2012, 12:16 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxchrome
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

I've found that the nightly rpm as well as building HandBrakeCLI from source work for me on F17. (On a side note, the old HandBrakeCLI 0.9.5 rpm, marked for F15 also installs--it's the last one before they broke a particular subtitle function that I sometimes find useful.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25th August 2012, 12:52 AM
geobarrod Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Smile Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Sorry for the delay, now i386 + x86_64 arch

http://sourceforge.net/projects/fedo...ges/HandBrake/

enjoy !!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25th August 2012, 01:14 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxchrome
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Assuming it was my post in this thread that made you think of it, that was pretty darn fast.

Which is actually newer, your build, or the nightly, which apparently dates from July 14th?

Did I add my thanks? If not, thank you.

Last edited by smr54; 25th August 2012 at 01:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th August 2012, 01:38 AM
geobarrod Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

I am answering the question posed by the user GrayFox; guess my building is the most current, made ​​out from the official site's source code, in the process of construction were downloaded the latest software, the review is: rev4860.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25th August 2012, 02:00 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxchrome
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Well, if answering GrayFox, the delay was all of 24 hours. So, I think you can still compliment yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd October 2013, 08:40 PM
nutznboltz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 40
linuxfirefox
Re: Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8?

Update:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrakefedora/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
handbrake, rpm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HandBrake 0.9.6 released Wayne Using Fedora 2 4th March 2012 01:08 PM
HandBrake and Fedora 14? GrayFox Using Fedora 4 6th June 2011 05:22 PM
can't install handbrake rpm bonedome Using Fedora 4 20th June 2010 11:28 AM
Here is where you can find HandBrake with GUI RPM for fedora 10 AnimeFreak Using Fedora 9 22nd October 2009 08:51 PM
HandBrake maxstradamus Using Fedora 17 20th May 2009 03:44 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:01 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat