Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 17th July 2012, 04:43 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,599
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pompeyblue View Post
do most things work?
Code:
#     #  #######   #####
 #   #   #        #     #
  # #    #        #
   #     #####     #####
   #     #              #
   #     #        #     #
   #     #######   #####
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18th July 2012, 01:02 AM
Randall Bingham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

I have had the system Freeze several times. It usually happens when the machine has been idling for about an hour. I don't have any of the energy saving settings enabled. I have to press reset and reboot the computer. I am a newbie to Linux and am a bit dismayed. I thought that Linux machines were supposed to be able to run for hours without a reboot. No such luck with mine.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18th July 2012, 05:10 AM
akupedia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mumbai India
Age: 28
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Preupgrade............is the safest way according to me since if there is no possible way of error while doing that.........in case you are paranoid and the upgrade fails then you can always re-boot and the condition would be like the same as it was before.....

Note that you cannot jump directly from fc15 to fc 17............preupgrade would take you to fc 16 first make sure you have a descent connection..........

Regarding kernel panic............i advise keep trying, since the anaconda installer crashes sometime.....so keep the hope alive and rejoice.........

---------- Post added at 09:40 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:16 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Bingham View Post
I have had the system Freeze several times. It usually happens when the machine has been idling for about an hour. I don't have any of the energy saving settings enabled. I have to press reset and reboot the computer. I am a newbie to Linux and am a bit dismayed. I thought that Linux machines were supposed to be able to run for hours without a reboot. No such luck with mine.
How much physical RAM do you have and how much have you alloted swap area.

In an ideal world the swap space must be twice as much as the physical Ram in your computer.

Swap area is very important since when the computer is hibernating all the processes from the RAM are suspended and send to the SWAP space so the larger the swap the better for you..........in this way the system would not freeze at all.........

If you want enery settings then you can try the open source jupiter applet.
http://www.jupiterapplet.org/downloads.html

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18th July 2012, 10:09 AM
PompeyBlue Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 448
windows_7ie
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

I moved to Fedora 17 64bit and everything seems to be running just peachy =D
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18th July 2012, 12:58 PM
Randall Bingham Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by akupedia View Post

How much physical RAM do you have and how much have you alloted swap area.

In an ideal world the swap space must be twice as much as the physical Ram in your computer.

Swap area is very important since when the computer is hibernating all the processes from the RAM are suspended and send to the SWAP space so the larger the swap the better for you..........in this way the system would not freeze at all.........

If you want enery settings then you can try the open source jupiter applet.
http://www.jupiterapplet.org/downloads.html

I have 3 gig of ram and 6 gig of swap.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 19th July 2012, 10:40 AM
akupedia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mumbai India
Age: 28
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

That's perfectly fine in the real world...........

Everything must run smoothly for you..............

---------- Post added at 03:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:08 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by PompeyBlue View Post
I moved to Fedora 17 64bit and everything seems to be running just peachy =D
What do you mean by peachy, could you elaborate a bit more please......more info required.....
I'm also using the 64 bit version and things are running smoothly till now...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 27th July 2012, 04:08 PM
Vespa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Just outside Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 82
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuppuswamy View Post
Though SElinux pose some problem when I installed unified driver for samsung scx-4300 after a little bit googling and tweaking unified dirver for the printer also work smoothly.
I have this issue too with the Samsung driver. It launches an annoying warning with each reboot, but does not affect printing at all. Honestly, I never even took the time to Google it. There was a flash issue where people looked like smurfs (a blue tint on every video), but there was an easy enough fix for that. It isn't a Fedora issue but it was Linux 64bit issue. Otherwise, I am a long time Fedora 64 bit user and everything works great on my desktop and two laptops.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th July 2012, 11:37 PM
Penguinclaw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 146
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by akupedia View Post
What do you mean by peachy, could you elaborate a bit more please......more info required.....


Ah lost in translation issue here!! Peachy is slang for "great" or similar. Hope this helps

---------- Post added at 11:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:29 PM ----------

Oops forgot to add that x64 is running beautifully on my system. So I would recommend to those with more than 4GB ram although I understand that the pae version of the kernell can use more than 4GB of ram on a 32 bit install.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension

So one could use this kernell instead and possibly not have so many proprietary driver issues. But I think that this pure x64 is better and as mentioned by others you can also use 32bit apps if necessary.
__________________
OSS - the way forward
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 28th July 2012, 09:43 AM
satanselbow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Upminster, Essex, UK
Posts: 169
linuxchrome
Wink Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Most things work on most hardware setups...

On my hardware however the installer had a few brainfarts and when it finally did do it's thing I had a few too many problems with kernel panics and other stuff that I couldn't (be bothered to try and) fix...

... so I went back to a nice simple Arch installation again... until F18 comes along - probably

For the record over the last 5 years or so odd numbered Fedora versions tend to be a bit of a disaster for me
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28th July 2012, 11:19 AM
nibhalwa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: India
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

My KDE session sometimes hangs when I play YouTube videos through Firefox or Google Chrome on Fedora Core 17 64 Bit. Please help me resolving this issue.
__________________
Many Thanks,
Nikhil Bhalwankar
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 30th July 2012, 06:15 AM
akupedia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mumbai India
Age: 28
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Just to inform you that it is Fedora 17 not Fedora core, the word core has been removed by fedora since the release of Fedora 7 (Fedora 6 was know to be Fedora core 6 and it ran beautifully on many 32 bit systems) approx 2007

Also please check that you have sufficient ram and also you've made a proper swap space(ie. twice the amount of physical ram in your system), since KDE consumes more ram and swap space.....

Also try and run only the youtube vids 1 at a time and keep the other windows closed so that there are pretty less chances of Fedora 17 getting hanged......

If problem still persists I'd request you to make a new thread in the Fedora forums !

Happy computing
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 30th July 2012, 09:38 PM
Magickman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 326
unknownfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

I've been running Fedora 17 86_64 since it was released, with no problem save proprietary software. I use Easylife to install codecs and flash, Sun Java, and media players. zenity was the first problem. Erase Easylife, zenity went away. Next was today, two xine updates refused to install. Had a conflit with xine freeworld. Erased that, installed the updates, and all works fine. Fedora 17 is very fast, very stable, and very cool to run.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 16th August 2012, 07:43 PM
Scipione Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PompeyBlue View Post
Last time I looked at Fedora 64 bit there seemed to be quite a few problems. The flash plugin didn't work for firefox being the most notable one.

What is 17 64bit like? Do most things work?
I am using fedora 17 64 on an asus K55VD laptop. The speakers stops working after plug in the audio system. I got the problem aafter instaling adobe flash player. I think flash player use a different audio configuration which I was not enable to solve the problem in the audio configurations. I havee that audio device :

Audio device
/0/100/1b


product: Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1E20]
vendor: Intel Corporation [8086]
bus info: pci@0000:00:1b.0
version: 04
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities:
Power Management,
Message Signalled Interrupts,
PCI Express,
bus mastering,
PCI capabilities listing
configuration:
driver: snd_hda_intel
latency: 0
resources:
irq: 47
memory: f7a10000-f7a13fff

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 22nd August 2012, 12:37 PM
Serophis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 43
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

Most things work okay on my end. I have an Asus N55SF with Fedora installed.

Only smallish problem I have noticed is that I can't have fullscreen up for too long in Firefox when playing flash videos (YouTube and the like) as the computer will inevitably freeze after a while. A bit strange I suppose. Since I have optimus technology on my laptop I am unable to install nvidia drivers, or rather unwilling to try installing it (with bumblebee, etc) as I'm afraid it will crash my system. And I don't have a backup solution quite ready yet (almost there though).
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 20th September 2012, 05:45 PM
Magickman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 326
unknownfirefox
Re: Fedora 17 64 any problems?

I have been running the 64 bit Fedora 17 since the day is was released, with a small hiatus caused by a faulty CRT monitor. I used Easylife to install all of the extras, and everything works fine. I even have the Adobe Reader plug in working so I can view PDFs in my browser. Sun Java works fine, as does the Flash plugin. Fedora is fast and stable, and in my opinion, on a 64 bit machine, the 64 bit version does run faster. I am using all cores of my AMD CPU.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GRUB problems with Fedora 13 over-writing Fedora 10 greg.harvey Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 15th August 2010 11:17 PM
Fedora 11 - Fedora 12 upgrade problems drick Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 1 14th November 2009 06:26 PM
Fedora 8 to fedora 10 upgrade MDADM problems kenned3 Using Fedora 3 22nd February 2009 05:03 PM
dwl-122 and fedora 9 problems HadManySons Hardware & Laptops 4 7th October 2008 03:34 PM
Fedora 3 Over Fedora 1, Problems upgrading - Please Help vijay_kumar749 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 25th February 2005 07:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:15 (Thursday, 24-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat